Direkt zum Inhalt

Delivering and Enforcing the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking

Print PDF

Delivering and Enforcing the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking

Workshop Proceedings

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Smith, Lucy; Stephan Sina; Mia Pantzar (2016): Delivering and Enforcing the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking. Workshop Proceedings for the ENVI Committee, Brussels.

Der Aktionsplan der EU zur Bekämpfung des illegalen Artenhandels, den die Europäische Kommission am 26. Februar verabschiedete, ist die neueste Initiative der EU zur Bekämpfung der Artenschutzkriminalität. Am 8. September 2016 führte der Ausschuss für Umweltfragen, Gesundheit und Lebensmittelsicherheit (ENVI) des Europäischen Parlaments einen Workshop zu Fragen der Umsetzung des Aktionsplans in Brüssel durch. Mit Unterstützung des Institute for European Environmental Policy (IEEP) organisierte das Ecologic Institut diesen Workshop und verfasste einen Bericht. Der Bericht fasst die Präsentationen und Diskussionen zusammen und enthält das Programm, die Power-Point-Präsentationen und Lebensläufe der beteiligten Experten, sowie eine Zusammenfassung.

Der Aktionsplan der EU zur Bekämpfung des illegalen Artenhandels enthält 32 Maßnahmen, die von Institutionen der EU und/oder den Mitgliedstaaten zwischen 2016 und 2020 ergriffen werden müssen, und die auf drei Schwerpunkten beruhen:

  1. Unterbindung des illegalen Artenhandels und Bekämpfung seiner Ursachen,
  2. Durchführung und Durchsetzung bestehender Vorschriften und wirksamere Bekämpfung der organisierten Artenschutzkriminalität
  3. Stärkung der globalen Partnerschaft der Ursprungs-, Zielmarkt- und Transitländer gegen den illegalen Artenhandel

Das Ziel des Workshops bestand darin, den Mitgliedern des Umweltausschusses Hintergrundinformationen für ihren eigenen Bericht zum Aktionsplan zu vermitteln, und mit Experten über Herausforderungen bei der Umsetzung des Plans zu debattieren. Gastgeberin war Catherine Bearder, MEP (ALDE Fraktion), die den Bericht des Umweltausschusses entwarf, der zur Resolution des Europäischen Parlaments vom 26. November 2016 zum Aktionsplan der EU führte. Vorträge hielten Helge Elisabeth Zeitler (KOM, GD Umwelt), Richard Smithers (Ricardo-AEA), Katalin Kecse-Nagy (TRAFFIC), Grant Miller (UK Border Police), José Antonio Alfaro Moreno and Andreas Mausolf (Europol), Thierry Lucas (UNEP), und Tanya Wyatt (Universität Northumbria).

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Lucy Olivia Smith
Mia Pantzar (IEEP)
Finanzierung
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
81 S.
ISBN
978-92-846-0390-9 (paper), 978-92-846-0391-6 (pdf)
DOI
10.2861/512106 (paper), 10.2861/54345 (pdf)
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
EU-Aktionsplan zur Bekämpfung des illegalen Artenhandels, Europäisches Parlament, Umweltausschuss, Artenschutzkriminalität, illegaler Handel mit gefährdeten Arten, Prävention, Rechtsvollzug, internationale Zusammenarbeit, CITES, EU-Handelsvorschriften
Europa

Skip to main content

Delivering and Enforcing the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking

Print PDF

Delivering and Enforcing the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking

Workshop Proceedings

Publication
Citation

Smith, Lucy; Stephan Sina; Mia Pantzar (2016): Delivering and Enforcing the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking. Workshop Proceedings for the ENVI Committee, Brussels.

The EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking adopted by the European Commission on 26 February 2016 is the most recent EU initiative to tackle wildlife crime. On 8 September 2016, the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety of the European Parliament (ENVI) held a workshop in Brussels on 'Delivering and enforcing the EU Action Plan Against Wildlife Trafficking'. With support from the Institute for European Environmental Policy (IEEP), Ecologic Institute organized the workshop and compiled the proceedings for this publication. The proceedings summarize the presentations and discussions, and include the workshop agenda, the presentation slides and short biographies of the experts, as well as an executive summary.

The EU Action Plan comprises 32 measures to be taken by EU institutions and/or Member States between 2016 and 2020, based on three priorities:

  1. Preventing wildlife trafficking and addressing its root causes
  2. Implementing and enforcing existing rules and combating organised wildlife crime more effectively
  3. Strengthening the global partnership of source, consumer and transit countries against wildlife trafficking

The objective of the workshop was to provide background information on the EU Action Plan to the Members of the ENVI Committee in view of the Committee's own-initiative report on the Plan, and to open a debate on implementation challenges with experts. The workshop was hosted by Ms Catherine Bearder, MEP (ALDE Group), who drafted the ENVI report leading to the European Parliament's resolution of 26 November 2016 on the Action Plan. Presentations were held by Helge Elisabeth Zeitler (COM, DG ENVI), Richard Smithers (Ricardo-AEA), Katalin Kecse-Nagy (TRAFFIC), Grant Miller (UK Border Police), José Antonio Alfaro Moreno and Andreas Mausolf (Europol), Thierry Lucas (UNEP), and Tanya Wyatt (Northumbria University).

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Lucy Olivia Smith
Mia Pantzar (IEEP)
Funding
Published by
Year
Dimension
81 pp.
ISBN
978-92-846-0390-9 (paper), 978-92-846-0391-6 (pdf)
DOI
10.2861/512106 (paper), 10.2861/54345 (pdf)
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking, European Parliament, ENVI Committee, wildlife crime, illegal wildlife trade, wildlife trafficking, prevention, law enforcement, global partnership, CITES, EU trade regulations
Europe