Direkt zum Inhalt

A Think Piece on Achieving Europe's Goals at a Time of Economic Crisis

Print PDF

A Think Piece on Achieving Europe's Goals at a Time of Economic Crisis

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Hudson, Christian 2015: A Think Piece on Achieving Europe's Goals at a Time of Economic Crisis. Ecologic Institut, Berlin.

Dieses Think Piece bündelt Beweisstücke bezüglich des Zustands der Wirtschaft, der Gesellschaft und der Umwelt, um zu zeigen, dass die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten Europas, zeitgleich in Angriff genommen werden müssen. Um die Richtung des Marktbedarfs zu ändern, müssen politische Veränderungen vorgenommen werden. Christian Hudson, der Autor dieses Think Pieces, ist Senior Fellow bei Ecologic Institut.

Das Think Piece überzeugt, dass die Konkurrenzfähigkeit Europas und seine Fähigkeit politische Stabilität und soziale Ziele zu erreichen, durch Trägheit in den politischen Rahmenbedingungen hervorgerufen werden. Dies beeinträchtigt die Auszeichnungen für Innovationen und schwächt die Nachfrage im EU-Binnenmarkt. Währenddessen werden unzureichende Marktsignale an Firmen gegeben Europas gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen zu bewältigen, wie z.B. der Klimawandel und der demografische Wandel.

Nimmt man die Beweise der OECD zur Hand und mustert man dabei die geänderte politische Ökonomie der EU, die Postfinanzkrise als auch die Ankunft der Juncker Kommission, wird im Paper vorgeschlagen eine institutionelle Veränderung anzugehen, die den notwendigen politischen Rahmen liefert, um eine erfolgreiche und stabile EU zu ermöglichen. Die Konditionen hierfür sind momentan richtig, um die systemische Strategieänderung anzugehen. Tatsächlich mag das die einzige Lösung für die aktuelle politische und ökonomische Disharmonie in großen Teilen der EU sein. Der Artikel [pdf, 514 KB, Englisch] steht als Download bereit.

"Es gibt Anhaltspunkte dafür, dass der Weg zum nachhaltigen und integrativen Wachstum in einem energischen politischen Handeln in allen Politikbereichen, die im Zuständigkeitsbereichs der EU vorzufinden sind, liegt."

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Christian Hudson
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
39 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Nachhaltigkeit, Think Piece, Stabilität, Entwicklung
EU, Europäische Union

Skip to main content

A Think Piece on Achieving Europe's Goals at a Time of Economic Crisis

Print PDF

A Think Piece on Achieving Europe's Goals at a Time of Economic Crisis

Publication
Citation

Hudson, Christian 2015: A Think Piece on Achieving Europe's Goals at a Time of Economic Crisis. Ecologic Institute, Berlin.

This think piece draws together evidence on the state of the economy, society and the environment to show that the EU's multiple challenges may be tackled simultaneously by the use of policy changes to change the direction of market demand. Christian Hudson, the author of this document is Senior Fellow at Ecologic Institute.

The piece convincingly argues that EU competitiveness and its ability to achieve political stability and social goals are held back by inertia in the policy framework. This reduces the rewards for innovation and weakens demand in the EU's domestic market, whilst giving insufficient market signals for firms to tackle Europe's societal challenges – like climate change and demographic change.

Using evidence from the OECD, and looking at the changed EU political economy, post-financial crisis and the arrival of the Juncker Commission, the piece suggests the institutional changes which can deliver the policy framework needed for a prosperous EU. It argues that the conditions are now right for systemic policy change. Indeed, this may be the only solution to the current political and economic discord in much of the EU. The document [pdf, 514 KB, English] is available for download.

"There is evidence to suggest that the route to lasting, inclusive growth lies in bolder policy action across the full range of policy areas under the EU's competence, rather than less."

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Christian Hudson
Published by
Year
Dimension
39 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
sustainability, think piece, development,
EU, European Union