Direkt zum Inhalt

Why the EU Recovery and Resilience Facility Must Prioritise Investments in Building Renovation

 
recovery-buildings

Ecologic Institute

Print PDF

Why the EU Recovery and Resilience Facility Must Prioritise Investments in Building Renovation

A short think piece

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Velten, Eike Karola und Ricarda Faber 2020: Why the EU Recovery and Resilience Facility must prioritise investments in building renovation. A short think piece. Berlin: Ecologic Institut.

Die Modernisierung des Europäischen Gebäudebestands ist unerlässlich, um die beiden Ziele des Klimaschutzes und der grünen Erholung zu erreichen. Der Gebäudesektor ist für 27 % der gesamten Treibhausgasemissionen (THG) und für 36 % der energiebedingten THG-Emissionen verantwortlich, wenn man die direkten und indirekten THG-Emissionen betrachtet. Laut der Europäischen Kommission muss die Renovierungsrate von Gebäuden verdoppelt werden, um zu der bis 2030 angestrebten Emissionsreduzierung von 55 % beizutragen - und dies wiederum ist entscheidend, um bis 2050 klimaneutral zu werden.

In der Zwischenzeit sind energetische Sanierungen ein wichtiger Motor für einen fairen und nachhaltigen Aufschwung: Die Internationale Energieagentur (IEA) und das Buildings Performance Institute Europe (BPIE) prognostizieren beide etwa 18.000 Arbeitsplätze pro investierte Milliarde Euro. Die Verbesserung der Qualität unseres Gebäudebestands ist ebenso wichtig, um gegen Innenluftqualität und Energiearmut vorzugehen: Derzeit können sich etwa 34 Millionen Haushalte ihre Energierechnungen nicht leisten.

Diese Studie spricht sich dafür aus, einen Mindestanteil der „Recovery and Resilience Facility“ (RRF) für die Finanzierung gründlicher Gebäudesanierungen vorzusehen. Vor dem Hintergrund der Verpflichtungen der EU Wiederaufbaupläne und der Anforderung 37 % der Zuschüsse und Darlehen im Rahmen der „Recovery and Resllience Facility“ für klimabezogene Investitionen auszugeben, besteht die von uns empfohlene Methode darin, die Mittel der RRF entsprechend dem Anteil des Gebäudesektors an den gesamten THG-Emissionen zuzuweisen. Dies entspricht mindestens 54,5 Milliarden EUR an Zuschüssen und Darlehen in der gesamten EU. Die vollständigen Ergebnisse sind im Bericht nachlesbar.

Diese Studie wurde von der Europäischen Klimastiftung (ECF) und der ROCKWOOL-Gruppe in Auftrag gegeben, um eine Grundlage für die Diskussion und das Engagement zwischen Interessengruppen und politischen Entscheidungsträgern zu schaffen.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Finanzierung
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
8 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Europäischer Grüner Deal, EGD, EU, Europäische Union, Konjunkturprogramme, Klimainvestitionen, Gebäude, Renovierung, Klimaneutralität, nationale Benchmarks, Recovery and Resilience Facility, RRF, Klimaziel 2030, Mitgliedstaaten
Europa

Skip to main content

Why the EU Recovery and Resilience Facility Must Prioritise Investments in Building Renovation

recovery-buildings

Ecologic Institute

Print PDF

Why the EU Recovery and Resilience Facility Must Prioritise Investments in Building Renovation

A short think piece

Publication
Citation

Velten, Eike Karola and Ricarda Faber 2020: Why the EU Recovery and Resilience Facility must prioritise investments in building renovation. A short think piece. Berlin: Ecologic Institute.

Modernising the EU's building stock is essential to meet the twin goals of climate action and green recovery. The building sector is responsible for 27 % of total greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and for 36 % of energy-related GHG emissions when considering direct and indirect GHG emissions. According to the European Commission, building renovation rates must double to contribute to the envisioned 55 % emission reduction by 2030 – and this in turn is vital to go climate neutral by 2050.

Meanwhile, energy renovations are a key driver of a fair and sustainable recovery: the International Energy Agency and Buildings Performance Institute Europe both predict about 18,000 jobs per billion euros invested. Improving the quality of our building stock is equally important to address indoor air quality and energy poverty: currently about 34 million households cannot afford their energy bills.

This think piece makes the case for earmarking a minimum share of the Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF) to finance in-depth building renovations. The method we recommend is to allocate RRF funds according to the building sector's share of total GHG emissions, in line with the EU's green recovery commitments and the requirement to spend 37 % of the Recovery and Resilience Facility grants and loans on climate-related investments. This translates into at least EUR 54.5 billion in grants and loans across the EU. For full results check out the report.

This think piece has been commissioned by the European Climate Foundation (ECF) and the ROCKWOOL Group to provide a basis for discussion and engagement between stakeholders and policy makers.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Funding
Published by
Year
Dimension
8 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
European Green Deal, EGD, EU, European Union, recovery plans, climate investment, buildings, renovation, climate neutrality, national benchmarks, Recovery and Resilience Facility, RRF, 2030 climate target, 2030, Member States
Europe