Direkt zum Inhalt

Arctic Summer College Yearbook

Print

Arctic Summer College Yearbook

An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

O'Donnell, Brendan; Max Gruenig; Arne Riedel (Eds.) 2018: Arctic Summer College Yearbook. An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development. 1st ed. Springer International Publishing Switzerland.

Dieses Buch, herausgegeben von Brendan O'Donnell, Max Gruenig und Arne Riedel vom Ecologic Institut, hebt sowohl die Vielfalt der Perspektiven und Ansätze in der Arktisforschung als auch die inhärente Interdisziplinarität des Studierens und Verstehens dieser unvergleichlichen Region hervor. Die Kapitel sind in vier frei definierbare Abschnitte unterteilt, um Raum für dynamische Interpretationen und Dialoge auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Lösungen für die Probleme der Arktis zu schaffen. Von der Regierungsführung bis zur Technologie, von der wissenschaftlichen Forschung bis zu den Sozialsystemen, von der menschlichen Gesundheit bis zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung diskutieren die Autoren grundlegende Fragen und blicken dabei auf die Zukunft der Arktis. Egal, ob der Leser mit der Geschichte und Komplexität der Arktispolitik vertraut ist oder nach einer einfühlsamen Einführung in die weite Welt der Arktisforschung sucht, jeder findet auf diesen Seiten Antworten, die zu neuen Fragen und noch mehr Entdeckungen führen und damit den Grundstein für die künftige Diskussion über die Zukunft der Arktis legen.

Brendan O'Donnell verfasste die Einleitung des Jahrbuchs und Arne Riedel steuerte das Kapitel "Arctic Council Scorecards - Monitoring Arctic Policy Transfer" bei. Darin beschreibt er die Herausforderungen die während der Forschungsarbeiten identifiziert wurden und reflektiert einige der wichtigsten Ergebnisse. Es weist auch auf verbleibende Lücken hin und gibt Anregungen für zukünftige Ergänzungen der Scorecards.

Eine dynamische Sammlung interdisziplinärer Einblicke in zahlreiche arktische Fragestellungen.

Kontakt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Credits

Herausgeber: Brendan O'Donnell, Max Gruenig, Arne Riedel

Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
159 S.
ISBN
978-3-319-66458-3 (paper), 978-3-319-66459-0 (eBook)
DOI
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Arctic Summer College Yearbook

Arctic Summer College Yearbook

An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development
A dynamic collection of interdisciplinary insights into a wide range of Arctic issues

This book, edited by Ecologic Institute's Brendan O’Donnell, Max Gruenig, and Arne Riedel, highlights both the diversity of perspectives and approaches to Arctic research and the inherent interdisciplinary nature of studying and understanding this incomparable region. The chapters are divided into four liberally-defined sections to provide space for dynamic interpretation and dialogue in search of sustainable solutions to the issues facing the Arctic. From governance to technology, scientific research to social systems, human health to economic development, the authors discuss fundamental questions while looking toward the Arctic’s future. Whether the reader is well-versed in the history and complexity of Arctic policy or looking for an insightful introduction to the vast world of Arctic research, everyone will find answers that lead to new questions and even more discoveries in these pages, laying the foundation for tomorrow’s discussion on the future of the Arctic.

Brendan O'Donnell composed the introduction to the yearbook and Arne Riedel contributed the chapter "Arctic Council Scorecards - Monitoring Arctic Policy Transfer". It provides an overview of the aim and scope of the exerciese. It then describes challenges that were identified during the research and reflects on some of the key findings. It also points towards remaining gaps and provides ideas for future additions to the scorecards.


Citation

O'Donnell, Brendan; Max Gruenig; Arne Riedel (Eds.) 2018: Arctic Summer College Yearbook. An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development. 1st ed. Springer International Publishing Switzerland.

Language
English
Author(s)
Publisher
Year
2018
ISBN
978-3-319-66458-3 (paper), 978-3-319-66459-0 (eBook)
Dimension
159 pp.
Table of Contents

Imagining the Arctic
Ghosh, Supriti Jaya

From Consultation to Consent: A Comparative Analysis of Arctic States
Ross, Sarah-Grace

The Arctic as a Region of Innovation
Exner-Pirot, Heather

Inclusive and Lateral Environmental Governance: Exploring Theoretical and Practical Capacity for Networked Environmental Governance in the Russian Arctic
French, Nadia

Maritime Passages of the Future
Conley, Heather A. (et al.)

Arctic Council Scorecards – Monitoring Arctic Policy Transfer
Riedel, Arne

South Korea and the Arctic Region
Kossa, Martin

The Arctic Digital Divide
Kuersten, Andreas

Arctic Freshwater – A Commons Requires Open Science
Muster, Sina

Contemporary Circumpolar Health Issues and Innovative Responses in the Anthropocene
Devine, Carol

Local Initiatives to Reduce the Incidence of Sexual Assault in the North
Ehrlander, Mary F.