• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Publikationen – Ecologic Legal

Klicke auf ein Thema um nur Artikel mit diesem Tag anzuzeigen, du kannst auch mehrere Themen kombinieren
(klicke irgendein Button zum Filtern, klick den gleichen Button um diese Filterung zu deaktivieren)
showing 1-20 of 148 results

Seiten

A European Climate Law – What Should It Look Like?

Ursula von der Leyen, die neue Präsidentin der Europäischen Kommission, hat heute, am 1. Dezember 2019, ihr Amt angetreten. Sie will in den ersten 100 Tagen ihrer Amtszeit ein europäisches Klimagesetz vorschlagen. Dieses "Gesetz" ist ein wichitger Schritt, um Europa klimaneutral zu machen. Es kann Lücken in den bestehenden EU-Klimaregeln schließen. Diese Lücken werden die EU daran hindern, vor 2050 klimaneutral zu werden. Ein neues Papier des Ecologic Instituts diskutiert, wie ein europäisches Klimagesetz aussehen sollte und wie es Gesetzeslücken schließen kann. Das Papier steht zum Download zur Verfügung. Weiterlesen

A Treaty on Plastic Waste

Discussion paper
Das Diskussionspapier zeigt die Gründe für ein neues völkerrechtliches Abkommen zu Plastikmüll und seinen Mehrwert auf. Das Ziel wäre, Plastikmüll in den Ozeanen zu durch einen umfassenden Ansatz zu reduzieren, der von landbasierte Quellen und den Lebenszyklus von Plastik umfasst und offen ist für zukünftige Weiterentwicklung. Das Abkommen würde nicht auf ein Verbot von Plastik zielen.Weiterlesen

Status quo und Weiterentwicklung des Umweltstrafrechts und anderer Sanktionen

Instrumente zur Verbesserung der Befolgung von Umweltrecht (Compliance)
Umweltkriminalität versursacht erhebliche Umwelt- und Gesundheitsschäden. Auf 110 bis 281 Milliarden US-Dollar schätzt ein von Interpol mit veröffentlichter Bericht den jährlichen Umsatz, der durch Umweltkriminalität entsteht. Die vorliegende Studie untersucht den Vollzug des Umweltstrafrechts in Deutschland. Sie ist Ergebnis eines Forschungsprojekts, das Ecologic Institut im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamts durchgeführt hat. Die Studie steht online zur Verfügung. Weiterlesen

The Future of the EU – Background Paper

Compromises for expanding ordinary legislative procedure and majority voting in climate and energy policies
Die EU verabschiedet wichtige Klimaschutzmaßnahmen – wie die Besteuerung von CO2-Emissionen – im besonderen Gesetzgebungsverfahren. Das bedeutet, dass das Europäische Parlament kein gleichberechtigter Mitgesetzgeber ist und dass der Rat einstimmig entscheiden muss. Jeder Mitgliedsstaat hat also ein Veto. Dies ist ein Problem, da die Dringlichkeit von Klimaschutz rasches und mutiges Handeln der EU erfordert. Ein neues Ecologic-Papier untersucht, wie dieses Problem gelöst werden kann.Weiterlesen

Landesklimaschutzgesetze in Deutschland

Überblick und Bedeutung für ein Klimaschutzgesetz des Bundes
In der aktuellen Debatte um ein Klimaschutzgesetz des Bundes wird oft übersehen, dass etwa die Hälfte der Bundesländer bereits ein Klimaschutzgesetz als übergreifenden Rechtsrahmen hat. In einer Kurzstudie für den WWF Deutschland gibt das Ecologic Institut einen Überblick über Kernelemente von Landesklimaschutzgesetzen und ihre Bedeutung für ein mögliches Bundesklimaschutzgesetz. Die Studie hebt den deutlichen Mehrwert derartiger Klimaschutzgesetze hervor. Sie kommt zu dem Ergebnis, dass sich Klimaschutzgesetze auf Landes- und Bundesebene nicht ausschließen, sondern vielmehr ergänzen und gegenseitig stärken.Weiterlesen

Klimaschutzgesetze in Europa

Überblick und Bedeutung für ein deutsches Klimaschutzgesetz
Diese Studie des Ecologic Instituts zeigt, dass Deutschland viel von den Erfahrungen der Nachbarländer lernen kann, um der eigenen Klimaschutzpolitik einen Rahmen zu geben und sie somit verlässlicher zu machen, auch für klimafreundliche Investitionen von Wirtschaft und Bürgern. Gleichzeitig könnte Deutschland durch ein auf die neuesten EU-Vorgaben angepasstes Gesetzeswerk einen neuen Standard für Klimaschutzgesetze etablieren, der unseren Nachbarn wiederum als Beispiel dient.Weiterlesen

Geeignete Rechtsinstrumente für die nationale Umsetzung der bodenbezogenen sustainable development goals, insbesondere des Ziels einer "land degradation neutral world"

Abschlussbericht
Dieser Forschungsbericht des Ecologic Instituts untersucht mit einer juristischen Analyse, ob und inwiefern das deutsche Recht geeignet ist, das nachhaltige Entwicklungsziel einer "land degradation-neutral world" (LDN) bis 2030 zu erreichen, und macht Verbesserungsvorschläge. Dabei stehen Regelungen für Erosion durch Landwirtschaft in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Versiegelung durch Siedlung und Kontamination durch Industrie im Fokus der Analyse. Die Ergebnisse können als "lessons learned" im internationalen Austausch Anregungen und Impulse für andere Staaten geben. Der Bericht steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen

How Can We Make the Energiewende Digital and Sustainable?

Die Energiewende bedeutet einen Übergang von der alten, nuklearen und kohlebasierten Energieversorgung zu einem nachhaltigen und digitalisierten Energiesystem. Dies ist ein komplexes Unterfangen: Die Zahl der beteiligten Akteure steigt und ihre Funktionen überschneiden sich. Digitale Technologien bringen zwar Automatisierung und Entlastungspotenziale, aber sie sind ein ambivalentes Phänomen: Ohne umfassende Datenschutzgesetze ist unklar, was mit der enormen Datenmenge geschehen wird, die digitale Geräte sammeln. Außerdem sind Technologien wie Blockchain oft so energieintensiv, dass sie mehr Ressourcen verbrauchen als sie einsparen. Politische Gestaltung muss daher einen digitalen und ökologisch nachhaltigen Energiewandel aktiv gestalten – es wird nicht von selbst geschehen. Dies ist das Ergebnis einer Kurzstudie, die das Ecologic Institut im Auftrag der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung verfasst hat. Dieser Blog-Artikel für energytransition.org fasst die Eckpunkte der Studie zusammen.Weiterlesen

A Climate Law for Europe

Making the Paris Agreement Real
Die derzeitigen Klimaschutzregeln der EU sind umfassend und detailliert, enthalten jedoch viele dieser Merkmale nicht. Diese Defizite behindern effektiven Klimaschutz und die Umsetzung des Pariser Abkommens. Die Governance Verordnung für die Energieunion behebt viele dieser Defizite. Dies markiert eine gute Basis für ein Klimaschutzgesetz für Europa. Dies sind die wichtigsten Ergebnisse eines überarbeiteten Papiers des Ecologic Instituts, welches zum Download zur Verfügung steht.Weiterlesen

Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform

potential governance arrangements under the Paris Agreement
Die Plattform für lokale Gemeinschaften und indigene Völker (Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform, LCIP Platform) wurde 2015 in Paris ins Leben gerufen. Die konkrete Ausgestaltung ihrer Struktur ist aber noch immer Gegenstand von Verhandlungen. Auf der Grundlage der bisherigen Diskussionen zur Plattform in den Klimaverhandlungen und der derzeitigen Praxis der Einbeziehung von nicht-staatlichen Akteuren, entwickelt dieser Bericht einen "Werkzeugkasten" verschiedener Governance-Elemente für die Plattform. Der Bericht steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen

Substance and Style – How the WTO Adjudicators Legitimize their Decisions

Der Streitschlichtungsmechanismus der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) ist einer der aktivsten internationalen Gerichte. Wie die Streitschlichtungsorgane der WTO Fälle entscheiden ist Gegenstand eines von Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow im Ecologic Institut, verfassten Buchbeitrags unter dem Titel "Substance and Style – How the WTO Adjudicators Legitimize their Decisions". Herausgeber des entsprechenden Sammelbands unter dem Titel "The Judicialization of International Law: A Mixed Blessing?" sind Andreas Follesdal and Geir Ulfstein. Der von Oxford University Press veröffentlichte Band befasst sich mit dem Einfluss internationaler Gerichte auf das Völkerrecht.Weiterlesen

Implementing Land Degradation Neutrality at National Level

Legal Instruments in Germany
In diesem Kapitel analysiert Dr. Ralph Bodle vom Ecologic Institut die rechtlichen Instrumente und Regulierungsansätze im deutschen Recht zur Erreichung der Landdegradationsneutralität (LDN). Abschnitt 1 umreißt die konzeptionellen Komponenten des LDN, mit denen sich das Gesetz befassen muss: Verhinderung von Degradation, Wiederherstellung degradierter Böden, Ausgleich der Degradation auf Projektebene sowie Raumplanung und -management. In Abschnitt 2 wird analysiert, welche rechtlichen Mechanismen das deutsche Recht vorsieht, um alle konzeptionellen Komponenten von LDN zu erfassen. Die Bewertung und Schlussfolgerung in Abschnitt 1. 3 argumentieren, dass trotz einer Reihe von Rechtsvorschriften und Instrumenten des deutschen Bodenschutzrechts das Fehlen eines übergreifenden ganzheitlichen Konzepts auch im Hinblick auf LDN ein grundlegender Mangel ist.Weiterlesen

Arctic Summer College Yearbook

An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development
Dieses Buch, herausgegeben von Brendan O'Donnell, Max Gruenig und Arne Riedel vom Ecologic Institut, hebt sowohl die Vielfalt der Perspektiven und Ansätze in der Arktisforschung als auch die inhärente Interdisziplinarität des Studierens und Verstehens dieser unvergleichlichen Region hervor. Die Kapitel sind in vier frei definierbare Abschnitte unterteilt, um Raum für dynamische Interpretationen und Dialoge auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Lösungen für die Probleme der Arktis zu schaffen. Von der Regierungsführung bis zur Technologie, von der wissenschaftlichen Forschung bis zu den Sozialsystemen, von der menschlichen Gesundheit bis zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung diskutieren die Autoren grundlegende Fragen und blicken dabei auf die Zukunft der Arktis. Egal, ob der Leser mit der Geschichte und Komplexität der Arktispolitik vertraut ist oder nach einer einfühlsamen Einführung in die weite Welt der Arktisforschung sucht, jeder findet auf diesen Seiten Antworten, die zu neuen Fragen und noch mehr Entdeckungen führen und damit den Grundstein für die künftige Diskussion über die Zukunft der Arktis legen.Weiterlesen

Die Durchsetzung von Verbraucherrechten in internationalen Handelsabkommen

Internationaler Handel und internationale Handelsabkommen haben Einfluss auf VerbraucherInnen. Internationaler Handel hat Vorteile für VerbraucherInnen. Gleichzeitig bringt internationaler Handel auch Risiken für VerbraucherInnen mit sich. Verbraucherorganisationen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks diskutieren, wie eine verbraucherfreundliche Handelspolitik aussehen kann. In dieser Studie erörtern Christiane Gerstetter und Lena Donat aus dem Legal Team des Ecologic Instituts wie Beschwerdemechanismen für Verbraucherorganisationen in internationalen Handelsabkommen aussehen könnten. Weiterlesen

Environmental Criminal Law in Germany

Ein Ergebnis des vom Ecologic Institut koordinierten Forschungsprojekts "European Union Action to Fight Environmental Crime" (EFFACE) ist ein bei Hart Publishing veröffentlichter Sammelband mit dem Titel "Environmental Crime in Europe". Dr. Stephan Sina, Senior Fellow am Ecologic Institut, ist Verfasser des Kapitels zu Umweltkriminalität in Deutschland. In diesem Kapitel stellt er den für Umweltkriminalität relevanten Rechtsrahmen in Deutschland dar und bewertet seine Vereinbarkeit mit der EU Umweltstrafrechts-Richtlinie. Weiterlesen

Energie- und Umweltgovernance in der Arktis

Das Lehrbuch zu "Regionen und Regionalismus in den Internationalen Beziehungen" eröffnet neben einer theoretisch-konzeptionellen Orientierung vergleichende Einblicke in die unterschiedlichen regionalen Ordnungsmodelle, Normen und Institutionen Europas, Asiens, Afrikas und den Amerikas. Im Kapitel "Energie- und Umweltgovernance in der Arktis" gibt Arne Riedel, Fellow des Ecologic Instituts, einen Überblick über Akteure und Kooperationen in der Region ebenso wie über aktuelle Entwicklungen durch weitere Normierung, neue Akteure und neue politische Herausforderungen.

Weiterlesen

Verbraucherrechte in internationalen Handelsabkommen

Grundsätzlich kann verstärkter internationaler Handel Verbrauchern und Verbraucherinnen Zugang zu preisgünstigen oder qualitativ hochwertigen Produkten verschaffen. Gleichzeitig besteht die Gefahr, dass Regeln in Handels- und Investitionsabkommen die Freiheit der beteiligten Staaten beschränken, auf nationaler Ebene Maßnahmen zum Verbraucherschutz zu ergreifen. Viel hängt also von der Ausgestaltung der Abkommen ab. Diese Studie gibt einen Überblick über den Bestand an Verbraucherrechten in neueren Handelsabkommen. Die Studie steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Weiterlesen

European Union Action to Fight Environmental Crime (EFFACE)

efface.eu
Das EU-Forschungsprojekt EFFACE befasst sich mit den Auswirkungen von Umweltkriminalität und möglichen Ansätzen zu ihrer Bekämpfung, mit Schwerpunkt auf der EU. Die EFFACE Website wurde vom Ecologic Institut entworfen und entwickelt. Sie gibt einen Überblick über die Projektziele, Strukturen und Partner sowie Veranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus finden sich auf der Website alle EFFACE Ergebnisse und der EFFACE Newsletter. Ein interner Bereich unterstützt die Koordination der Projektarbeit, an der 11 europäische Universitäten und Think Tanks beteiligt sind.Weiterlesen

Regulatory Cooperation under CETA

Implications for Environmental Policies
Am 30. Oktober 2016 unterzeichneten Kanada und die EU CETA. Die Ratifikation des Abkommens ist der nächste Schritt. Diese Studie des Ecologic Instituts analysiert die Umweltauswirkungen von regulatorischer Zusammenarbeit, wie sie CETA festlegt. Die Studie kommt zum Ergebnis, dass CETA einen umfassenden institutionellen Rahmen für die regulatorische Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und Kanada schafft. Die Stärkung des Umweltschutzes ist kein ausdrücklicher Schwerpunkt der regulatorischen Zusammenarbeit nach CETA. Die Studie steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen

Seiten

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Publications – Ecologic Legal

Click on the Keywords to only show articles with this issue, you can even combine them
(click any button to apply that issue filter, click the same button to remove the filter)
showing 1-20 of 152 results

Pages

A European Climate Law – What Should It Look Like?

Ursula von der Leyen, the new President of the European Commission, took office today, on 1 December 2019. As one of her first proposals, she promised to propose a European Climate Law in the first 100 days of her term in office. This 'Law' is a critical step to make Europe climate neutral. It can close gaps in existing EU climate rules. These gaps will impede the EU from becoming climate neutral before 2050. A new paper by Ecologic Institute discusses what a European Climate Law should look like, and how it could close existing gaps. The paper is available for download.Read more

A Treaty on Plastic Waste

Discussion paper
The discussion paper presents the rationale for a new treaty on tackling plastic waste and highlights its possible added value. The objective would be to reduce marine plastic litter through a comprehensive approach that also includes land-based sources, a life cycle approach to plastic and is open to future developments. The purpose would not be to prohibit plastics as such.Read more

The Future of the EU – Background Paper

Compromises for expanding ordinary legislative procedure and majority voting in climate and energy policies
The EU adopts essential climate issues – such as carbon taxation – by special legislative procedures. This means that the European Parliament is not an equal co-legislator and the Council decides by unanimous vote, providing each Member State with a veto. This is a problem because the urgency of climate action requires swift and bold EU action. EU climate action cannot afford a governance structure that allows one Member State to hold all others hostage in essential areas of climate action. A new Ecologic paper explores how to address this problem.Read more

Status quo und Weiterentwicklung des Umweltstrafrechts und anderer Sanktionen

Instrumente zur Verbesserung der Befolgung von Umweltrecht (Compliance)
A 2018 report co-published by Interpol estimates the annual turnover generated by environmental crime at 110 - 281 billion US dollars. Environmental crime causes significant damage to the environment and public health. This report presents insights on environmental criminal law and its application in Germany. It is the result of a research project carried out by Ecologic Institute for the German Federal Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt). The report is available for download.Read more

Landesklimaschutzgesetze in Deutschland

Überblick und Bedeutung für ein Klimaschutzgesetz des Bundes
In the current debate about a Federal Climate Change Act, people often overlook that in Germany about half of the federal states already have a climate change law as a comprehensive legal framework. In a study for WWF Germany, Ecologic Institute gives an overview over core elements of federal climate change laws and their impact on a potential Federal Climate Change Act. The study underlines the added value of such climate change laws. It concludes that climate change laws at the federal and state levels are not only compatible but strengthen each other. The study can be downloaded at the WWF website.Read more

Klimaschutzgesetze in Europa

Überblick und Bedeutung für ein deutsches Klimaschutzgesetz
This study by Ecologic Institute shows that Germany can learn a lot from experiences made in its neighbouring countries to give its climate policies a robust framework and thus make it more reliable, also for investments in climate-friendly measures. At the same time, Germany could establish a new standard through legislation adapted to the latest EU requirements, which would than again serve as an example for our neighbours.Read more

Geeignete Rechtsinstrumente für die nationale Umsetzung der bodenbezogenen sustainable development goals, insbesondere des Ziels einer "land degradation neutral world"

Abschlussbericht
The research report by Ecologic Institute provides a legal assessment of whether German law is suitable to achieve the sustainable development goal "land degradation neutral word" (LDN) by 2030, and recommends options for improvement. The analysis focuses on rules for erosion, sealing by human settlement and pollution by industry. The report also compiles and explains key insights and lessons learned in English, as a contribution to the international discussion on implementing LDN. The report is available for download.Read more

How Can We Make the Energiewende Digital and Sustainable?

The Energiewende means a transition from the old, nuclear-and-coal based, to a sustainable and digitalized energy system. This is a complex endeavor: the number of actors involved increases and their functions overlap. While digital technologies bring automation and potential for relief, they are an ambivalent phenomenon: with no comprehensive laws on data protection, it is unclear what is going to happen to the tremendous amount of data collected by digital appliances. Besides, technologies like blockchain are often so energy-intensive that they eat up the amount of resources that they are trying to save. Therefore, political design must actively shape a digital and ecologically sustainable energy transition – it will not happen by itself.Read more

A Climate Law for Europe

Making the Paris Agreement Real
The EU's current rules on climate action are comprehensive and detailed. However, they lack many of these features. In this sense, the existing EU acquis falls short of what countries and regions have adopted. It also falls short of what the full implementation of the Paris Agreement implies. The Regulation on Governance for the Energy Union and Climate Action addresses a number of existing shortcomings. It is a strong foundation for a Climate Law for Europe. However, gaps remain that should be filled in a reform. These are the main findings of a recently updated paper of Ecologic Institute, which is available for download.Read more

Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform

potential governance arrangements under the Paris Agreement
The Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform (LCIP Platform) was established in Paris in 2015, but its operationalization is still ongoing. The LCIP Platform could provide an important next step towards a nuanced inclusion of specific non-Party stakeholders in the UNFCCC process. Based on the negotiation process for the Platform and on current modes of participation of non-Party stakeholders, this report develops a toolkit of governance elements for the Platform. The report, written by Arne Riedel and Ralph Bodle, both of Ecologic Institute, is available for download.Read more

Substance and Style – How the WTO Adjudicators Legitimize their Decisions

The dispute settlement mechanism of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) is one of the most active international courts. How the WTO's adjudicators decide cases is the topic of a book chapter authored by Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow at Ecologic Institute. The book, entiteld "The Judicialization of International Law: A Mixed Blessing?" is edited by Andreas Follesdal and Geir Ulfstein and published by Oxford University Press. It deals with the influence of decisions by international courts on international law.Read more

Implementing Land Degradation Neutrality at National Level

Legal Instruments in Germany
In this chapter Ecologic Institute's Dr. Ralph Bodle analyses the legal instruments and regulatory approaches in German law for achieving land degradation neutrality (LDN). Section 1 outlines the conceptual components of LDN that the law has to address: preventing degradation, restoring degraded land, offsetting degradation at project level and land-use planning and management. Section 2 analyses which legal mechanisms German law provides to address all conceptual components of LDN. The assessment and conclusion in Sect. 3 argue that despite a range of legal provisions and instruments in German law that protect soil, the absence of an overarching holistic concept is a fundamental shortcoming also with regard to LDN.Read more

Arctic Summer College Yearbook

An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development
This book, edited by Ecologic Institute's Brendan O’Donnell, Max Gruenig, and Arne Riedel, highlights both the diversity of perspectives and approaches to Arctic research and the inherent interdisciplinary nature of studying and understanding this incomparable region. The chapters are divided into four liberally-defined sections to provide space for dynamic interpretation and dialogue in search of sustainable solutions to the issues facing the Arctic. From governance to technology, scientific research to social systems, human health to economic development, the authors discuss fundamental questions while looking toward the Arctic’s future. Whether the reader is well-versed in the history and complexity of Arctic policy or looking for an insightful introduction to the vast world of Arctic research, everyone will find answers that lead to new questions and even more discoveries in these pages, laying the foundation for tomorrow’s discussion on the future of the Arctic.Read more

The Enforcement of Consumer Rights in Trade Agreements

Cross-border trade and the rules governing it impact consumers. Trade has benefits for consumers, such as access to goods not available domestically. Yet it also has certain risks, such as exposure to traded goods that may be dangerous. Against this background, consumer organisations on both sides of the Atlantic have been discussing what a consumer-friendly trade policy could look like. Christiane Gerstetter and Lena Donat of Ecologic Institute's Legal Team have compiled a study examining what complaint mechanisms for consumer organisations concerning international trade agreements could look like. Read more

Environmental Criminal Law in Germany

As an output of the research project "European Union Action to Fight Environmental Crime" (EFFACE), which was coordinated by Ecologic Institute, an edited volume entitled "Environmental Crime in Europe" was published by Hart Publishing. Dr. Stephan Sina, Senior Fellow at Ecologic Institute, contributed a chapter on environmental crime in Germany. In this chapter, he describes the legal framework on environmental crime in Germany and assesses its conformity with the EU's Environmental Crime Directive. Read more

Energie- und Umweltgovernance in der Arktis

The text book on "Regions and Regionalism in the International Relations" offers a theoretical and conceptual overview as well as comparative insights into a range of regional regulatory models, norms and institutions in Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas. In a new publication, Arne Riedel, Fellow at Ecologic Institute, outlines the actors and cooperative efforts in the Arctic region and discusses actual regulatory developments, new actors as well as new political challenges. Read more

Consumer Rights in International Trade Agreements

In principle, increased trade resulting from trade agreements can offer consumers access to goods and services that are less expensive or of higher quality. At the same time, there is a risk that rules in trade and investment agreements limit the sovereign right of states to adopt measures for consumer protection at the domestic level. Hence, much depends on how these agreements are designed. A study, compiled by Christiane Gerstetter, Senior Fellow at Ecologic Institute and Christian Pitschas, provides an overview of consumer-related rights in recent international trade agreements. The study is available fro download.Read more

Regulatory Cooperation under CETA

Implications for Environmental Policies
On 30 October 2016 Canada and the EU signed CETA. Ratification of the agreement will be the next step. A new study by the Ecologic Institute analyses the environmental implications of regulatory cooperation under CETA. The study finds that CETA establishes a comprehensive institutional framework for regulatory cooperation between Canada and the EU and sets primarily procedural obligations. CETA does not contain detailed obligations that predetermine specific outcomes of regulatory cooperation. Regulatory cooperation under CETA is voluntary. Regulatory cooperation under CETA has a focus on trade liberalisation and consistency of standards. It does not focus on enhancing environmental protection. The study is available for download.Read more

EU Effort Sharing after 2020

Review and Ratcheting Up EU Climate Targets
The Paris Agreement requires Parties to scale up their commitments every five years, i.e., with each consecutive "nationally determined contribution" (NDC). The recent proposal of the EU Commission for an Effort Sharing Regulation is essential for the EU to meet this obligation. The proposal, however, does not support adequately continuous scaling up of the EU greenhouse gas reduction targets. A new paper from Ecologic Institute discusses ways in which the Effort Sharing Regulation could support the scaling up of EU climate targets. The paper is available for download.Read more

Pages