Direkt zum Inhalt

Study on the Technical, Regulatory, Economic and Environmental Effectiveness of Textile Fibres Recycling

 

Background image by Alejo Reinoso on Unsplash

Print

Study on the Technical, Regulatory, Economic and Environmental Effectiveness of Textile Fibres Recycling

Final Report

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Duhoux, Tom et al. 2021: Study on the technical, regulatory, economic and environmental effectiveness of textile fibres recycling. Final Report to the European Commission, Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs. European Commission: Brussels.

Wissen zur Wirksamkeit von Recyclingverfahren für Textilien

Die Textilindustrie steht vor der Herausforderung, ihren ökologischen und sozialen Fußabdruck entlang der globalen Wertschöpfungsketten zu verringern. In der Europäischen Union wird bereits daran gearbeitet, eine stärker kreislauforientierte und nachhaltige Textilwirtschaft zu schaffen. Welche Rolle kann das Recycling von Textilien in diesem Zusammenhang spielen? Welches Potenzial birgt es aus technischer, ökologischer und wirtschaftlicher Sicht für die Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie der EU?

Mit diesem Bericht soll die Wissensbasis zu Textilrecycling verbessert werden. Er zeigt die Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen von Textilrecyclingtechnologien auf, die auf globaler und EU-Ebene entwickelt und angewendet werden. Der Bericht beleuchtet die technische Machbarkeit und die Marktreife von Technologien für das Recycling von Textilien – einschließlich mechanischer und chemischer Recyclingverfahren. In den letzten Jahren wurden erhebliche Fortschritte bei den Recycling- und Sortiertechnologien erzielt. In dem Bericht wird auch ihre wirtschaftliche und ökologische Wirksamkeit bewertet. Darüber hinaus werden vielversprechende Bereiche für die künftige Forschung aufgezeigt, z. B. die Verteilung und Rückgewinnung chemischer Substanzen oder die Entwicklung von Alternativen für Elastan. Schließlich werden die notwendigen Schritte skizziert, um die industrielle Einführung von Textilrecyclingtechnologien und Kreislaufwirtschaftsmodellen zu unterstützen, einschließlich der Förderung einer übergreifenden Zusammenarbeit entlang der Wertschöpfungskette.

Politikoptionen zur Förderung des Textilrecyclings in der EU

Für politische Entscheidungsträger analysiert das Ecologic Institut ausführlich in Kapitel 6 Hemmnisse und Erfolgsfaktoren für Textilrecycling in der EU. Die Autorinnen und Autoren identifizieren Barrieren und Lücken in der aktuellen EU-Politik, die die Einführung innovativer Recyclingtechnologien und Geschäftsmodelle behindern oder verlangsamen könnten. Anschließend werden die wichtigsten politischen Optionen präsentiert, die darauf abzielen, das Textilrecycling als Teil einer Kreislaufwirtschaft für Textilien in der EU zu fördern. Dazu gehören:

  • die Nachvollziehbarkeit der in Textilien verwendeten Materialien und Chemikalien verbessern
  • recyclinggerechtes Design fördern,
  • den Zugang zu Textilabfällen für Recyclingunternehmen erleichtern,
  • die Nachfrage nach recycelten Fasern ankurbeln und
  • einen politischen Rahmen mit klarer langfristiger Ausrichtung festlegen.

Im Rahmen der Untersuchung wurde Feedback von Stakeholdern aus der europäischen Textilbranche durch Interviews, Webinare und eine Online-Umfrage eingeholt. Insgesamt signalisierten die teilnehmenden Interessengruppen deutlich, dass sie für ehrgeizige politische Ansätze offen und bereit sind. So sprachen sich 91 % für die Einführung von EU-Zielen für die getrennte Sammlung, das Recycling und die Vorbereitung zur Wiederverwendung von Alttextilien aus. 66 % sind für die Einführung eines digitalen Produktpasses für Textilien, um verwendete Materialien und Chemikalien nachverfolgen zu können. Auch ein verbindlicher Recyclinganteil für bestimmte Textilprodukte wie Jeans und T-Shirts wurde als sinnvoll erachtet, um die Nachfrage nach recycelten Fasern anzukurbeln.

Die Studie soll Informationen für die künftige Politikentwicklung liefern – insbesondere im Hinblick auf laufende politische Prozesse auf EU-Ebene, die für den Textilsektor von Bedeutung sind. Dazu zählen z. B. die EU-Strategie für nachhaltige Textilien, die Initiative für nachhaltige Produkte und die Weiterentwicklung des Aktionsplans für eine Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Der Bericht ist das Endergebnis des Forschungsprojekts "Technische, rechtliche, ökonomische und umweltbezogene Effektivität von Textilfaser-Recycling", das von der Europäischen Kommission (GD GROW) beauftragt wurde. Das Projekt wurde in Zusammenarbeit von VITO, Centexbel und dem Ecologic Institut durchgeführt. Der vollständige Bericht steht zum freien Download zur Verfügung.

Recycling von Textilien kann eine wichtige Strategie sein, um Ressourcen zu sparen, den Wert von Materialien zu erhalten und eine Kreislaufwirtschaft im Modesektor zu fördern. Textilien wiederzuverwenden sollte aber immer Vorrang vor dem Recycling haben.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Tom Duhoux
Edwin Maes
Karolien Peeters
Lise Asscherickx
Maarten Christis
Birgit Stubbe
Philippe Colignon
Finanzierung
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
205 S.
ISBN
978-92-76-31368-7
DOI
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Kreislaufwirtschaft, Textilien, Ökodesign, Textilrecycling, Innovation, Geschäftsmodelle, nachhaltige Mode, Digitalisierung, Wirksamkeit, Politik, EU, Europäische Union
Europa

Skip to main content

Study on the Technical, Regulatory, Economic and Environmental Effectiveness of Textile Fibres Recycling

 

Background image by Alejo Reinoso on Unsplash

Print

Study on the Technical, Regulatory, Economic and Environmental Effectiveness of Textile Fibres Recycling

Final Report

Publication
Citation

Duhoux, Tom et al. 2021: Study on the technical, regulatory, economic and environmental effectiveness of textile fibres recycling. Final Report to the European Commission, Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs. European Commission: Brussels.

A knowledge base on the effectiveness of textile-to-textile recycling technologies

The textile industry is facing the challenge of reducing its environmental footprint and social burden along global value chains. In the European Union, work is already underway to establish a more circular and sustainable textile economy. What role can textile-to-textile recycling play in this? What potential does it have from a technical, environmental and economic perspective for the EU textile and clothing industry?

This report aims to improve the knowledge about opportunities and challenges of textile waste recycling technologies, developed and applied at global and EU level. The report sheds light on the technical feasibility and maturity for market uptake of textile-to-textile recycling technologies – including mechanical and chemical recycling approaches. In recent years, considerable advances have been made in recycling and sorting technologies. The report also evaluates their economic and environmental effectiveness. In addition, the report identifies promising areas for future research, such as the dispersion and recovery of chemical substances or the development of alternatives for elastane. Finally, the report outlines necessary steps to support the industrial uptake of  textile recycling technologies and circular business models, including for example support for (cross-) value chain collaboration.

Key policy options to enhance textile-to-textile recycling in the EU

In Chapter 6, Ecologic Institute provides policy makers with an in-depth analysis of bottlenecks and enablers for textile-to-textile recycling in the EU. The authors identified barriers and gaps in current EU policy that might hamper or slow down the uptake of innovative recycling technologies and business models. Next, the authors elaborated key policy options aiming to enhance textile recycling as part of a circular textile economy in the EU. These include:

  • Enhancing traceability of materials and chemicals used in textiles
  • Promoting design for recyclability
  • Easing access to feedstocks for textile-to-textile recycling
  • Stimulating the demand for recycled fibres
  • Setting a frame with clear long-term direction

As part of the research, stakeholder feedback from the European textile sector was gathered through interviews, webinars and an online survey. Overall, the participating stakeholders distinctly signaled to be open and prepared for ambitious policy approaches. For example, 91% were in favour of introducing EU targets for separate collection, recycling and preparation for reuse of discarded textiles. 66% were in favour of introducing a digital product passport for textiles in order to increase traceability of used materials and chemicals along the value chain. Also, a mandatory recycled content for specific textile products – such as jeans and T-shirts – was considered useful to stimulate demand for recycled fibres.

The study aims to inform future policy development – in particular with regard to ongoing policy processes at EU-level with relevance for the textile sector, such as the upcoming EU Strategy for Sustainable Textiles, the Sustainable Products Initiative and the further development of the Circular Economy Action Plan.   

The report presents the final outcomes of the research project "Technical, Regulatory, Economic and Environmental Effectiveness of Textile Fibres Recycling", assigned by the European Commission (DG GROW). The research was conducted in cooperation by VITO, Centexbel and Ecologic Institute. The complete report is freely available for download.

Textile-to-textile recycling can be an important strategy for saving resources, preserving the value of materials and fostering a circular economy in the fashion sector. But reuse of textiles should always have priority over recycling.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Tom Duhoux
Edwin Maes
Karolien Peeters
Lise Asscherickx
Maarten Christis
Birgit Stubbe
Philippe Colignon
Funding
Published by
Year
Dimension
205 pp.
ISBN
978-92-76-31368-7
DOI
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
circular economy, textiles, ecodesign, textile recycling, innovation, business models, sustainable fashion, digitalisation, impacts, policies
European Union