Direkt zum Inhalt

Utilizing Urban Living Laboratories for Social Innovation

 
| © Cambridge University Press
Print

Utilizing Urban Living Laboratories for Social Innovation

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Naumann, S., Davis, M., Moore, M., & McCormick, K. (2018). Utilizing Urban Living Laboratories for Social Innovation. In T. Elmqvist, X. Bai, N. Frantzeskaki, C. Griffith, D. Maddox, T. McPhearson, et al. (Eds.), Urban Planet: Knowledge towards Sustainable Cities (pp. 197-217). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. doi:10.1017/9781316647554.012

Können urbane Living Labs soziale und Governance-Innovationen unterstützen und damit zu einer nachhaltigen Stadtplanung beitragen? Können sie ein Instrument sein, um Städte bei der Anpassung an neue Herausforderungen zu unterstützen, z.B. mit Hinblick auf den Klimawandel, geringere Verfügbarkeit an Rohstoffen und natürlichen Ressourcen sowie abnehmender Raum für die bebaute Umwelt? Als Beitrag zum Urban Planet Buch haben Sandra Naumann und McKenna Davis vom Ecologic Institut zusammen mit Michele-Lee Moore und Kes McCormick ein Kapitel geschrieben, um diese Fragen zu beantworten. Das Kapitel gibt einen kurzen Einblick zur Entwicklung von urbanen Living Labs, den aktuellen Governance-Herausforderungen, die damit adressiert werden sollen und untersucht anschließend, ob urbane Living Labs das Potenzial besitzen als Plattform urbane Innovationsexperimente sowie positive transformative Veränderungen zu unterstützen. Das Kapitel und gesamte Buch sind frei zugänglich und stehen als Download zur Verfügung.

Das Urban Planet Buch verfolgt einen integrativen Ansatz und hat AutorInnen aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen zusammen gebracht wie beispielsweise Soziologie, Politikwissenschaft, Evolutionsbiologie, Geographie, Wirtschaft und Ingenieurwissenschaften. Es beinhaltet die Perspektiven oft vernachlässigter Stimmen und enthält Beiträge von Architekten, Journalisten, Künstlern und Aktivisten. Das Buch bietet eine dringend benötigte skalenübergreifende Perspektive und verbindet Herausforderungen und Lösungen auf lokaler Ebene mit Treibern und politischen Rahmenbedingungen auf regionaler und globaler Ebene. Die AutorInnen argumentieren, dass zur Bewältigung der großen globalen Umweltherausforderungen, eine umfassende Neuerfindung unseres Zusammenlebens mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Inklusivität und Nachhaltigkeit stattfinden muss.

Kontakt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Michele-Lee Moore (University of Victoria)
Kes McCormick (Lund University)
Veröffentlicht in
Urban Planet. Knowledge towards Sustainable Cities
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
21 S.
ISBN
9781107196933
DOI
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Urban living labs, soziale Innovation, governance, nachhaltige urbane Entwicklung, städtische Herausforderungen

Skip to main content

Utilizing Urban Living Laboratories for Social Innovation

| © Cambridge University Press
Print PDF

Utilizing Urban Living Laboratories for Social Innovation

Publication
Citation

Naumann, S., Davis, M., Moore, M., & McCormick, K. (2018). Utilizing Urban Living Laboratories for Social Innovation. In T. Elmqvist, X. Bai, N. Frantzeskaki, C. Griffith, D. Maddox, T. McPhearson, et al. (Eds.), Urban Planet: Knowledge towards Sustainable Cities (pp. 197-217). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. doi:10.1017/9781316647554.012

Can urban living labs support social and governance innovations and therewith contribute to sustainable urban planning? Can they serve as a tool to assist cities in adapting to new emerging challenges, such as changing climate, reduced availability of raw materials and natural resources, and dwindling physical space for the built environment? As part of the new Urban Planet book, Sandra Naumann and McKenna Davis from the Ecologic Institute authored a chapter together with Michele-Lee Moore and Kes McCormick to address these questions. The chapter introduces a brief history of urban living labs and the governance challenges they intend to address, and subsequently explores whether urban living labs hold potential as a new forum for urban governance innovation experiments to support positive transformative change. The open access chapter and book are available for download.

The Urban Planet book takes an integrative look at the urban environment, bringing together scholars from a diverse range of disciplines, such as sociology, political science, evolutionary biology, geography, economics and engineering. It includes the perspectives of often neglected voices and includes inputs from architects, journalists, artists and activists. The book provides a much needed cross-scale perspective, connecting challenges and solutions on a local scale with drivers and policy frameworks on a regional and global scale. The authors argue that to overcome the major global environmental challenges we are facing, we must embark on a large-scale reinvention of how we live together, centered around inclusiveness and sustainability.

Contact

Sandra Naumann
Coordinator Biodiversity and Nature-based Solutions
Senior Fellow
Language
English
Authorship
Michele-Lee Moore (University of Victoria)
Kes McCormick (Lund University)
Published in
Urban Planet. Knowledge towards Sustainable Cities
Published by
Year
Dimension
21 pp.
ISBN
9781107196933
DOI
Table of contents
Keywords
Urban living labs, social innovation, governance, sustainable urban development, urban challenges