Direkt zum Inhalt

Grenzüberschreitendes Flussgebietsmanagement in Usbekistan

Grenzüberschreitendes Flussgebietsmanagement in Usbekistan
Print

Grenzüberschreitendes Flussgebietsmanagement in Usbekistan

News

Nicole Kranz und Antje Vorwerk von Ecologic besuchten im Mai 2006 das Einzugsgebiet des Amudarya in Usbekistan. Das Hauptforschungsinteresse galt dem Informationsaustausch beim grenzüberschreitenden Flussgebietsmanagement sowie der Koordination internationaler Geberorganisationen im Amudarya Einzugsgebiet bei der Unterstützung einer regionalen Wassermanagementstrategie. Zusammen mit dem Tashkent Intitute for Irrigation and Agricultural Mechanisation (TIIM) wurde in Urgench ein Workshop zu Informationsaustausch im grenzüberschreitenden Flussgebietsmanagement veranstaltet. Dazu reisten Fachkräfte und Wissenschaftler aus den drei wichtigsten Anrainerstaaten Usbekistan, Tajikistan und Turkmenistan im Amudarya Flussgebiet an.

Hintergrund

Die Amudarya Fallstudie in Zentralasien ist eines von drei Testforschungsgebieten für den Forschungsschwerpunkt „Grenzüberschreitendes Flussgebietsmanagement“ des Arbeitspakets 1.3 innerhalb des Projektes: Neue Ansätze für ein nachhaltiges Wasserresourcenmanagement (NeWater). Weitere Fallstudiengebiete in diesem Arbeitspaket sind der Orange im südlichen Afrika sowie der Rhein in Westeuropa.

Forschungsaktivitäten

Die Forschungsreise von Ecologic steht im Zusammenhang mit zahlreichen weiteren Aktivitäten. Erste Konsultationen im Juni 2005 mit Stakeholdern aus Wasserwirtschaft und anwendungsorientierter Wissenschaft ergaben im wesentlichen zwei Forschungsschwerpunkte für das Arbeitspaket 1.3 im Amudarya Einzugsgebiet:

  • die Bedeutung eines effektiven Informationsaustausches in der Wasserwirtschaft,
  • die Koordination von Beiträgen Internationaler Geldgeberorganisationen bei der Unterstützung einer regionalen Strategien für das Wassermanagement.

Auf der Basis intensiver Literaturauswertung ist im August 2005 ein erstes Hintergrundpapier zur aktuellen Praxis im grenzüberschreitenden Flussgebietsmanagement im Amudarya entstanden, welches die beiden genannten Forschungsfragen eingehender untersucht. Dieser Bericht lieferte eine gute Grundlage für weiteren Arbeiten mit verschiedenen Stakeholder-Gruppen am Amudarya.

Eduard Interwies (Ecologic) diskutierte und konkretisierte diese Themen mit relevanten Stakeholdern in zwei separaten Workshops im Oktober 2005 in Taschkent, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Taschkenter Institut für Bewässerung und landwirtschaftliche Mechanisierung (TIIM) durchgeführt wurden.

Der Aufenthalt von Nicole Kranz und Antje Vorwerk im Mai 2006 galt der praktischen Überprüfung der bis dahin gewonnenen Erkenntnisse, ersten Schritten bei der empirischen Bearbeitung der identifizierten Forschungsfragen, sowie der Schaffung konstruktiver Arbeitsbeziehungen und Synergien sowohl mit den lokalen zentralasiatischen Partnern, als auch mit Mitarbeitern aus anderen NeWater-Arbeitspaketen, die sich zeitgleich in Usbekistan aufhielten.

Neben gemeinsamen Aktivitäten mit den NeWater-Partnern, die eine Geländeexkursion an den Amudarya und einen internen Workshop mit einschlossen, konzentrierte sich die Arbeit von Ecologic auf folgende Punkte:

  • Experteninterviews mit Vertretern Internationaler Geberorganisationen;
  • Experteninterviews mit Vertretern wissenschaftlicher Institutionen und Wasserexperten aus dem Amudarya Einzugsgebiet;
  • Durchführung eines Workshops in Urgench (Usbekistan) zum Thema Informationsaustausch im Flussgebietsmanagement mit Wissenschaftlern aus Tajikistan, Turkmenistan und Usbekistan.

Ergebnisse

Anhand der Experteninterviews ist es gelungen ein vertieftes Verständnis für die tatsächliche Situation des grenzüberschreitenden Flussgebietsmanagements am Amudarya zu erlangen. Während die vorhergehende Literaturauswertung zwar wichtiges Hintergrundwissen liefern konnte, gelang es erst durch die persönlichen Gespräche mit den relevanten Experten auch sensitive Fragen in Zentralasien besser einschätzen und beurteilen zu können.

Im Bereich Informationsmanagement konnte mit der Durchführung des internationalen Workshops noch wesentlich mehr erreicht werden. Die interaktiven Diskussionen in den Arbeitsgruppen erbrachten eine weitaus vielschichtigere Situationsanalyse, als Einzelgespräche dies ermöglichen könnten. Darüber hinaus bot der Workshop die Chance, mit den notwendigen Stakeholderprozessen zu beginnen. Die Diskussionen in den Arbeitsgruppen und im Plenum ermöglichten es, ein gegenseitiges Problemverständnis zu entwickeln und gemeinsam erste Lösungsansätze zu suchen.

Die Gespräche mit Vertretern internationaler Geldgeberorganisationen ergaben einen aktuellen Überblick über die derzeitigen Ansätze der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in Zentralasien im Wassersektor. Darüber hinaus konnten in den Gesprächen Möglichkeiten für zukünftige Kooperationen von NeWater und Geberorganisationen identifiziert werden. Diese Optionen werden im Verlauf der kommenden Aktivitäten weiter konkretisiert werden.

Ausblick

Die Ergebnisse der Aktivitäten im Mai 2006 sind in einem internen Bericht zusammengefasst, der mit den Stakeholdern gemeinsam diskutiert wird. In weiteren Aktivitäten Ecologics im Amudarya Flussgebiet werden die Gespräche mit den Partnern intensiviert und die im Oktober 2005 und Mai 2006 begonnen grenzüberschreitenden Stakeholderprozesse fortgesetzt.

Schlüsselwörter

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Transboundary river basin management in Uzbekistan

News

Transboundary river basin management in Uzbekistan

Nicole Kranz and Antje Vorwerk of Ecologic paid a visit to the Amudarya Basin in Uzbekistan in May 2006. Main research interests were the information exchange in transboundary river basin management and the co-ordination of international donor organisations in their support for regional water management strategies in the Amudarya Basin. A central event during this trip was the ‘Workshop on Information Exchange in Transboundary River Basins’, held in Urgench, Uzbekistan, organised in co-operation with the Tashkent Intitute for Irrigation and Agricultural Mechanisation (TIIM). Experts and scientists from the three main riparian states of the Amudarya –Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan - participated in this international workshop.

Background

Newater logoThe Amudarya case study in Central Asia constitutes one of the three research test cases for the research focus “Transboundary River Basin Management” of work package (WP) 1.3 of the project: New approaches to adaptive water management under uncertainty (NeWater). Other case studies in this WP are the Orange in southern Africa and the Rhine in Western Europe.

Research Activities

Ecologic's research trip is part of a series of activities. In June 2005, first consultations with key-stakeholders in water management and applied science resulted in two main research foci for WP1.3 in the Amudarya Basin:

  • The role of effective information exchange in RBMP;
  • The modes of co-operation and co-ordination of international donor organisations in supporting a regional water management strategy.

A background paper on current practices in transboundary river basin management in the Amudarya was completed in August 2005, on the basis of an extensive literature review. As a first approach, this paper addressed both of the two research areas identified, thus providing a good starting point for further activities involving stakeholders.

In October 2005, Eduard Interwies (Ecologic) discussed and sharpened these topics with the relevant key-stakeholders in two separate workshops, organised in co-operation with the Tashkent Institute of Irrigation and Agricultural Mechanisation (TIIM) in Tashkent.

Antje Vorwerk & Nicole Kranz
Antje Vorwerk and Nicole Kranz on the bank
of the Amudarya near Urgench/Uzbekistan

The research of Nicole Kranz and Antje Vorwerk focussed on the practical verification of the insights obtained so far, the first steps towards the empirical examination of the identified research foci, as well as the build-up of effective working relationships and synergies with both the local Central Asian partners and the team members of other NeWater work packages (also present in Usbekistan at the time).

Newater Team Amudarya
The NeWater team for the Amudarya
case study in Khiva/Uzbekistan

Besides joint activities with NeWater partners, which included a field trip to the Amudarya and an internal NeWater workshop, the work of Ecologic focussed on the following activities:

  • In-depth interviews with representatives of major donor organisations,
  • In-depth interviews with representatives of scientific institutions in the Amudarya Basin,
  • Workshop on information exchange and management in transboundary Water Management with scientists and water management experts from Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

Results

The expert interviews provided a more profound unterstanding of the actual on-the-ground situation regarding transboundary river basin management. Although the literature review generated important background knowledge, its results had been rather limited. It was only through the face-to-face discussions with relevant experts that it was also possible to better understand sensitive issues in Central Asia related to the study subject.

In the context of information exchange and management, great progress was achieved by conducting the international workshop. The interactive discussions in the working groups during the workshop resulted in analyses of the situation that were much more complex than those that could be achieved through individual interviews. In addition, the workshop offered the opportunity to start with actual stakeholder interactions in this field, resulting in first steps towards a common understanding of the most pressing issues, as well as the development of first approaches to possible joint solutions.

workshop participants
Antje Vorwerk in discussion with participants of the
workshop on information exchange in Urgench

The discussions with representatives of international donor organisations provided an overview of the current status of development in the water sector in Central Asia. In addition options for future co-operation between NeWater and donor organisations were identified. These options will be further developed under the upcoming activities.

Outlook

The outcomes of the May activities are summed up in an internal report which will be discussed with the stakeholders involved, leading to an in-depth assessement of the situation based on empirical research. Future Ecologic field trips to Central Asia and the river basin will continue the stakeholder processes and discussions initiated with the October 2005 and May 2006 activities.