• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Publications – Ecologic Institute US

Klicke auf ein Thema um nur Artikel mit diesem Tag anzuzeigen, du kannst auch mehrere Themen kombinieren
(klicke irgendein Button zum Filtern, klick den gleichen Button um diese Filterung zu deaktivieren)
showing 1-20 of 77 results

Seiten

Arctic Summer College Yearbook

An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development
Dieses Buch, herausgegeben von Brendan O'Donnell, Max Gruenig und Arne Riedel vom Ecologic Institut, hebt sowohl die Vielfalt der Perspektiven und Ansätze in der Arktisforschung als auch die inhärente Interdisziplinarität des Studierens und Verstehens dieser unvergleichlichen Region hervor. Die Kapitel sind in vier frei definierbare Abschnitte unterteilt, um Raum für dynamische Interpretationen und Dialoge auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Lösungen für die Probleme der Arktis zu schaffen. Von der Regierungsführung bis zur Technologie, von der wissenschaftlichen Forschung bis zu den Sozialsystemen, von der menschlichen Gesundheit bis zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung diskutieren die Autoren grundlegende Fragen und blicken dabei auf die Zukunft der Arktis. Egal, ob der Leser mit der Geschichte und Komplexität der Arktispolitik vertraut ist oder nach einer einfühlsamen Einführung in die weite Welt der Arktisforschung sucht, jeder findet auf diesen Seiten Antworten, die zu neuen Fragen und noch mehr Entdeckungen führen und damit den Grundstein für die künftige Diskussion über die Zukunft der Arktis legen.Weiterlesen

Netzwerk für junge Multiplikatoren im Umwelt- und Energiebereich (ELEEP) – Podcast-Reihe

Die Podcast-Reihe des ELEEP-Netzwerks konzentriert sich auf aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Klima- und Energiepolitik und liefert Diskussionen und Experteninterviews zu einer Reihe von drängenden Themen. Die letzten vier Episoden enthalten Einblicke aus der ELEEP-Konferenz im Juni 2017 zum Thema "Tipping Points – Finding the Energy Climate Balance". Nick Evans vom Ecologic Institut produzierte die Podcast-Reihe. Die Episoden können per Stream in der SoundCloud und über den ELEEP Network Podcast in iTunes oder Stitcher angehört werden.Weiterlesen

Green Shift to Sustainability

Co-Benefits & Impacts of Energy Transformation on Resource Industries, Trade, Growth, and Taxes
Die Staats- und Regierungschefs, die G20-Führung sollte verstehen, dass "die Energietransformation viele Nebeneffekte hat, die aber in veralteten Wirtschaftsstatistiken schlecht aussehen". Dies ist die zentrale Botschaft eines T20 Policy Briefs von 15 Experten aus 11 Think Tanks in 7 Ländern vor dem G20-Gipfel unter der Präsidentschaft von Deutschland in Hamburg im Juli 2017. T20 oder "Think 20" ist ein Netzwerk von Think Tanks aus den G20-Ländern. R. Andreas Kraemer, Gründer des Ecologic Instituts, koordinierte die Ausarbeitung dieses Policy Briefs zudem auch Max Gruenig, Präsident des Ecologic Institute US, beitrug. Der Policy Brief steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen
Publikation

Understanding the Energy Transition in Germany

Diese Broschüre informiert US-amerikanische Entscheidungsträger über die deutsche Energiewende. Brendan O’Donnell und Max Gruenig von Ecologic Institute, Washington DC definieren und erläutern die verschiedenen Phasen der deutschen Energiewende. Die Broschüre steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen

Low-carbon Energy Security from a European Perspective

Das Buch "Low-Carbon Energy Security from a European Perspective" basiert auf Forschungsergebnissen des im Rahmen des 7. Rahmenprogramms geförderten europäischen Projektes MILESECURE 2050. Es thematisiert kohlenstoffarme Energiesicherheit und Geopolitik der Energie. Max Gruenig (Präsident des Ecologic Institut US) ist einer der beiden Herausgeber des Buches. Seine Kollegen Andreas Prahl (Ecologic Institut EU), Katherine Weingartner und Brendan O'Donnell (Ecologic Institut US) trugen als Kapitelautoren zur Erstellung des Buches bei.Weiterlesen

Decarbonization of Finance

Seit mehr als einem Vierteljahrhundert arbeiten Vorreiter in Deutschland und den USA daran, eine fundamentale Transformation des Finanzsektors herbeizuführen. Dank ihrer Vorraussicht und Kreativität steht die Weltwirtschaft nun unweigerlich am Übergang von der fossilen Vergangenheit zu einer sauberen Energiezukunft. Etliche Fragen bedürfen jedoch weiterhin der Klärung: Wie können die neuen Gelegenheiten dynamisch gehebelt werden? Welche Risiken entstehen und wie können diese kontrolliert werden? Wie können Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren für Umwelt, Soziales und Governance quantifiziert und in Entscheidungsprozesse integriert werden? Und wie kommen wir zielstrebig voran in einem Umfeld von regulatorischer und politischer Unsicherheit? Unser Ziel war es, die wichtigsten Fragen als Vorbereitung weiterer Forschung und Debatten herauszuarbeiten, um so die an Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit interessierten Akteure zu befähigen, eine dynamische und nachhaltige Zukunft zu befördern.Weiterlesen

The Future of Power in a Post-carbon Society

Breaking the Carbon Cartel: How Cities are Leading the Way to a Post-Carbon Tomorrow
Das American Institute for Contemporary German Studies (AICGS) veröffentlichte einen Bericht zur Zukunft der Energie in postfossilen Gesellschaften. Max Grünig, Senior Fellow am Ecologic Institut verfasste diesen zusammen mit David Livingston.Der Policy Report liefert deutsche und amerikanische Sichtweisen zur Energiefrage im Transportsektor sowie zur Rolle post-fossiler Städte. Er ist ein Beispiel für das Engagement von AICGS, die Interessen und Politiken Deutschlands und der Vereinigten Staaten gegenüberzustellen, um gemeinsame politische Herausforderungen, Entscheidungen und Möglichkeiten zu identifizieren. Der Policy Report steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen

Cigarette Smoking Prevalence in US Counties: 1996-2012

Rauchen ist ein bedeutender Risikofaktor für Sterblichkeit und vorzeitige Todesfälle in den USA, jedoch werden Daten bezüglich des Tabakkonsums für gewöhnlich nur auf nationaler Ebene erhoben, so dass Aktionen auf lokaler Ebene erschwert werden. Tanja Srebotnjak vom Ecologic Institut und weitere Autoren veröffentlichen nun eine Untersuchung zum Tabakkonsum auf Bezirksebene: Jene legt dar, wo der Griff zur Zigarette weiterhin hoch ist und damit wenig Fortschritte gemacht wurden. Die Erhebungen helfen, bessere Strategien auf lokaler und nationaler Ebene zu entwickeln, um die Belastungen durch Rauchen weiterhin zu verringern.Weiterlesen

Gap Analysis Report

Preparatory Action, Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of Development of the Arctic
Der neue "Gap Analysis Report" zeigt den dringenden Bedarf an Informationsaustausch und Kommunikation zwischen den zentralen Akteuren in der Arktis auf. Dieser Bericht soll langfristiges Verzeichnis für spezifische Politikempfehlungen sein und zugleich als Informationspool für alle arktischen Entscheidungsträger dienen. Er wurde innerhalb des Projekts "Strategische Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung der Entwicklung der Arktis" erstellt, das von der Europäischen Kommission gefördert wird. Der "Gap Analysis Report" wird vom Ecologic Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit der European Science Foundation, National Research Council of Italy, Sámi Education Institute, und Tromsø Centre for Remote Sensing herausgegeben. Er steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen

How Crisis-resistant and Competitive are Europe's Eco-Industries?

Dieses Kurzgutachten, das das Ecologic Institut für die Grünen-Fraktion im Europäischen Parlament erstellte, untersucht die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit europäischer Umwelt-Industrien. Die Analyse kommt zu dem Ergebnis, dass die Umwelt-Industrien ein Wachstumsmotor waren, gerade in den Jahren in denen andere Teile des produzierenden Gewerbes ihre Produktion drosseln mussten. Das Kurzgutachten steht als Download zur Verfügung.



Weiterlesen

Ecologic Institut: Wissenschaft und Forschung für eine nachhaltige Welt

In unserer Broschüre "Wissenschaft und Forschung für eine nachhaltige Welt" stellen wir Ihnen das Ecologic Institut als eine transdisziplinäre Forschungsorganisation vor. Wir betreiben schwerpunktmäßig Umweltforschung und bearbeiten relevante gesellschaftspolitische Fragestellungen der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Wir bringen neue Erkenntnisse in die Umweltpolitik ein. Lernen Sie unsere Forschungsprojekte, Hochschulkooperationen und Lehraufträge kennen. Die Broschüre steht als Download zur Verfügung.Weiterlesen

Arctic Marine Governance

Opportunities for Transatlantic Cooperation
Die Arktis spielt nicht nur eine wichtige Rolle bei der Regulation des Weltklimas, sie ist auch selber stark vom Klimawandel betroffen. Das neu erschienene Buch "Arctic Marine Governance: Opportunities for Transatlantic Cooperation" untersucht bedeutende arktische Veränderungen und Herausforderungen der letzten Jahre. Herausgegeben wird es von Elizabeth Tedsen, Sandra Cavalieri, und R. Andreas Kraemer. Es befasst sich mit der aktuellen Umwelt-Governance in der marinen Arktis, untersucht, wie politische Rahmenbedingungen an neue Herausforderungen angepasst werden können und prüft Möglichkeiten für die Zusammenarbeit von EU und USA.Weiterlesen

Seiten

Subscribe to Publications – Ecologic Institute US

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Publications – Ecologic Institute US

Click on the Keywords to only show articles with this issue, you can even combine them
(click any button to apply that issue filter, click the same button to remove the filter)
showing 1-20 of 74 results

Pages

The Emerging Leaders in Environmental and Energy Policy Network – Podcast Series

The ELEEP Network podcast series focuses on current developments in climate and energy policy on both sides of the Atlantic, delivering in-depth discussion and expert interviews on a range of pressing topics. The latest four episodes feature insights from the June 2017 ELEEP conference on "Tipping Points - Finding the Energy Climate Balance," including keynote talks by some of the brightest minds in the field. Ecologic Institute's Nick Evans produced the podcast series. The episodes can be listened to via stream on SoundCloud and by subscribing to the ELEEP Network podcast on iTunes or Stitcher.Read more

Green Shift to Sustainability

Co-Benefits & Impacts of Energy Transformation on Resource Industries, Trade, Growth, and Taxes

The Heads of State and Government, the G20 Leaders should understand that "Energy Transformation has many Co-Benefits but Looks Bad in Outdated Economic Statistics". This is the key message of a T20 Policy Brief presented by 15 Experts in 11 Think Tanks in 7 countries ahead of the G20 Summit under the Presidency of Germany in Hamburg in July 2017. T20 or "Think 20" is a network of think tanks in the G20 countries. Ecologic Institute founder R. Andreas Kraemer coordinated the drafting, and Max Gruenig, President of Ecologic Institute US contributed. The Policy Brief is available for download.Read more

Publication

Understanding the Energy Transition in Germany

This brochure is directed to US policy decision makers and provides information on the German energy transition. In the document Brendan O'Donnell and Max Gruenig of Ecologic Institute, Washington DC define and explain the different phases of the German energy transition. The brochure is available for download.Read more

Low-carbon Energy Security from a European Perspective

This book draws on the European Commission funded project MILESECURE-2050. It considers low-carbon energy security and energy geopolitics in Europe with a focus on four thematic clusters: challenging the energy security paradigm; climate change and energy security objectives (the components of a secure and low-carbon energy system); energy security in a geopolitical perspective, as it relates to economics, resource competition, and availability; and the influence of large scale renewable energy projects on energy security and shifting geopolitical alliances. Max Gruenig served as one of the book's editors and further researchers, Andreas Prahl, Katherine Weingartner and Brendan O'Donnell, were chapter authors.Read more

Decarbonization of Finance

For more than a quarter century, cutting-edge professionals in Germany and the United States have laid the foundation for a fundamental transformation of the financial industry. Due to their foresight and creativity, the world economy is poised to transition from a fossil fuel-oriented past to a sustainable, clean energy future. Several questions, however, still require answers. How can new opportunities be dynamically leveraged? What new risks are involved and how can they be managed? How best can ESG and sustainability indicators be quantified and integrated into the decision making process? And how do we move forward confidently amidst regulatory and policy uncertainty? Our goal was to determine what questions we should be asking as we set the stage for further research and dialogue, putting those of us committed to protecting the environment and the expansion of prosperity in position to create a dynamic and sustainable future.Read more

The Future of Power in a Post-carbon Society

Breaking the Carbon Cartel: How Cities are Leading the Way to a Post-Carbon Tomorrow
The American Institute for Contemporary German Studies (AICGS) at Johns Hopkins University released a report detailing the future of power in a post-carbon society. Max Grünig, from Ecologic Institute co-authored the report with David Livingston. This Policy Report offers German and American perspectives on the emerging fuel challenges in the transportation sector and the importance of post-carbon cities. It is an example of AICGS' commitment to comparing and contrasting the interests and policies of Germany and the United States in an effort to identify common policy challenges, choices and opportunities. The report is available for download.Read more

Cigarette Smoking Prevalence in US Counties: 1996-2012

Cigarette smoking is a leading risk factor for morbidity and premature mortality in the United States, yet information about smoking prevalence and trends is not routinely available below the state level, impeding local-level action. Tanja Srebotnjak of Ecologic Institute and co-authors now publish county-level estimates of cigarette smoking prevalence: These provide a unique opportunity to assess where prevalence remains high and where progress has been slow. The estimates provide the data needed to better develop and implement strategies at a local and at a state level to further reduce the burden imposed by cigarette smoking.Read more

Gap Analysis Report

Preparatory Action, Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of Development of the Arctic
A new report on Arctic information and communication needs ("Gap Analysis Report") has been released as part of the Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of development of the Arctic Preparatory Action project, funded by DG Environment of the European Commission. The Gap Analysis Report was led by Ecologic Institute in partnership with the European Science Foundation, National Research Council of Italy, Sámi Education Institute, and Tromsø Centre for Remote Sensing. The report is available for download. Read more

Ecologic Institute: Science and Policy for a Sustainable World

In our brochure "Ecologic Institute: Science and Policy for a Sustainable World" (German: "Wissenschaft und Forschung für eine nachhaltige Welt“), we introduce Ecologic Institute as a transdisciplinary research organization. We focus on environmental research and address relevant sociopolitical questions of sustainability research. We bring new insights into environmental policy. Discover our research projects, academic collaborations, and teaching activities. Our new brochure is available for download. Read more

Arctic Marine Governance

Opportunities for Transatlantic Cooperation
The Arctic region not only plays an important role in regulating the world's climate, but is also highly affected by climate change. A new book edited by Ecologic Institute's Elizabeth Tedsen, Sandra Cavalieri, and R. Andreas Kraemer addresses the significant changes and developments the Arctic has undergone in the recent years. "Arctic Marine Governance: Opportunities for Transatlantic Cooperation" looks at the current governance environment in the marine Arctic, considers how policy frameworks can adapt to address new challenges in the region, and examines opportunities for cooperation between the European Union and the United States. Read more
Publication

Emissions Trading in the US

Work in Progress on the Federal Level?
Riedel, Arne and Dominic Marcellino 2013: "Emissions Trading in the US: Work in Progress on the Federal Level?". Carbon and Climate Law Review, Vol. 2013, No. 3, 213-215.



Read more

Pages

Subscribe to Publications – Ecologic Institute US