• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Projects – Ecologic Institute US

Klicke auf ein Thema um nur Artikel mit diesem Tag anzuzeigen, du kannst auch mehrere Themen kombinieren
(klicke irgendein Button zum Filtern, klick den gleichen Button um diese Filterung zu deaktivieren)
showing 31-40 of 49 results

Seiten

Nachhaltigkeit auf dem Meer: Wie vertragen sich wirtschaftliche Nutzung und Schutz der Meere?

April 2011 bis September 2013

Die Dräger-Stiftung veranstaltet eine transatlantische Konferenzserie zur "Nachhaltigkeit in den Ozeanen durch Schutz und Nutzung" unter der Schirmherrschaft von Fürst Albert II. von Monaco. Aufbauend auf dem Ecologic Institut CALAMAR Dialog zur transatlantischen Kooperation zur Regelung der Meeresnutzung wird mit der Konferenzserie die Etablierung einer europäischen Ozean-Kommission und einer gemeinsamen meerespolitischen Strategie der USA und der EU beabsichtigt.

Geplant sind drei Konferenzen: in Hamburg (2011), New York City (2012) und Lissabon (2013Weiterlesen

Entwicklung eines Scoring Mechanismus für die Bewertung der Nachhaltigkeit von Fisch und Meeresfrüchten

März 2011 bis August 2011

Ziel des Projekts is es, das existierende Bewertungssystem für das nachhaltige Seafood Watch Programm des Monterey Bay Aquariums (SFW) zu überarbeiten und effizienter zu machen. Das SFW ist trotz einiger Kritik eines der erfolgreichsten Bewertungssysteme und wird von vielen Produzenten als auch Konsumenten genutzt, um die nachhaltige Produktion und Nutzung von Fischereibeständen und der wachsenden Aquakultur zu verbessern.  Das Ecologic Institut Washington DC unterstützt bei der Entwicklung von Bewertungsmechanismen um den Prozess zu optimieren und die Bewertung transparenter zu gestalten.Weiterlesen

Neue Marktmechanismen im Klimaregime post 2012

November 2010 bis November 2012

In diesem Projekt im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamtes ging es um die Darstellung der politischen, strategischen und technischen Aspekte bei der Einführung von so genannten neuen Marktmechanismen in das Klimaregime nach 2012, deren Anwendung insbesondere für die weiter entwickelten Entwicklungsländer und Schwellenländer diskutiert wird. Die drei Schwerpunkte des Projekts sind: 1) Untersuchung der Anreize und Barrieren hinsichtlich eines Wechsels vom Clean Development Mechanismus (CDM) des Kyoto-Protokolls zu den neuen Marktmechanismen, 2) Auswahl der geeignetsten Länder, Sektoren und/oderWeiterlesen

I-CITE: Wirtschaftstransformation durch Gemeinschaft

September 2010 bis August 2012

Das Ecologic Institut und der Atlantic Council of the United States führten im Rahmen eines zivilgesellschaftlichen Dialogs drei transatlantische Studienreisen und eine Abschußkonferenz durch. Der Dialog konzentrierte sich auf die drei Bereiche Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Sanierung von Industriegebieten und Energiewirtschaft. Der Dialog wurde vom Europäischen Auswärtigen Dienst (EAD) finanziert. Zu jeder Veranstaltung kam je eine kleine Gruppe amerikanischer und deutscher Entscheidungsträger, Meinungsführer, Medien- und Wirtschaftsvertreter zusammen.

DasWeiterlesen

Politik und Beobachtung der Ozeane im Globalen Wandel

September 2010 bis Oktober 2010

Die Lisbon Conference 2010 "A Unified Approach for Sustainability in a Changing World: From Ocean Policy to Observation" verknüpfte Aktivitäten zur Förderung von integrierten Ansätzen zur Verbesserung der Umsetzung beim Küstenmanagement und in der Meerespolitik.  Die Konferenz wurde vom Coastal Services Center der US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) gefördert und von der Fundação Luso-Americana ausgerichtet.  Sie stellte die Notwendigkeit der Entwicklung von Schlüsselindikatoren für das Küstenmanagement in den USA und der EU, die Anpassung an den Klimawandel und dieWeiterlesen

Analyse der südafrikanischen Erneuerbaren Initiative (SARi)

August 2010 bis Dezember 2010

Die KfW Entwicklungsbank hat diese Studie in Auftrag gegeben, um die Durchführbarkeit und die Voraussetzungen für die südafrikanische Erneuerbaren Initiative (SARi) in der Phase der Konzeptualisierung zu analysieren. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf der Rolle, die die deutsche Regierung als Geldgeber spielen könnte, sowie auf mögliche Auswirkungen dieser Unterstützung für die deutsche Regierung, die deutsche Wirtschaft und die internationalen Klimaverhandlungen.

Das Projekt befasst sich mit dem Rahmen, der Entwicklung und dem Umsetzungsfortschritt von SARi, mitWeiterlesen

International Trade Policy in the Context of Climate Change Imperatives

Juni 2010 bis August 2010

In ihrer Studie "International Trade Policy in the Context of Climate Change Imperatives" für den Ausschuss für Internationalen Handel des Europäischen Parlaments (INTA) untersuchen Christiane Gerstetter, Michael Mehling und Tanja Srebotnjak das Verhältnis zwischen Handel und Klimawandel. Sie gehen der Frage nach, inwieweit die Handelspolitik zu einer Minderung der Klimaveränderung und zu einer besseren Anpassung an den Klimawandel beitragen kann.

Die Studie analysiert die Rolle der Marktliberalisierung, die Chancen und die Risiken, die sich aus derWeiterlesen

Die Finanzierung von Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen in Entwicklungsländern

Juni 2010 bis Mai 2011

Das “Urban Institute Ireland of the University College of Dublin (UCD)” führt für die Europäische Kommission ein Projekt zum Thema “Transatlantische Antworten auf globale Herausforderungen im Bereich der Energieeffizienz und der Verwendung klimafreundlicher Technologien“ durch. Als Teil des Projekts setzen sich sieben Forschungsarbeiten mit verschiedenen Aspekten von Energieeffizienz in der EU und den USA auseinander. Das Ecologic Institut trägt zu dem Projekt eine Untersuchung zur finanziellen Förderung von Energieeffizienz in Schwellenländern durch die USA und dieWeiterlesen

Landnutzungsstrategien außerhalb Schottlands

Februar 2010 bis Mai 2010

Die Entwicklung Schottlands erster Landnutzungsstrategie bietet eine richtungsweisende Möglichkeit Schottlands Landnutzung für die nächsten Generationen zu definieren und insbesondere die notwendigen Mitigations- und Adaptionsbemühungen unter dem kürzlich verabschiedeten Climate Change (Scotland) Act aus dem Jahr 2009 zu berücksichtigen. Ziel dieses Forschungsprojektes ist es, die vorliegende Erfahrungsgrundlage für Landnutzungsstrategien (oder ähnlichen Ansätzen) außerhalb Schottlands darzulegen.

Da die vorgeschlagene Landnutzungsstrategie für Schottland die ersteWeiterlesen

Transatlantische Kooperation für ganzheitliche Meerespolitik (CALAMAR)

Januar 2010 bis Juni 2011
Sowohl durch die Folgen des Klimawandels als auch durch die wachsende Nachfrage an Meeresressourcen, ist die Entwicklung ganzheitlicher meerespolitischer Ansätze zu einem wichtigen politischen Ziel in der EU und den USA geworden. Aufgrund dieser auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks vorhandenen Bereitschaft, bestehen derzeit gute Chancen, Fortschritte bei der Umsetzung einer integrierten Meerespolitik erzielen zu können. Vor diesem Hintergrund koordinierte das Ecologic Institut ein transatlantisches Projektteam, welches eine Serie von Multi-Stakeholder Workshops organisierte, welche Experten aus der EU und den USA die Möglichkeit gab Best-Practices im Bereich der integrierten Meerespolitik zu entwickeln.Weiterlesen

Seiten

Subscribe to Projects – Ecologic Institute US

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Projects – Ecologic Institute US

Click on the Keywords to only show articles with this issue, you can even combine them
(click any button to apply that issue filter, click the same button to remove the filter)
showing 31-40 of 49 results

Pages

Sustainable Oceans: Reconciling Economic Use and Protection

April 2011 to September 2013

The Dräger Foundation convenes a transatlantic conference series on "Sustainable Oceans: Reconciling Economic Use and Protection" under the High Patronage of Albert II, Sovereign Prince of Monaco. Building on the Ecologic Institute CALAMAR Dialogue on Cooperation Across the Atlantic for Marine Governance Integration, it aims to initiate a European Ocean Commission, and a joint EU-US strategy on ocean policies.

The series is conceived for three conferences in Hamburg (2011), New York City (2012), and Lisbon (2013). Ecologic Institute advises and supportsRead more

Development of a Scoring System for Assessment of Sustainable Seafood

March 2011 to August 2011

The goal of this project is to revise and streamline the scoring criteria for the Monterey Bay Aquarium’s sustainable Seafood Watch Program (SFW). The SFW, albeit not without its critics, has been successful in engaging producers and buyers in improving their practices and raising their awareness towards sourcing their fisheries and aquaculture products from sustainably managed operations.  Ecologic Institute Washington DC is helping to develop quantitative scoring mechanisms to streamline the process and make the assessments more transparent.Read more

New Market Mechanisms in a Post-2012 Climate Regime

November 2010 to November 2012

This project is about assisting the UBA with understanding the political, strategic and practical issues relating to the negotiations around emerging or "more advanced" developing economies taking on new market mechanisms in a post 2012 climate regime. The three main tasks were: 1) understanding the incentives and barriers to the transition from the CDM to new mechanisms; 2) identifying the most promising countries, sectors and/or regions for taking on new market mechanisms; and 3) interim solutions for this transition. Ecologic Institute was the project leader.

A number of proposalsRead more

I-CITE: Transforming Economies through Community

September 2010 to August 2012

The Ecologic Institute and the Atlantic Council of the United States hosted three transatlantic study tours and a policy summit as part of a civil society dialogue focused on transformation processes in three areas: agriculture and forestry; industrial redevelopment; and the energy economy. The dialogue was sponsored by the European Union's External Action Service. For each event, a small group of Americans and Europeans comprised of policymakers, opinion leaders, the media, and business from an online network of mid-career leadership professionals came together.

This networkRead more

From Oceans Policy to Observation in a Changing World

September 2010 to October 2010

The Lisbon Conference 2010 "A Unified Approach for Sustainability in a Changing World: From Ocean Policy to Observation" linked activities to support integrated governance for effective implementation of coastal management and ocean policies.  Supported by the Coastal Services Center of the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and hosted by the Luso-American Foundation, the conference focused on core indicators for coastal adaptation and ecosystems of the North Atlantic.  The Marine Policy and RADOST project teams of Ecologic Institute provided content and facilitationRead more

Analysis of the South African Renewables Initiative (SARi)

August 2010 to December 2010

The KfW Entwicklungsbank has commissioned this study to determine the feasibility of and preconditions for the South African Renewables Initiative (SARi) during the stage of its conceptualization. Special attention is to be paid to the role that the German government could play as an international funder of SARi and the implications of this support for the German government, German businesses, and the international climate change negotiations.

The project highlights the scope, development and implementation efforts of SARi, with a particular focus on the possibleRead more

International Trade Policy in the Context of Climate Change Imperatives

June 2010 to August 2010

In their policy paper "International Trade Policy in the Context of Climate Change Imperatives" for the Committee on International Trade, Christiane Gerstetter, Michael Mehling und Tanja Srebotnjak examine the relationship between trade and climate change as well as the potential of trade and trade policies to contribute to climate change mitigation and adaptation.

It presents conclusions on the impact of trade liberalisation on climate change, risks and Read more

Funding energy efficiency measures and R&D in emerging economies

June 2010 to May 2011

The Urban Institute Ireland of the University College of Dublin (UCD) is conducting a project for the European Commission entitled “Transatlantic Opportunities for Meeting Global Challenges in Energy Efficiency and Low Carbon Technology”. The project involves, inter alia, the writing of seven research papers that look at different aspects of energy efficiency in the EU and the US. The Ecologic Institute contributes a research paper on the differences between EU and US funding and funding mechanisms for energy efficiency projects in emerging economies.

Read more

Project

Land Use Strategies outside Scotland

February 2010 to May 2013

The development of Scotland's first Land Use Strategy offers a landmark opportunity to define the way Scotland's land is used for generations to come and in particular to deal with the mitigation and adaptation efforts required under the recently enacted Climate Change (Scotland) Act 2009. The aim of this research project is to set out the existing evidence base on land use strategies (or similar) outside Scotland.

Due to the novel nature of the proposed land use strategy, there is a need by the Scottish Government to identify and seek further evidence of currentRead more

Cooperation Across the Atlantic for Marine Governance Integration (CALAMAR)

January 2010 to June 2011
As the impacts of climate change and global demand for marine resources have increased, the development of an integrated, holistic marine governance framework has become a key goal for both the EU and US. Recent policy events on both sides of the Atlantic provide a window of opportunity to significantly improve marine governance in national and international waters. To this end, the Ecologic Institute led a transatlantic project team that convened a multi-stakeholder dialogue allowing experts from the EU, US and other regions to develop best practices for integrated marine management.Read more

Pages

Subscribe to Projects – Ecologic Institute US