Direkt zum Inhalt

Improving the Public Acceptance of Bio-Based Products and Processes at Regional and Local Level

 
Front Cover of Publication

© biobridges

Print PDF

Improving the Public Acceptance of Bio-Based Products and Processes at Regional and Local Level

Deliverable 5.4

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Duin, Laurens, Zoritza Kiresiewa, 2020. Improving the Public Acceptance of Bio-Based Products and Processes at Regional and Local Level. biobridges

Dieser Bericht enthält drei Empfehlungen, um die öffentliche Akzeptanz von biobasierten Produkten und Prozessen zu verbessern:

  1. Verbesserung von Wissen, Bildung und Bewusstsein über die Bioökonomie. Auch wenn biobasierte Produkte und Prozesse im Allgemeinen positiv gesehen werden, ist die Öffentlichkeit nach wie vor schlecht darüber informiert, was sie genau darstellen und welche Vorteile sie bieten könnten. Dieser Mangel an Wissen in Kombination mit hohen Erwartungen an die Produktleistung könnte dazu führen, dass die Erwartungen nicht erfüllt werden und somit Enttäuschung entsteht. Dies könnte wiederum die Marktakzeptanz von biobasierten Produkten verhindern.
  2. Erleichterung einer transparenten und glaubwürdigen Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft an der Entwicklung, Umsetzung und Überwachung von Bioökonomie-Strategien. Die Zivilgesellschaft, die sich eindeutig nicht von Regierungs- oder Wirtschaftsinteressen leiten lässt, ist aufgrund ihres Engagements für sozialen Fortschritt ein wichtiger Akteur der Bioökonomie. Vor diesem Hintergrund sollten Verbraucher und Bürger eine aktive Rolle als Mitgestalter in Innovationsprozessen und bei der Strategieentwicklung im Zusammenhang mit der Bioökonomie spielen.
  3. Stärkung der regionalen Dimension der Bioökonomie. Im Laufe der Jahre wurden die Regionen zunehmend - auch in der EU-Politik - als Schlüsselakteure anerkannt, die in einer einzigartigen Position sind, um die Entwicklung der Bioökonomie zu fördern. Regionale Bioökonomie-Cluster sind essentiell für Bürger und Verbraucher, um die wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und ökologischen Vorteile der Bioökonomie zu erfahren. Es hat sich jedoch gezeigt, dass ein erheblicher Teil der europäischen Regionen nicht in der Lage ist, ihr Bioökonomie-Potenzial voll auszuschöpfen.

Diese Empfehlungen werden von konkreten Maßnahmen und Good-Practice-Beispielen begleitet, die auf dem im Rahmen des BIOBRIDGES-Projekts (2018-2020) erhaltenen Stakeholder-Feedback, relevanten Ergebnissen anderer EU-finanzierter Projekte sowie den Ergebnissen einer gezielten Literaturrecherche basieren.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
24 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Bioökonomie, biobasierte Produkte, gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz, EU
Europa

Skip to main content

Improving the Public Acceptance of Bio-Based Products and Processes at Regional and Local Level

 
Front Cover of Publication

© biobridges

Print PDF

Improving the Public Acceptance of Bio-Based Products and Processes at Regional and Local Level

Deliverable 5.4

Publication
Citation

Duin, Laurens, Zoritza Kiresiewa, 2020. Improving the Public Acceptance of Bio-Based Products and Processes at Regional and Local Level. biobridges

This paper provides three recommendations to improve the public acceptance of bio-based products and processes:

  1. Improve knowledge, education, and awareness on the bioeconomy. Even though bio-based products and processes generally are viewed positively, the public remains ill-informed on what they exactly constitute and what benefits they could offer. This lack of knowledge combined with high expectations on product performance could result in expectations not being met, and thus, disappointment. In turn, this could obstruct the market uptake of bio-based products.
  2. Facilitate a transparent and credible participation of civil society in the development, implementation, and monitoring of bioeconomy strategies. Civil society, distinctively not guided by government or business interests, is a key bioeconomy stakeholder due to its commitment to social progress. In this light, consumers and citizens should play an active role as co-creators in innovation processes and strategy development related to the bioeconomy.
  3. Strengthen the regional dimension of the bioeconomy. Over the years, regions have increasingly become acknowledged – including in EU policy – as key actors that are in a unique position to foster bioeconomy development. Regional bioeconomy clusters are essential for citizens and consumers to experience the economic, social and environmental benefits of the bioeconomy. However, it has turned out that a significant portion of European regions are not able to fully seize their bioeconomy potential.

These recommendations are accompanied by concrete actions and good practice examples, based on stakeholder feedback received during the BIOBRIDGES project (2018-2020), relevant results of other EU-funded projects, as well as the results of a targeted literature review.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Funding
Year
Dimension
24 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
bio-based products, public acceptance, EU
Europe