Direkt zum Inhalt

Arne Riedel, LLM

Print

Arne Riedel, LLM

Rechtsanwalt

Coordinator Ecologic Legal
Coordinator Arctic
Senior Fellow

Team
Legal Team
Themen

Arne Riedel arbeitet als Senior Fellow für das Ecologic Institut und koordiniert das Ecologic Legal Team sowie die Arktis-Aktivitäten des Instituts. Er arbeitet zur Arktis-Governance, in den internationalen Klimaverhandlungen, zum Recht der Erneuerbaren Energien, zum EU-Emissionshandelssystem (ETS) und zur Compliance im Umweltrecht. Arne Riedel ist seit 2012 als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen und arbeitet auf Deutsch und Englisch.

Am Ecologic Institut unterstützt Arne Riedel das Auswärtige Amt in den Verhandlungen zur Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen, zum Kyoto Protokoll und zum Pariser Übereinkommen. Er ist zudem Mitglied des Einhaltungsausschusses für das Kyoto Protokoll.

In mehreren Projekten forscht und arbeitet Arne Riedel zu Arktis-Governance, -Policy und -Wissensvermittlung. Dies schließt Themen wie die nachhaltige Entwicklung von Städten in der Arktis (DFG), die Ko-Kreation von Wissen gemeinsam mit arktischen Rechteinhaber*innen (BMUV), die Governance von Meeresschutzgebieten in der Arktis (BfN), und die Vorbereitung der Leuchtturm-Projekte der EU Mission "Wiederherstellung unserer Ozeane und Gewässer bis 2030" (EU-Kommission, Generaldirektion Wissenschaft und Innovation) ein. In den letzten Jahren war er unter anderem Arktis-Experte in einem Projekt zur Vermittlung von Kenntnissen über den Ozean (EU-Kommission, Generaldirektion Maritime Angelegenheiten und Fischerei), aus dem der Podcast "If Oceans Could Speak" hervorging, und leitete die Entwicklung von "Umweltleitlinien deutscher Arktispolitik" sowie die "WWF Arctic Council Conservation Scorecards".

Zwischen 2012 und 2020 unterstützte Arne Riedel das BMUV und das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft, Energie und Klima (BMWK) mit seiner rechtlichen Expertise zu erneuerbaren Energien und der Energiewende. Er koordinierte zudem 2012 bis 2015 die Klimaschutz-Vorreiterkommunen ("Masterplankommunen") für das BMUV.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit für das Ecologic Institut arbeitete Arne Riedel in den Bereichen Bau- und Planungsrecht am Lehrstuhl für Staats- und Verwaltungsrecht der Freien Universität Berlin (FU Berlin). Während seines Referendariats arbeitete er unter anderem am Ecologic Institute in Washington DC.

Arne Riedel schloss sein Jurastudium an der FU Berlin mit dem Schwerpunkt Öffentliches Recht 2007 ab und erhielt 2009 einen Master of Laws (LLM) im Europarecht mit Auszeichnung von der University of Nottingham (Großbritannien). In seiner Masterarbeit widmete er sich dem ETS der Europäischen Union, seinen Auswirkungen auf den Binnenmarkt und seinen Änderungen nach 2012.

Arne Riedel, LLM per E-Mail kontaktieren

Ihre hier eingegebenen Daten werden nur für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Anfrage verarbeitet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Erklärung zum Datenschutz.

Ausgewählte Projekte von Arne Riedel, LLM

Arktis

 

Image by Taken from Pixabay

Der Trend städtischen Bevölkerungswachstums macht sich auch in der europäischen Arktis bemerkbar. Angesichts der Bedeutung, die diese Region für das globale Klima hat, drängt sich die Frage auf, wie man den steigenden Bevölkerungszahlen in den arktischen Städten unter... Weiterlesen
 

Image by Taken from Pixabay

Die Arktis gilt als eines der bedeutendsten Ökosysteme weltweit. Gleichzeitig wird sie aus Sicht wirtschaftlicher, politischer, wissenschaftlicher und touristischer Akteure immer attraktiver, was sich sowohl auf die Biodiversität als auch auf die vor Ort lebenden... Weiterlesen
 
|© Richard Fitzer | shutterstock.com
In der Arktis sind die Folgen des Klimawandels viel stärker wahrnehmbar als in anderen Regionen der Erde. Der zunehmende Verlust von Meereis ermöglicht eine längere und intensivere Nutzung von Teilen des Arktischen Ozeans und könnte die Biodiversität in der Polarregion... Weiterlesen

Pan-arktisches Netzwerk von Meeresschutzgebieten (Ark-MPA)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Der Ozean ist eine Quelle des Lebens für den Menschen. Er gibt uns Nahrung, Sauerstoff und Energie. Er ist die Heimat vieler Arten und wirkt als Klimaregulator. Zu verstehen, wie wir den Ozean beeinflussen und wie der Ozean uns beeinflusst, ist das Kernstück der... Weiterlesen

Das EU4Ocean Netzwerk für "Ocean Literacy"

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 

Foto von Alesia Kozik von Pexels

Missions sind ein neues Instrument in Horizont Europa, das darauf abzielt, gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen mit systemischen Lösungen anzugehen. Die Umsetzung von fünf Missionsbereichen (Restore our ocean and waters by 2030; Adaptation to Climate Change; Cancer;... Weiterlesen

Umsetzung von Leuchttürmen der Mission 'Wiederherstellung unserer Ozeane und Gewässer bis 2030'

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Das Ecologic Institut unterstützt das Horizont 2020-Projekt "Arctic Research Icebreaker Consortium" (ARICE) mit Arne Riedel als Ethikbeauftragtem des Konsortiums. Seine Rolle beinhaltet unter anderem: die Identifizierung spezifisch ethischer Herausforderungen, die... Weiterlesen
 
iStock © Lya Cattel
Durch die schnelle Entwicklung der Arktisregion infolge wirtschaftlicher Entwicklungen und des Klimawandels entstehen vielfältige Probleme, z. B. im Umweltbereich, zu deren Bekämpfung die EU einen Beitrag leistet. Die Strategische Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung der... Weiterlesen

Strategische Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung der Entwicklung der Arktis

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Entwicklung von Handlungsempfehlungen für eine deutsche Umweltpolitik in der Arktis
Das Ecologic Institut erarbeitet in diesem Projekt im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (BMU) Optionen für die Entwicklung eine Umweltpolitik in der Arktis. Das Projekt hat dabei die Aufgabe, die Umweltsituation und den... Weiterlesen

Klimaverhandlungen

 
| ©Arne Riedel|CC BY-NC SA
Ecologic Legal unterstützt das Bundesumweltministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit in den internationalen Klimaverhandlungen, insbesondere bei der Bestimmung und Bewertung deutscher, europäischer und internationaler Positionen. Das Projekt baut auf... Weiterlesen
 
| Fotolia © Carlo Suessmilch
Die internationalen völkerrechtlichen Verhandlungen unter der Klimarahmenkonvention (UNFCCC) beschäftigen sich derzeit vor allem mir der Ausgestaltung des zukünftigen Klimaregimes. Ecologic Legal unterstützt das Bundesumweltministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und... Weiterlesen
 
| iStock © Robert Becker
Lokale Gemeinschaften und indigene Völker (LCIPs) sind seit der Verabschiedung der Klimarahmenkonvention (UNFCCC) im Jahr 1992 in deren Umsetzung mit eingebunden gewesen. Auf ihrer Konferenz im Jahr 2015 schufen die Vertragsstaaten der Konvention ein neues Element, um... Weiterlesen

Energierecht

 
| Fotolia © PixMedia
Der zunehmenden Bedeutung der erneuerbaren Energien für die Stromwirtschaft im Rahmen der Energiewende entspricht es, das Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz (EEG) besser mit dem Energiewirtschaftsgesetz (EnWG) zu verzahnen. Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und... Weiterlesen
 
fotolia© Andrea Danti
Zur Fortentwicklung der Instrumente zur Förderung erneuerbarer Energien im Strom- und Wärmebereich im Zuge der Energiewende unterstützt das Ecologic Institut das Bundesumweltministerium (BMU) und seit März 2014 das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)... Weiterlesen

Kommunaler Klimaschutz

 

Foto von Lukas von Pexels

Mit der Nationalen Klimaschutzinitiative (NKI) fördert das Bundesumweltministerium seit Juni 2008 Klimaschutzprojekte in ganz Deutschland und trägt damit zur Erreichung der Klimaschutzziele der Bundesregierung bei. In dieser Zeit wurden die Richtlinien und Förderaufrufe... Weiterlesen
 
Seit 2008 fördert die Nationale Klimaschutzinitiative (NKI) des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit Projekte (BMU), Investitionen und Konzepte, um das Ziel, bis 2050 die Treibhausgasemissionen in Deutschland um 80% zu reduzieren, zu... Weiterlesen
Ausgewählte Publikationen von Arne Riedel, LLM

Arktis

 
publication's cover

© BMBF

Deutschlands Polarforschung trägt zu zahlreichen Initiativen bei, die sich auch mit Klima- und Biodiversitätsschutz befassen. Um künftigen Herausforderungen begegnen und die drängendsten Themen angehen zu können, startete das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung ... Weiterlesen

Wissenschaftlicher Begleitkreis Mare:N "Forschungsagenda Polarregionen im Wandel" (Ed.) 2021: Forschungsagenda Polarregionen im Wandel. Konzeptpapier des Mare:N-Begleitkreises.

 
Die arktische Umwelt ist vielen Einflüssen ausgesetzt, die ihren Fortbestand bedrohen: Der Klimawandel und seine Folgen stellen bereits jetzt viele Ökosysteme vor große Herausforderungen. Wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten in der Region, wie Fischerei, Schifffahrt, Abbau und... Weiterlesen

Riedel, A., Bach, I., Abhold, K., Hoffmann, H., Stephen, K., Schopmans, H., 2020: Ökologisch nachhaltige Nutzung mit hohen Umweltstandards in der Arktis – Umweltleitlinien deutscher Arktispolitik. Abschlussbericht. Umweltbundesamt, Dessau-Roßlau.

 
Dieses Buch, herausgegeben von Brendan O'Donnell, Max Gruenig und Arne Riedel vom Ecologic Institut, hebt sowohl die Vielfalt der Perspektiven und Ansätze in der Arktisforschung als auch die inhärente Interdisziplinarität des Studierens und Verstehens dieser... Weiterlesen

O'Donnell, Brendan; Max Gruenig; Arne Riedel (Eds.) 2018: Arctic Summer College Yearbook. An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development. 1st ed. Springer International Publishing Switzerland.

 
Die Arktis spielt nicht nur eine wichtige Rolle bei der Regulation des Weltklimas, sie ist auch selber stark vom Klimawandel betroffen. Das neu erschienene Buch "Arctic Marine Governance: Opportunities for Transatlantic Cooperation" untersucht bedeutende arktische... Weiterlesen

Tedsen, Elizabeth, Sandra Cavalieri and R. Andreas Kraemer (Hrsg.) 2013: Arctic Marine Governance. Opportunities for Transatlantic Cooperation. Heidelberg: Springer.

 
Der neue "Gap Analysis Report" zeigt den dringenden Bedarf an Informationsaustausch und Kommunikation zwischen den zentralen Akteuren in der Arktis auf. Dieser Bericht soll langfristiges Verzeichnis für spezifische Politikempfehlungen sein und zugleich als... Weiterlesen

Tedsen Elizabeth, Arne Riedel, Katherine Weingartner, Roberto Azzolini, Frederic Guillon, Simona Longo, Corrado Leone, Outi Paadar, Anastasia Leonenko (2014): Gap Analysis Report. Preparatory Action, Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of development of the Arctic. Arctic Centre, University of Lapland.

Klimaverhandlungen

 

© IEEP

Die Klimaverhandlungen der COP26 in Glasgow endeten am 13. November 2021. Ihre Ergebnisse wurden sehr unterschiedlich aufgenommen: Die Reaktionen reichten von vorsichtigem Optimismus bis hin zu Enttäuschung über den geringen Fortschritt. Drei Experten des europäischen... Weiterlesen

IEEP 2021: COP26: Overview and Main Outcomes. A Think Sustainable Europe Podcast. 10. Dezember 2021. Online: https://youtu.be/j4fIRrkX1Uc.

 
TemaNord 2018:527
Die Plattform für lokale Gemeinschaften und indigene Völker (Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform, LCIP Platform) wurde 2015 in Paris ins Leben gerufen. Die konkrete Ausgestaltung ihrer Struktur ist aber noch immer Gegenstand von Verhandlungen. Die... Weiterlesen

Riedel, Arne und Ralph Bodle 2018: Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform – potential governance arrangements under the Paris Agreement. Nordic Council of Ministers: Copenhagen.

Ausgewählte Veranstaltungen von Arne Riedel, LLM

Arktis

 
Die am 8. Juni 2020 vom Kommissar für Umwelt, Ozeane und Fischerei, Virginijus Sinkevičius, ins Leben gerufene EU4Ocean Coalition tritt in Aktion! Nehmen Sie am ersten EU4Ocean Workshop "Designing Ocean Literacy actions in Europe" vom 24. bis 25. September 2020 ... Weiterlesen
 

Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

In Fortsetzung des erfolgreichen Austausches über verschiedene Aspekte des Meeresschutzes in der Arktik im November 2020, kamen am 17. und 18. November 2021 zwanzig internationale Expertinnen und Experten aus Forschung und Politik in einem virtuellen Treffen zum "Arctic... Weiterlesen

Digitale Veranstaltung:Dialog zum Schutz der arktischen Meeresumwelt 2021

Datum
-
Ort
online

Skip to main content

Arne Riedel, LLM

Print

Arne Riedel, LLM

Rechtsanwalt (Lawyer)

Coordinator Ecologic Legal
Coordinator Arctic
Senior Fellow

Team
Topics

Arne Riedel is a Senior Fellow at Ecologic Institute and coordinates the Ecologic Legal team as well as the Institute's activities on Arctic issues. He works on Arctic Governance, the international climate negotiations, renewable energy law, the EU emissions trading system (ETS) and compliance with environmental law. Arne Riedel was admitted to the bar in Berlin (Germany) in 2012 and works in German and English.

At Ecologic Institute, Arne Riedel supports the Foreign Office in the negotiations under the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, the Kyoto Protocol and the Paris Agreement. He is a member of the Kyoto Protocol Compliance Committee (Enforcement Branch).

In several projects, Arne Riedel researches and works on Arctic governance, policy and literacy aspects. This includes topics like sustainble urban development in Arctic cities (DFG), the co-creation with Arctic rights holders (BMUV), the governance of marine protected areas in the Arctic (BfN), and the lighthouses of the EU Mission "Restore our ocean and waters by 2030" (EU Commission, DG RTD). Previously, he was the Arctic focal point for a project on Ocean literacy (EU Commission, DG Mare), which sparked the development of the podcast "If Oceans Could Speak", and he led the development of "Environmental Guidelines for a German Arctic Policy", and the WWF Arctic Council Conservation Scorecards.

Between 2012 and 2020, Arne Riedel provided the BMUV and the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs, Energy  and Climate (BMWK) with legal expertise in the areas of renewable energies and the German energy transition (the "Energiewende"). He also coordinated the frontrunner municipalities on climate action ("masterplan municipalities") for the BMU from 2012 to 2015.

Arne Riedel previously worked for the Chair for Public and Administrative Law at the Freie Universität Berlin (FU Berlin, Germany) in the areas of building and planning law and worked as a legal trainee also at Ecologic Institute US in Washington, DC.

Arne Riedel completed his legal studies in 2007 at the FU Berlin, focusing on public law, and was awarded a Master of Laws (LLM) in European Law with distinction from the University of Nottingham (United Kingdom) in 2009. His Master's thesis dealt with the EU ETS, its impact on the Common Market and its post-2012 evolution.

Contact Arne Riedel, LLM by Email

The data sent will only be processed for the purpose of processing your request. You will find further information in our privacy notice.

Selected projects by Arne Riedel, LLM

Arctic

 

Image by Taken from Pixabay

The worldwide trend of increasing urban population is also noticeable in Arctic cities. Regarding the unique importance of the Arctic for the global climate system the question arises, how the increasing population can be addressed while taking the environment and the... Read more
 

Image by Taken from Pixabay

The Arctic plays an essential role in sustaining ecosystems worldwide. At the same time, economic, political, scientific and touristic interests in the Arctic are growing and leave a far-reaching impact on local ecosystems and residents. The DÁVGI project aims to... Read more
 
|© Richard Fitzer | shutterstock.com
The consequences of climate change are much more visible in the Arctic than in other regions of the world. The increasing loss of sea ice allows to use parts of the Arctic Ocean for a longer time and more intensively than before. This could threaten biodiversity in the... Read more
 
Why the EU4Ocean Coalition? The ocean is a source of life for human beings. It gives us food, oxygen and energy. It is home to many species and acts as climate regulator. Understanding how we influence the ocean and how the ocean influences us is at the core of ocean... Read more

The EU4Ocean Coalition for Ocean Literacy

Duration
-
Funding
 

Foto von Alesia Kozik von Pexels

Missions are a novel instrument in Horizon Europe, which aim to tackle societal challenges with systemic solutions. The implementation of five mission areas (Restore our ocean and waters by 2030; Adaptation to Climate Change; Cancer; Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities;... Read more

Implementation of Lighthouses of Mission 'Restore our oceans and waters by 2030'

Duration
-
Funding
 
Ecologic Institute supports the Horizon 2020 project "Arctic Research Icebreaker Consortium" (ARICE) with Arne Riedel as an Ehics advisor. His role includes inter alia giving advice on specific ethical issues that could occur in research projects to be conducted... Read more
 
iStock©Lya Cattel
How can we improve policy monitoring of national implementation to further protect the Arctic environment and its inhabitants? With the WWF Arctic Council Scorecards, Ecologic Institute and WWF International Arctic Programme continue and update the overview of the... Read more
 
iStock © Lya Cattel
The Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of development of the Arctic seeks to strengthen communication and outreach within the EU and between the EU and Arctic communities regarding the EU’s contribution to addressing environmental and other issues raised by the... Read more

Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of Development of the Arctic

Duration
-
Funding
 
Development of Options for a German Environmental Policy for the Arctic
In this Project, Ecologic Institute elaborates policy options for the development of a strategy to protect the Arctic environment for the German Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The project entails an analysis of the... Read more

Climate Negotiations

 
| ©Arne Riedel|CC BY-NC SA
Ecologic Legal is supporting the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety in the international climate negotiations, particularly on the identification and analysis of German, EU and international negotiation positions. This project... Read more
 
| Fotolia © Carlo Suessmilch
The international negotiations on the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) currently mainly focus on the design of the future climate regime. Ecologic Legal provides expert advice to the German Federal Ministry of the Environment, Nature Conservation,... Read more
 
| iStock © Robert Becker
Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples (LCIPs) have been involved in the implementation of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) since 1992. In 2015 the Conference of the Parties established a new element to strengthen LCIPs efforts to address and... Read more

Energy Law

 
| Fotolia © PixMedia
The increased importance of renewable energy for the electricity sector in the context of the energy transition ("Energiewende") requires that the Renewable Energy Act (EEG) be made more consistent with the Energy Act (EnWG). On behalf of the Federal Ministry for... Read more
 
fotolia© Andrea Danti
In the course of the German "Energiewende", Ecologic Institute supports the German Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMU) and - since March 2014 - the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy - in the further development of existing instruments to... Read more

Municipal Climate Protection

 

Photo by Lukas on Pexels

With the National Climate Initiative (NKI), the Federal Environment Ministry has been supporting climate protection projects throughout Germany since June 2008, contributing to the achievement of Germany's climate protection goals. During this time, the NKI's guidelines... Read more
 
Since 2008, the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety has financed the National Climate Initiative (NKI in German), in order to achieve its national target of an 80% reduction in carbon emissions by the year 2050. In order... Read more
Selected publications by Arne Riedel, LLM

Arctic

 
publication's cover

© BMBF

Germany's Polar research activities contribute to numerous initiatives and include links to climate and biodiversity protection. To prepare for future challenges and address the most pressing issues, the federal government launched a process to develop a new polar... Read more

Wissenschaftlicher Begleitkreis Mare:N "Forschungsagenda Polarregionen im Wandel" (Ed.) 2021: Forschungsagenda Polarregionen im Wandel. Konzeptpapier des Mare:N-Begleitkreises.

 
The Arctic environment faces many influences that threaten its very existence: climate change and its impacts already present challenges for many ecosystems. Economic activities within the region, as fisheries, shipping, mining and transport of resources as well as... Read more

Riedel, A., Bach, I., Abhold, K., Hoffmann, H., Stephen, K., Schopmans, H., 2020: Ökologisch nachhaltige Nutzung mit hohen Umweltstandards in der Arktis – Umweltleitlinien deutscher Arktispolitik. Abschlussbericht. Umweltbundesamt, Dessau-Roßlau.

 
This book, edited by Ecologic Institute's Brendan O'Donnell, Max Gruenig, and Arne Riedel, highlights both the diversity of perspectives and approaches to Arctic research and the inherent interdisciplinary nature of studying and understanding this incomparable region.... Read more

O'Donnell, Brendan; Max Gruenig; Arne Riedel (Eds.) 2018: Arctic Summer College Yearbook. An Interdisciplinary Look into Arctic Sustainable Development. 1st ed. Springer International Publishing Switzerland.

 
The Arctic region not only plays an important role in regulating the world's climate, but is also highly affected by climate change. A new book edited by Ecologic Institute's Elizabeth Tedsen, Sandra Cavalieri, and R. Andreas Kraemer addresses the significant changes... Read more

Tedsen, Elizabeth, Sandra Cavalieri, and R. Andreas Kraemer (eds.) 2014: Arctic Marine Governance. Opportunities for Transatlantic Cooperation. Heidelberg: Springer.

 
A new report on Arctic information and communication needs ("Gap Analysis Report") has been released as part of the Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of development of the Arctic Preparatory Action project, funded by DG Environment of the European Commission.... Read more

Tedsen Elizabeth, Arne Riedel, Katherine Weingartner, Roberto Azzolini, Frederic Guillon, Simona Longo, Corrado Leone, Outi Paadar, Anastasia Leonenko (2014): Gap Analysis Report. Preparatory Action, Strategic Environmental Impact Assessment of development of the Arctic. Arctic Centre, University of Lapland.

Climate Negotiations

 

© IEEP

The climate negotiations at COP26 in Glasgow closed on 13 November 2021 and its outcomes were received with a range between careful optimism and disapppointment on the little progress. Three experts of the European network of think tanks "Think Sustainable Europe" are... Read more

IEEP 2021: COP26: Overview and Main Outcomes. A Think Sustainable Europe Podcast. 10 December 2021. Online: https://youtu.be/j4fIRrkX1Uc.

 
TemaNord 2018:527
The Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform (LCIP Platform) was established in Paris in 2015, but its operationalization is still ongoing. The LCIP Platform could provide an important next step towards a nuanced inclusion of specific non-Party stakeholders in... Read more

Riedel, Arne and Ralph Bodle 2018: Local Communities and Indigenous Peoples Platform – potential governance arrangements under the Paris Agreement. Nordic Council of Ministers: Copenhagen.

Selected events by Arne Riedel, LLM

Arctic