Direkt zum Inhalt

Multilevel Governance for Drought Management in Flanders

Print PDF

Multilevel Governance for Drought Management in Flanders

Using a Centralized and Data Driven Approach

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Tröltzsch, Jenny 2019: Multilevel Governance for Drought Management in Flanders. Using a Centralized and Data Driven Approach. In: La Jeunesse, Isabelle and Corinne Larrue (eds.): Facing Hydrometeorological Extreme Events: A Governance Issue. John Wiley & Sons: Hoboken, New Jersey. 219-232.

Das Buch "Facing hydrometeorological extremes: a governance issue" sammelt Felduntersuchungen aus mehreren EU-Forschungsprojekten zu hydrometeorologischen Extremereignissen und stellt erfolgreiche Beispiele einer Multi-Level-Governance als Reaktion auf diese Ereignisse vor. Bei drei Kapiteln, die den regulatorischen Rahmen zusammenfassen und sich auf spezifische Fallstudien konzentrieren, waren WissenschaftlerInnen des Ecologic Instituts federführend beteiligt. Im dritten Kapitel stellt Jenny Tröltzsch eine Zusammenfassung der Governance-Analyse von Dürreproblemen in der belgischen Region Flandern vor.

Wasserknappheit und Dürren könnten in Zukunft zu Kipppunkten führen. Die Süßwassernutzung ist eine der neun planetarischen Grenzen, die Rockström und Steffen 2009 identifiziert haben. Das Überschreiten dieser Grenze wird einen abrupten Umweltwandel mit verheerenden Folgen für die Menschheit zur Folge haben. Dementsprechend muss die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Wassermanagements erhöht werden. Die Anwendung von Governance-Forschungsergebnissen kann dazu beitragen, bisher ungenutzte Potenziale zur Verbesserung der Managementpraxis freizusetzen.

Politische EntscheidungsträgerInnen werden gezwungen sein, sich häufiger und intensiver als je zuvor mit klimabedingten Katastrophen auseinanderzusetzen. In diesem Sinne stellt das Buch für diese eine nützliche Hilfestellung dar. Die gründliche Auseinandersetzung mit sozial-ökologischen Systemen und Multi-Level-Governance ist auch für Wissenschaft und Forschung interessant. WissenschaftlerInnen des Ecologic Instituts stellen relevante Fallstudien und die europäische politische Landschaft im Bereich der Wasserknappheit vor.

"Facing hydrometeorological extremes: a governance issue" nimmt eine innovative Perspektive ein. Es kombiniert wissenschaftliche und politikbezogene Erkenntnisse über klimabedingte Phänomene und zeigt Erfolgsgeschichten aus der Praxis der Multi-Level-Governance in hydrometeorologischen Notfällen auf. Die Analysen von Überschwemmungen, Dürren und Küstenstürmen konzentrieren sich auf die beteiligten AkteurInnen und die im Entscheidungsprozess mobilisierten Ressourcen.

Das Buch zeichnet sich durch einen innovativen "Multihazard"-Ansatz aus. Es kombiniert Ergebnisse aus der Politik-, Governance- und Feldforschung. Eine weitere Besonderheit ist die Vielfalt der Fallstudien, die veranschaulichen, wie sich diese Strategien über verschiedene Kontexte und Größenordnungen des Entscheidungsprozesses auswirken.

Das Buch beginnt mit einer kurzen Zusammenfassung der hydrometeorologischen Extremereignisse und ihrer gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen. Anschließend werden verschiedene Strategien als Reaktion auf hydrometeorologische Extremereignisse vorgestellt. Die Beiträge zeigen, wie sich Gesellschaften organisieren, um den durch den Klimawandel verursachten Phänomenen zu begegnen. Besonderes Augenmerk gilt der Integration des Risikomanagements in Governance-Systeme und in das Regierungshandeln.

Kontakt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Veröffentlicht in
Facing hydrometeorological extremes: a governance issue
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
14 S.
ISBN
9781119383543 (print), 9781119383567 (online)
DOI
Schlüsselwörter
Europa, Flandern, Belgien
Analyse

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Multilevel Governance for Drought Management in Flanders

Publication

Multilevel Governance for Drought Management in Flanders

Using a Centralized and Data Driven Approach

The book "Facing hydrometeorological extremes: a governance issue" collects field investigation from several EU research projects on hydrometeorological extreme events and the successful examples of multilevel governance in response to them. Scientists from Ecologic Institute led or contributed on three book chapters, summarizing the regulatory framework as well as focusing on specific case studies. In Chapter III Jenny Tröltzsch presents a summary of the governance analysis of drought‐related issues in the Flanders region of Belgium.

Water scarcity and droughts could hit tipping points of permanent stress in the future. Freshwater use is one of the nine Planetary Boundaries detected by Rockström and Steffen in 2009. Transgressing this boundary will bring about abrupt environmental change, with disastrous consequences for humanity. Accordingly, water management has to be made more resilient. The application of governance research findings may help to unleash so far untapped potential to improve management practice.

Policy makers will be forced to face climate change-induced disasters at greater frequency and intensity than ever before. In this sense, the book constitutes a useful governance tool. Its thorough account of socio-ecological systems and multilevel governance makes interesting reading for scientists and researchers as well. Fellows from Ecologic Institute presented relevant case studies and introduced the European political landscape on water scarcity policies.

"Facing hydrometeorological extremes: a governance issue" takes an innovative perspective. It effectively combines scientific and policy-related knowledge on climate-change induced phenomena. The narrative showcases real-life success stories of multilevel governance in hydrometeorological emergencies. Accurate stories of floods, droughts and coastal storms focus on the actors involved and the resources mobilized in the decision-making process.
The book features an innovative “multi-hazards” approach. It consistently mixespolicy, governance and field investigations’ outputs. Another of its peculiarities is the diversity of case studies, which illustrate how these strategies play out over different contexts and scales of the decision-making processes.

The book starts with a short summary of hydrometeorological extreme events and their effects on society . It then presents various fruitful strategies in reaction to hydrometeorological extreme events. These stories highlight how societies are organizing themselves to face climate-change induced phenomena. Particular attention is devoted tothe integration of risk management in governance and public policy schemes.


Citation

Tröltzsch, Jenny 2019: Multilevel Governance for Drought Management in Flanders. Using a Centralized and Data Driven Approach. In: La Jeunesse, Isabelle and Corinne Larrue (eds.): Facing Hydrometeorological Extreme Events: A Governance Issue. John Wiley & Sons: Hoboken, New Jersey. 219-232 pp.

Language
English
Author(s)
Publisher
Year
2019
ISBN
9781119383543 (print), 9781119383567 (online)
Dimension
14 pp.
Keywords
Europe, Flanders, Belgium, analysis