Direkt zum Inhalt

Rio+20: Financial Resources for Improved International Environmental Governance

Print PDF

Rio+20: Financial Resources for Improved International Environmental Governance

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag
Christiane Gerstetter, Benjamin Görlach, Susanah Stoessel, Maria Ivanova, Sandra Cavalieri, Elizabeth Tedsen, Haran Bar-On 2012: Rio+20: Financial Resources for Improved International Environmental Governance. Studie im Auftrags des Umweltbundesamts. Ecologic Institute, Berlin.

Die internationale Architektur für die Finanzierung von Umweltschutzmaßnahmen und -institutionen ist recht unübersichtlich und umfasst eine größere Anzahl von bi- und multilateralen Akteuren, Fonds und Finanzierungsmechanismen. Diese Studie untersucht im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamts das gegenwärtige System der Finanzierung internationaler Umwelt-Governance (IEG) und formuliert Empfehlungen für seine Weiterentwicklung. Die Studie steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Da es gegenwärtig kein umfassendes System für die Erfassung umweltbezogener Finanzströme auf der internationalen Ebene gibt, ist es schwierig, Fragen wie die folgenden eindeutig zu beantworten: Woher kommen Gelder? Wer entscheidet nach welchen Regeln über ihre Verwendung? Wer überprüft ihre Verwendung? Und wie können neue Mechanismen in das bestehende System integriert werden?

Die vorliegende Studie bietet einen Überblick über die Struktur, den Umfang, die Funktionsweise und Schwächen des gegenwärtigen Systems zur IEG-Finanzierung. Daneben diskutiert sie Vor- und Nachteile verschiedener Reformvorschläge.

Sprachen
Englisch
Deutsch
Autorenschaft
Jahr
Umfang
191 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Finanzierung, Governance, Klimawandel, Rio+20, nachhaltige Entwicklung, multilaterale Umweltabkommen, UNEP, IEG

Skip to main content

Rio+20: Financial Resources for Improved International Environmental Governance

 
Print

Rio+20: Financial Resources for Improved International Environmental Governance

Publication
Citation

Christiane Gerstetter, Benjamin Görlach, Susanah Stoessel, Maria Ivanova, Sandra Cavalieri, Elizabeth Tedsen, Haran Bar-On 2012: Rio+20: Financial Resources for Improved International Environmental Governance. Study on behalf of the Federal Environment Agency. Ecologic Institute, Berlin.

The international architecture for financing environmental protection and institutions has become quite confusing, spread out across an increasing number of bilateral and multilateral actors, funds and financing mechanisms. This study, commissioned by the German Federal Environment Agency, investigates the current system and provides recommendations on how to improve it. The study is available for download.

Currently, as there is no established system for the tracking of international, environmentally-focused finance streams, there are no clear and straightforward answers to questions such as: Where do the funds come from? Who decides, and by what rules, how the funds are allocated? Who monitors their use? And how can new financing mechanisms and private funds be integrated into the existing system?

This study provides an overview of the structure, size, functioning of and flaws of the current system for financing international environmental governance (IEG). It also discusses different reform option and their pros and cons.

Languages
German
English
Authorship
Susanah Stoessel
Elizabeth Tedsen JD
Haran Bar-On
Funding
Published by
Year
Dimension
191 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
finance, climate change, international environmental governance, IEG, Rio+20, sustainable development, multilateral environmental agreements, UNEP