Direkt zum Inhalt

The Evolution of EU Environmental Governance

Print PDF

The Evolution of EU Environmental Governance

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Homeyer, Ingmar von 2009: "The evolution of EU environmental governance", in: Joanne Scott (Hg.): Environmental Protection. European Law and Governance. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1-26.

Das Buchkapitel von Ecologic Senior Fellow Dr. Ingmar von Homeyer gibt einen analytischen Überblick über die Entwicklung der umweltpolitischen Steuerung (governance) durch die Europäische Union von den frühen 70er Jahren bis heute. Der Autor zeigt, dass die umweltpolitische Steuerung auf EU-Ebene als ein Amalgam aus vier bis fünf sich überlagernden umweltpolitischen "Steuerungsregimen" verstanden werden kann, die sich in den vergangenen 35 Jahren sukzessive herausgebildet haben.

Diese Entwicklung begann zunächst mit dem "Umweltregime", dem das "Binnenmarktregime", das "Integrationsregime", das "Nachhaltigkeitsregime" und das sich gegenwärtig herausbildende "Klimaregime" folgten. Diese Steuerungsregime können anhand von Kriterien wie dominante politische Prioritäten, Rechtsgrundlage, Entscheidungsregeln, Rechtfertigungsmodus, politische Dynamik, Typen von Umweltzielen, und Instrumente unterschieden werden. Auch wenn es im Laufe der Zeit zu gewissen Modifikationen der Regime gekommen ist, sind auch die älteren Regime bis heute noch Teil des Systems der Steuerung der Umweltpolitik durch die EU.

Das Kapitel ist Teil eines von Prof. Dr. Joanne Scott (University College London) herausgegebenen Buches, das auf Beiträgen zur Sommerschule der Academy of European Law des Europäischen Hochschulinstituts, Florenz, beruht. Das Buch ist bei Oxford University Press erschienen.

Die Publikation kann zum Preis $110.00 bei Oxford University Press bestellt werden.

Kontakt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Veröffentlicht in
Buch: Environmental Protection. European Law and Governance
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
26 S.
ISBN
978-0-19-956517-7
Schlüsselwörter
EU Umweltpoltitik, Governance, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Umweltpolitikintegration

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

The Evolution of EU Environmental Governance

The Evolution of EU Environmental Governance

In this book chapter Ecologic Senior Fellow Ingmar von Homeyer provides an analytical overview of EU environmental governance from the early 1970s up to the present. He argues that EU environmental governance can be described as an amalgam of four to five environmental governance regimes which have successively been layered on top of each other over the past 35 years.

The evolution of EU environmental governance started with the "environmental regime" which was later followed by the "Internal Market regime", the "integration regime", the "sustainable development regime", and the emerging "climate regime". These governance regimes can be distinguished in terms of their prevailing overall political priorities, legal foundations, decision-making methods, types of legitimating justification, underlying political dynamics, types of environmental objectives, and instruments. Despite certain modifications, each of the regimes can still be discerned in today's system of EU environmental governance. 

The chapter is part of a book edited by Prof Joanne Scott (University College London) and based on the proceedings of the summer school of the Academy of European Law at the European University Institute, Florence. The book is published by Oxford University Press.

The publication can be ordered for the price of $110.00 from Oxford University Press.


Citation

Homeyer, Ingmar von 2009: "The evolution of EU environmental governance", in: Joanne Scott (ed.): Environmental Protection. European Law and Governance. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1-26.

Language
English
Publisher
Year
2009
ISBN
13: 978-0-19-956517-7; ISBN10: 0-19-956517-1
Dimension
26 pp.
Keywords
EU environmental governance, EU environmental policy, sustainable development, mainstreaming, environmental policy integration, European Union