Direkt zum Inhalt

Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Print PDF

Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Rechtsanwältin

Senior Fellow

Team
Legal Team
Themen

Christiane Gerstetter ist Volljuristin und arbeitet in Teilzeit am Ecologic Institut als Senior Fellow im Ecologic Legal Team. Ihre Schwerpunkte sind internationaler Handel, Umweltrecht und sein Vollzug sowie gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozesse. Regional ist sie besonders am Nahen Osten interessiert. Dr. Christiane Gerstetter arbeitet auf Deutsch und Englisch. Arabisch, Französisch, Hebräisch sowie Italienisch, Spanisch und Portugiesisch beherrscht sie auf unterschiedlichen Niveaus.

Zu den Themen Umweltkriminalität und Vollzug des Umweltrechts arbeitet Christiane Gerstetter derzeit an einem Projekt zu Sanktionen im Umweltrecht. Zuvor war Dr. Christiane Gerstetter Koordinatorin eines europäischen Forschungsprojekts zu Umweltkriminalität (EFFACE), verfasste eine Studie zu Artenschutzkriminalität mit, koordinierte ein Projekt zum Vollzug des Umweltstrafrechts in Deutschland und unterstütze die Europäische Kommission bei der Umsetzung des Aktionsplans für einen besseren Vollzug des Umweltrechts und eine bessere Umweltordnungspolitik.

Zum Thema Handel hat sie eine Studie zur Weiterentwicklung der Regeln zum Waldschutz im EU-Mercosur Abkommen mitverfasst. Sie war weiterhin an mehreren Studien zu der Transatlantischen Handels- und Investitionspartnerschaft (TTIP) zwischen der Europäischen Union und den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika (USA) beteiligt. Dazu gehören Studien für das Europäische Parlament zum Einfluss von TTIP auf die EU-Regulierung im Bereich Umwelt und Lebensmittelsicherheit sowie Studien zu TTIP-Regeln über Investitionsschutz und regulatorischer Zusammenarbeit und ihrem jeweiligen Einfluss auf Umweltregulierung. In früheren Arbeiten zum Bereich Handelspolitik hat sie sich mit völkerrechtlichen Vorgaben für die Förderung erneuerbarer Energien, Handel und Klimawandel und der welthandelsrechtlichen Beurteilung von Umweltlabeln befasst.

Zu ihren Projekten im Bereich Entwicklungspolitik gehören verschiedene Studien für das Europäische Parlament zur Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, das Forschungsprojekt CLICO zum Zusammenhang zwischen Anpassung an den Klimawandel, Wasserkonflikten und menschlicher Sicherheit im Mittelmeerraum.

Christiane Gerstetter ist eine erfahrene und begeisterte Moderatorin. In den letzten 20 Jahren hat sie verschiedenste Veranstaltungsformate moderiert. Unter anderem war sie im Rahmen der Wissenschaftlichen Koordination der Fördermaßnahme Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften für die Konzeptionierung und Moderation von Veranstaltungen verantwortlich.

Während ihres Referendariats absolvierte sie u.a. Stationen im EU-Referat des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) und der deutschen Botschaft im Jemen. Zuvor forschte sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Universität Bremen zum Spannungsfeld von Handelsrecht und Sozialregulierung auf internationaler und europäischer Ebene.

Christiane Gerstetter studierte Jura, Philosophie und Politikwissenschaft in Heidelberg und Bremen und schloss mit dem juristischen Staatsexamen ab. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit für das Ecologic Institut hat sie an der Universität Bremen mit einer völkerrechtlichen Doktorarbeit zur Streitschlichtung der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) promoviert.

Neben ihrer Tätigkeit im Ecologic Institut ist Christiane Gerstetter wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin bei ClientEarth.

Christiane Gerstetter ist ehrenamtlich in NGOs und sozialen Bewegungen aktiv. Seit Juni 2016 ist sie Mitglied des Anlageausschusses von Ökoworld, einer ethischen Anlagegesellschaft. Sie lebte und arbeitete längere Zeit im Nahen Osten und Mittelamerika.

Dr. Christiane Gerstetter per E-Mail kontaktieren

Ihre hier eingegebenen Daten werden nur für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Anfrage verarbeitet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Erklärung zum Datenschutz.

Ausgewählte Projekte von Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Umweltkriminalität und Umweltvollzug

 

© panaramka | Fotolia.com

Die illegale Verschmutzung von Boden, Wasser, Luft, der illegale Handel mit geschützten Arten oder die illegale Verbringung von Plastikabfall ins Ausland – das sind verschiedene Formen von Umweltkriminalität. Das Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP) schätzt... Weiterlesen

Strafrechtliche und andere Sanktionen im Umweltrecht

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
| © Europäische Kommission
Im Januar 2018 hat die Europäische Kommission einen Aktionsplan für einen besseren Vollzug des Umweltrechts und eine bessere Umweltordnungspolitik veröffentlicht. Das Ecologic Institut unterstützt gemeinsam mit Partnerinstitutionen die Europäische Kommission bei der... Weiterlesen

Umsetzung des Aktionsplans der EU für einen besseren Vollzug des Umweltrechts und eine bessere Umweltordnungspolitik

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt "European Union Action to Fight Environmental Crime" (EFFACE) befasste sich mit den Auswirkungen von Umweltkriminalität und möglichen Ansätzen zu ihrer Bekämpfung, mit Schwerpunkt auf der EU. Das Projekt wurde aus dem 7.... Weiterlesen

EU-Forschungsprojekt zu Umweltkriminalität (EFFACE)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung

Handel

 
Im Jahr 2019 haben sich die EU und die Länder des südamerikanischen Handelsblocks Mercosur auf ein Handelsabkommen geeinigt. Der ausgehandelte Vertragstext enthält ein Kapitel zu Handel und Nachhaltigkeit; die vorgesehenen Regeln in Bezug auf Waldschutz sind allerdings... Weiterlesen
 
Fotolia © Argus
In diesem Projekt hat das Europäische Parlament Ecologic Institut und BIO IS beauftragt, die möglichen Auswirkungen des sogenannten „Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership“ (TTIP) Abkommens auf die europäische Umwelt- und Lebensmittelsicherheitspolitik sowie die... Weiterlesen

Studie zum EU-US Handels- und Investitionsabkommen TTIP

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Fotolia © H-J Paulsen
In diesem Projekt untersuchten BIO IS, das Institute for European Environmental Policy (IEEP) und das Ecologic Institut Ansätze zur Überprüfung von Angaben, die Unternehmen zu den Umwelteigenschaften ihrer Produkte oder zu ihrer eigenen Umweltbilanz machen. Die Studie... Weiterlesen

Wie lassen sich Angaben zu den Umwelteigenschaften von Produkten und Organisationen überprüfen?

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Völkerrecht und die Förderung Erneuerbarer Energien
Mit dem Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien und entsprechender Fördersysteme in vielen Ländern sowie der größer werdenden ökonomischen Bedeutung dieses Sektors wächst auch das Potenzial für entsprechende Handelsstreitigkeiten. In diesem Projekt zum Recht der Erneuerbaren... Weiterlesen

Umweltrecht

 
Das Forschungsprojekt geht der Frage nach, ob eine völkerrechtliche Verankerung des Konzepts der erweiterten Produktverantwortung das Potenzial hat, die Abfallentsorgung im Globalen Süden spürbar zu verbessern. Das Konzept der erweiterten Produktverantwortung (Extended... Weiterlesen

Verankerung der erweiterten Produktverantwortung im Völkerrecht

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
| ©dred_2010|Fotolia.com
Das Ecologic Institut erstellt bis Anfang 2020 für das Umweltbundesamt eine Studie, in deren Rahmen Rechtsnormen jenseits des Wasserrechts identifiziert werden, die stärker zu einer effektiven Umsetzung der WRRL beitragen können. Die Erstellung der Studie wird im Rahmen... Weiterlesen
 
Im Jahr 2010 verabschiedete die Vertragsstaatenkonferenz der Konvention über biologische Vielfalt (CBD) das Nagoya-Protokoll über Zugang und Vorteilsausgleich. Das Protokoll enthält Regeln über den Zugang zu genetischen Ressourcen, zum Beispiel zu Forschungszwecken.... Weiterlesen

Studie zur Umsetzung des Nagoya-Protokolls in der EU

Dauer
-
Finanzierung

Nachhaltige Entwicklung

 
| © Yvonne Bogdanski / Fotolia
Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist ein langfristiges politisches Ziel der Europäischen Union (EU), das durch die Verabschiedung der nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (sustainable development goals – SDGs) noch einmal an Bedeutung gewonnen hat. Das Statistische Amt der... Weiterlesen

Monitoring der Nachhaltigkeitsziele (SDGs) der "Europa 2020"-Strategie und weiterer politischer Initiativen nach 2020

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
Europäische Kommission, Eurostat (Eurostat), International
 
Auftaktkonferenz (Foto: Michael Gottschalk/phototek)
Im Rahmen des Projekts "Wissenschaftliche Koordination der Fördermaßnahme Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften" (NaWiKo) koordiniert Ecologic Institut gemeinsam mit anderen Partnern 30 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Projekte zum Themenfeld... Weiterlesen

Wissenschaftliche Koordination der Fördermaßnahme Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften (NaWiKo)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, DLR Bonn (DLR), Deutschland
 
Der Klimawandel stellt mehrfache Bedrohungen für die menschliche Sicherheit dar. Hydroklimatische Gefahren wie z.B. Dürren und Überschwemmungen haben das Potenzial, soziale Spannungen und Konflikte sowohl innerhalb als auch zwischen Staaten zu verursachen oder zu... Weiterlesen

Klimawandel, Wasserkonflikte und menschliche Sicherheit (CLICO)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Jüngste Studie: EU Development Cooperation in Fragile States: Challenges and Opportunities
Die Ausschüsse des Europäischen Parlamentes spielen eine entscheidende Rolle für die Effektivität der EU Politik, sowohl bei der Vorbereitung von Gesetzen und Politiken, als auch bei deren anschließender Umsetzung. Der Ausschuss für auswärtige Angelegenheiten,... Weiterlesen

Rahmenvertrag Entwicklungspolitik für das Europäische Parlament

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
Ausgewählte Publikationen von Dr. Christiane Gerstetter
 
Dieser vierte Monitoring-Bericht von Eurostat schildert die Fortschritte bei der Verwirklichung der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) im EU-Kontext. Die Analyse stützt sich auf den EU SDG-Indikatorensatz, der in Zusammenarbeit mit einer Vielzahl von... Weiterlesen

Bley, Simon Johannes, et al. (Hrgs.) 2020: Sustainable Development in the European Union. Monitoring Report on Progress Towards the SDGs in an EU Context. [eurostat Statistical books 2020 edition]. Luxembourg: Publications Office of the European Union.

 
UBA TEXTE 66/2018
Die vorliegende Publikation gibt einen quantitativen Überblick über die Entwicklung und den Stand der Umweltkriminalität in Deutschland in den Jahren 2004 bis 2016. Dafür wurden Daten der Polizeilichen Kriminalstatistik sowie der Strafverfolgungsstatistik des... Weiterlesen

Tröltzsch, Jenny; Gerstetter, Christiane; Mederake, Linda (2018): Umweltdelikte 2016: Auswertung von Statistiken. Dessau: Umweltbundesamt.

 
Der Streitschlichtungsmechanismus der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) ist einer der aktivsten internationalen Gerichte. Wie die Streitschlichtungsorgane der WTO Fälle entscheiden ist Gegenstand eines von Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow im Ecologic Institut,... Weiterlesen

Gerstetter, Christiane: Substance and Style - How the WTO Adjudicators Legitimize their Decisions, in: Andreas Follesdal and Geir Ulfstein: The Judicialization of International Law, Oxford University Press: Oxford, 2018

 
For many populations that are already socially marginalized, resource dependent, and with limited capital assets, human security will be progressively undermined by environmental change. A new book, co-edited by Katriona McGlade, Fellow and Coordinator of International... Weiterlesen

Behnassi, Mohamed and Katriona McGlade (eds.) 2017: Environmental Change and Human Security in Africa and the Middle East. Springer International Publishing Switzerland.

 
| Fotolia © eyewave
Grundsätzlich kann verstärkter internationaler Handel Verbrauchern und Verbraucherinnen Zugang zu preisgünstigen oder qualitativ hochwertigen Produkten verschaffen. Gleichzeitig besteht die Gefahr, dass Regeln in Handels- und Investitionsabkommen die Freiheit der... Weiterlesen

Pitschas, Christian und Christiane Gerstetter 2017: Verbraucherrechte in internationalen Handelsabkommen. Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband: Berlin.

 
Chinesischen Behörden zufolge wurde das Corona-Virus auf einem Tiermarkt in Wuhan von wildlebenden Tieren auf den Menschen übertragen. Höchstwahrscheinlich gehen auch Ebola und Aids auf eine Übertragung durch wildlebende Tieren zurück. Neben der ernsthaften Bedrohung... Weiterlesen

Sina, Stephan; Gerstetter, Christiane; Porsch, Lucas et al. (2016): Wildlife Crime. Study for the ENVI Committee, Brussels.

 
Die Studie des Ecologic Instituts, erstellt in Zusammenarbeit mit der Heinrich Böll Stiftung, soll einen sachlichen Hintergrund zu der Debatte um regulatorische Kooperation im Rahmen von TTIP liefern. Die Studie untersucht, ob die Befürchtungen gerechtfertigt sind, dass... Weiterlesen

Gerstetter, Christiane; Lena Donat; Katharina Klaas et al. 2014: Regulatory Cooperation under TTIP – a Risk for Democracy and National Regulation?, Berlin.

 
In dieser Studie für die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung beschäftigen sich Christiane Gerstetter und Nils Meyer-Ohlendorf vom Ecologic Institut mit dem "I" in TTIP – Investitionsschutzregeln im transatlantischen Handels- und Investitionsschutzabkommen (TTIP). Dieses wird derzeit... Weiterlesen

Gerstetter, Christiane und Nils Meyer-Ohlendorf 2013: Investor-state Dispute Settlement under TTIP – a Risk for Environmental Regulation?, Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung: Berlin.

 
Der internationale Vertrag über pflanzengenetische Ressourcen für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (ITPGRFA) ist der jüngste Bestandteil der internationalen Regelungsarchitektur zur Nutzung pflanzengenetischer Ressourcen in der Landwirtschaft. In ihrem Artikel für das... Weiterlesen

Gerstetter, Christiane; Benjamin Görlach; Kirsten Neumann et al. 2007: "The International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture within the Current Legal Regime Complex on Plant Genetic Resources". Journal of World Intellectual Property, Jg. 10, Nr. 3-4, 259-283.

Ausgewählte Vorträge von Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Vorträge & Diskussionen

 
Christiane Gerstetter und Stephan Sina (Ecologic Institut)
Am 19. April 2016 stellten Stephan Sina und Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellows am Ecologic Institut, dem Ausschuss für Umweltfragen, Öffentliche Gesundheit und Lebensmittelsicherheit (ENVI) des Europäischen Parlaments in Brüssel eine Studie zu Straftaten im... Weiterlesen

Vortrag:Straftaten im Zusammenhang mit wildlebenden Tier- und Pflanzenarten

Datum
Ort
Brüssel, Belgien
 
Was wissen wir über die Effektivität der Gesetze gegen Umweltkriminalität in der EU und ihren Mitgliedstaaten? Wie können wir diese Effektivität messen? Dies waren die zwei Kernfragen, die Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow im Legal Team des Ecologic Instituts, in... Weiterlesen

Vortrag:Die Effektivität der EU-Gesetzgebung gegen Umweltkriminalität

Datum
Ort
Aix en Provence, Frankreich
 
| © SRU
Der Sachverständigenrat für Umweltfragen (SRU) der Bundesregierung stellte am 25. Februar 2016 eine Stellungnahme unter dem Titel "Umwelt und Freihandel: TTIP umweltverträglich gestalten" der Öffentlichkeit vor. Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung der Stellungnahme durch... Weiterlesen

Podiumsdiskussion:Vorstellung des SRU-Gutachtens zu TTIP

Datum
Ort
Berlin, Deutschland
 
Christiane Gerstetter (Ecologic Institut)
Am 10. April 2015 hielt Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow im juristischen Team des Ecologic Instituts, einen Vortrag zum Verhältnis zwischen internationalen Handels- und Umweltschutzabkommen bei einer Tagung der Evangelischen Akademie Hofgeismar zum Thema "Natürliche... Weiterlesen

Vortrag:Welthandelsrecht und internationale Umweltschutzverträge

Datum
Ort
Hofgeismar, Deutschland
 
Christiane Gerstetter und R. Andreas Kraemer, Ecologic Institut (Photo: © Nicole Roberts, British Embassy Berlin)
Am 22.  Januar 2014 beschäftigten sich über 100 Vertreter von Ministerien, NGOs, Botschaften und Forschungsinstitutionen in der Britischen Botschaft in Berlin mit der Frage, wie Artenschutzdelikte effektiver verhindert werden können. Bekannte Artenschutzdelikte sind z.... Weiterlesen

Podiumsdiskussion:Bekämpfung von Artenschutzdelikten: britische und deutsche Perspektiven

Datum
Ort
Berlin, Deutschland
 
Der Streitschlichtungsmechanismus der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) gehört zu den aktivsten und einflussreichsten internationalen Gerichten. Wie die Streitschlichtungsorgane der WTO Fälle entscheiden war Gegenstand einer Präsentation von Christiane Gerstetter, Senior... Weiterlesen

Moderation

 

Foto von Ivan Samkov von Pexels

Die Ausbildung der nächsten Generation von Umweltjurist_innen ist entscheidend dafür, dass das Umweltrecht eingehalten wird und so seine Funktion, die Umwelt zu schützen, effektiv erfüllen kann. Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow am Ecologic Institut, ko-moderierte... Weiterlesen

Moderation:Online-Kurs zum Umweltrecht für russische und deutsche Studierende

Datum
-
Ort
online

Skip to main content

Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Print

Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Rechtsanwältin (Lawyer)

Senior Fellow

Team
Topics

Christiane Gerstetter works as a Senior Fellow in the Ecologic Institute's legal team in a part-time position. Her main research interests are international trade policy, environmental law and its enforcement, and transformation processes. Her main regional interest is the Middle East. Christiane Gerstetter works in German and English; she also understands and/or speaks Arabic, French, Hebrew, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish to varying degrees.

On environmental crime and compliance assurance, Christiane Gerstetter currently co-coordinates a project on sanctions to address non-compliance with environmental law. Earlier, she coordinated the EU-funded research project EU Action to Fight Environmental Crime (EFFACE) and is also one of the leading authors of a study on wildlife crime. She also coordinated a project on environmental criminal law in Germany and supported the EU Commission in implementing the Action on Environmental Compliance Assurance and Governance.

On trade, she co-authored a study on strengthening rules on forest protection in the EU-Mercosur trade agreement. Moreover, she co-authored several studies on the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP), including studies for the European Parliament on the impact of TTIP on European Union environmental and food safety regulation and studies on investor-state dispute settlement and regulatory cooperation in TTIP respectively. Earlier trade-related projects include a legal study of the international legal framework relevant to support systems for renewable energy, policy briefs on trade and climate change, a study on the implementation of the Nagoya Protocol for the European Commission, and a project dealing with the WTO compatibility of environmental labels.

Her development-related work includes studies for the European Parliament on development cooperation and research on climate change adaptation, water conflicts and human security in the Mediterranean area as part of the CLICO project.

Christiane Gerstetter is an experienced and passionate moderator and has facilitated a wide variety of events and formats in German and English for the past 20 years. Among others, she focused on planning and moderating events as part of her work on the Scientific Coordination of Research Projects on a Sustainable Economy (NaWiKo). 

Christiane Gerstetter completed her post-graduate legal training in Berlin, including work at the EU Department of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and the German Embassy in Yemen. Prior to that, she was a researcher at the University of Bremen in a project on the tensions and interdependencies between international and European trade law and social regulation.

Christiane Gerstetter studied law, philosophy and international relations in Heidelberg and Bremen and passed her law school exam in 2003. She completed her PhD thesis on dispute settlement within the World Trade Organization (WTO) at the University of Bremen.

Besides her work for Ecologic Institute, Christiane is also a legal researcher at ClientEarth.

For many years, she has been involved in NGOs and social movements. Since June 2016, she has been a member of the investment committee of Oekoworld, an ethical asset management company. She lived and worked in the Middle East and Central America where she focused on issues of human rights, non-violent conflict transformation and development.

Contact Dr. Christiane Gerstetter by Email

The data sent will only be processed for the purpose of processing your request. You will find further information in our privacy notice.

Selected projects by Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Environmental Crime and Compliance

 
| © Europäische Kommission
In January 2018 the European Commission adopted an Action Plan to improve compliance with EU environmental rules. Ecologic Institute and its partners support the European Commission in implementing the Action Plan. In particular, the project assists the European... Read more

Implementation of the European Union's Action Plan on Environmental Compliance Assurance and Governance

Duration
-
Funding
 
| Fotolia © EvilGirl
The illegal pollution of soil, water, and air, the illegal trade in protected species or the illegal shipment of waste abroad – these are different forms of environmental crime. Environmental crime has many negative consequences. Its environmental impacts range from the... Read more
 
The interdisciplinary research project "European Union Action to Fight Environmental Crime" (EFFACE) assessed the impacts of environmental crime as well as effective and feasible policy options for combatting it, with a focus on the EU. The project was funded under the... Read more

European Union Action to Fight Environmental Crime (EFFACE)

Duration
-
Funding

Trade

 
In 2019, the EU and the countries of the South American trade bloc Mercosur concluded negotiations on a trade agreement. The negotiated text of the agreement includes a chapter on trade and sustainability. The rules on forest protection are weak, however, and the... Read more
 
fotolia©argus
Ecologic Institute, Bio IS and the Institute for European Environmental Policy were commissioned by the European Parliament's Committee on Environment, Public Health and Food Safety (ENVI Committee) to provide the members with the needed expertise to monitor the ongoing... Read more

ENVI Relevant Legislative Areas of the EU-US TTIP Negotiations

Duration
-
Funding
 
Fotolia © H-J Paulsen
In this project, BIO IS, the Institute for European Environmental Policy (IEEP) and the Ecologic Institute investigated approaches for verifying that claims made by companies on the environmental properties of products or their own overall environmental performance are... Read more

How to Verify Claims on the Environmental Properties of Products and Organizations?

Duration
-
Funding
 
International Law and Support for Renewable Energies
As renewable energy sources are more widely used and corresponding support systems expanded, the economic significance of the sector is also growing. This, in turn, also leads to a growing potential for trade disputes involving renewable energy production. In this... Read more

Environmental Law

 
This research project explores whether strengthening the concept of extended product responsibility in international law has the potential of noticeably improving waste management in the Global South. The concept of Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) aims at taking... Read more
 
| ©dred_2010|Fotolia.com
Ecologic Institute prepares a study for the German Environment Agency by the beginning of 2020, identifying legal norms beyond water law that can contribute more strongly to effective implementation of the Water Framework Directive (WFD). The study is funded under the... Read more
 
In 2010, the Conference of the Parties of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) adopted the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit-sharing. The Protocol sets forth rules on access to genetic resources. Among other purposes, research is a main driver of demand for... Read more

Study on the Implementation of the Nagoya Protocol in the EU

Duration
-
Funding

Sustainable Development

 
| © Yvonne Bogdanski / Fotolia
Sustainable development is a long-term political goal of the European Union (EU), which has become even more important since the adoption of sustainable development goals (SDGs). Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Union, has been monitoring progress in the... Read more

Monitoring of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Europe 2020 Strategy and Policy Initiatives beyond 2020

Duration
-
Funding
European Commission, Eurostat (Eurostat), International
 
Auftaktkonferenz (Foto: Michael Gottschalk/phototek)
In the project "Scientific coordination of research projects on a sustainable economy" (Wissenschaftliche Koordination der Fördermaßnahme Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften, NaWiKo) Ecologic Institute and its partners coordinate 30 research projects, which deal with a more... Read more

Scientific Coordination of Research Projects on a Sustainable Economy

Duration
-
Funding
German Aerospace Center, DLR Bonn (DLR), Germany
 
Climate change poses several threats to human security. Hydro-climatic hazards such as droughts and floods have the potential to trigger or exacerbate social tensions, intra- and inter-state conflict. The EU-funded project CLICO will examine the relationships between... Read more

Climate Change, Hydro-conflicts and Human Security (CLICO)

Duration
-
Funding
 
Intellectual Property Rights and Fighting Poverty - Study for the European Parliament
Developing countries are the main providers of genetic resources and traditional knowledge. Conversely, most intellectual property rights (IPRs) on seeds and medicines are concentrated in developed countries. This has some disadvantages for developing countries. Thus,... Read more
 
Jüngste Studie: EU Development Cooperation in Fragile States: Challenges and Opportunities
The committees of the European Parliament play a critical role in ensuring the effectiveness of EU policy during both the development of legislation and policy and its subsequent implementation. The Committee on Foreign Affairs (Affaires étrangères, AFET) is one of the... Read more

Framework Contract Development Policy for the European Parliament

Duration
-
Funding
Selected publications by Dr. Christiane Gerstetter
 
This publication is the fourth of Eurostat’s regular reports monitoring progress towards the SDGs in an EU context. The analysis in this publication builds on the EU SDG indicator set, developed in cooperation with a large number of stakeholders. The indicator set... Read more

Bley, Simon Johannes, et al. (ed.) 2020: Sustainable Development in the European Union. Monitoring Report on Progress Towards the SDGs in an EU Context. [eurostat Statistical books 2020 edition]. Luxembourg: Publications Office of the European Union.

 
The dispute settlement mechanism of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) is one of the most active international courts. How the WTO's adjudicators decide cases is the topic of a book chapter authored by Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow at Ecologic Institute. The... Read more

Gerstetter, Christiane: Substance and Style - How the WTO Adjudicators Legitimize their Decisions, in: Andreas Follesdal and Geir Ulfstein: The Judicialization of International Law, Oxford University Press: Oxford, 2018

 
For many populations that are already socially marginalized, resource dependent, and with limited capital assets, human security will be progressively undermined by environmental change. A new book, co-edited by Katriona McGlade, Fellow and Coordinator of International... Read more

Behnassi, Mohamed and Katriona McGlade (eds.) 2017: Environmental Change and Human Security in Africa and the Middle East. Springer International Publishing Switzerland.

 
Publication's cover

© vzbv

In principle, increased trade resulting from trade agreements can offer consumers access to goods and services that are less expensive or of higher quality. At the same time, there is a risk that rules in trade and investment agreements limit the sovereign right of... Read more

Pitschas, Christian and Christiane Gerstetter 2017: Consumer Rights in International Trade Agreements. Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband: Berlin.

 
According to Chinese authorities, the coronavirus spread to humans from wildlife at a wildlife market in Wuhan. Most likely, Ebola and AIDS also originated from wildlife. Besides the serious threats to biodiversity and sustainable development, the risk for human health... Read more

Sina, Stephan; Gerstetter, Christiane; Porsch, Lucas et al. (2016): Wildlife Crime. Study for the ENVI Committee, Brussels.

 
This study conducted by Ecologic Institute with support from the Heinrich Boell Foundation aims at providing factual background to the debate on regulatory cooperation within the TTIP. The study looks at whether fears are justified that regulatory cooperation could lead... Read more
Gerstetter, Christiane; Lena Donat; Katharina Klaas and Katherine Weingartner 2014: Regulatory Cooperation under TTIP – a Risk for Democracy and National Regulation?, Berlin.
 
In this study for the Heinrich Böll Foundation, Christiane Gerstetter and Nils Meyer-Ohlendorf of Ecologic Institute look at the "I" in TTIP, investment rules in the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership under negotiation between the US and the EU. They assess... Read more
Gerstetter, Christiane und Nils Meyer-Ohlendorf 2013: Investor-state Dispute Settlement under TTIP - a Risk for Environmental Regulation?, Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung: Berlin.
 
The International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (ITPGRFA) is the most recent piece in the current regime complex on plant genetic resources. In their article for the Journal of World Intellectual Property, Christiane Gerstetter, Benjamin... Read more

Gerstetter, Christiane; Benjamin Görlach; Kirsten Neumann and Dora Schaffrin 2007: "The International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture within the Current Legal Regime Complex on Plant Genetic Resources". Journal of World Intellectual Property, Vol. 10, No. 3-4, 259-283.

Selected presentations by Dr. Christiane Gerstetter

Presentations & Discussions

 
Christiane Gerstetter und Stephan Sina (Ecologic Institut)
On 19 April 2016, Stephan Sina and Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellows at Ecologic Institute, presented a study on wildlife crime to the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety (ENVI) of the European Parliament in Brussels. The study was compiled... Read more

Speech:Wildlife Crime

Date
Location
Brussels, Belgium
 
What do we know about the effectiveness of legislation to combat environmental crime within the EU and its Member States? And how can we measure its effectiveness? These were the two core questions that Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow in Ecologic's Legal Team,... Read more

Speech:The Effectiveness of the EU's Legislative Framework on Environmental Crime

Date
Location
Aix en Provence, France
 
| © SRU
The German Advisory Council on the Environment (SRU) presented on 25 February 2016 a statement entitled "Environment and Free Trade: Environmentally sound design of TTIP". Following the presentation of the statement by Prof. Dr. Christian Callies, a member of... Read more

Panel discussion:Statement of the German Advisory Council on the Environment on TTIP

Date
Location
Berlin, Germany
 
Christiane Gerstetter (Ecologic Institut)
On 10 April 2015, Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow in Ecologic Institute's legal team, gave a presentation on the relationship between international trade and environmental agreements at a conference of the Protestant Academy Hofgeismar. The conference centered on... Read more

Speech:The Relationship between International Environmental and Trade Agreements

Date
Location
Hofgeismar, Germany
 
Christiane Gerstetter und R. Andreas Kraemer, Ecologic Institut (Photo: © Nicole Roberts, British Embassy Berlin)
On 22 January 2014, more than 100 participants from ministries, NGOs, embassies and research institutions came together in the British Embassy in Berlin. The event focused on how to more successfully prevent wildlife crime, including activities such as the poaching of... Read more

Panel discussion:Combating Wildlife Crime: Efforts and Perspectives from the UK and Germany

Date
Location
Berlin, Germany
 
The dispute settlement system of the World Trade Organization (WTO) is one of the most active and influential international courts. How the WTO dispute settlement bodies decide cases was the topic of a presentation that Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow in Ecologic's... Read more

Speech:Substance and Style – How the WTO Adjudicators Legitimize their Decisions

Date
Location
Oslo, Norway

Facilitation

 

Photo by Ivan Samkov | Pexels

Training the next generation of environmental lawyers is crucial for ensuring that environmental law is complied with and can thus serve its function of protecting the environment. Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow at the Ecologic Institute, co-moderated an online... Read more

Chairing:Online Course on Environmental Law for Russian and German Students

Date
-
Location
online