Direkt zum Inhalt

Liberalisierungsszenarien für den Wassermarkt (EUROMARKET)

Liberalisierungsszenarien für den Wassermarkt (EUROMARKET)
Print

Liberalisierungsszenarien für den Wassermarkt (EUROMARKET)

Projekt
Forschungsprogramm
Dauer
-

Die möglichen Liberalisierung und Privatisierung von Wasserdienstleistungen in Europa rückte in den letzten Jahre zunehmend ins Zentrum politischer Debatten. Allerdings wurde die mögliche Weiterentwicklung des europäischen Wasser- und Abwassersektors bis dahin nicht ausreichend untersucht. Das EUROMARKET Projekt füllt diese Lücke, in dem es eine Auswahl von Szenarien zur Entwicklung des europäischen Wasser- und Abwassersektors, die von Delegationsverträgen bis zum gemeinschaftlichen Management reichen, analysiert und deren soziale, ökonomisch, institutionellen und Umweltfolgend untersucht.

Projektziele

Der Fokus des Projektes lag darin zu untersuchen, wie sich der europäischen Wasser- und Abwassermarkt in der näheren Zukunft weiter entwickeln wird. Vor diesem Hintergrund untersuchte das Projekt zunächst implizite und explizite Politiken im Wasser- und Abwasserbereich. Die bislang umfassendste Untersuchung der europäischen Wasserwirtschaft erfolgte durch die sogenannte EUROWATER Studie zu Institutionen und Dimensionen der Wasserwirtschaft in Europa. Aufgrund der Entwicklungen im europäischen Wassersektor wurde eine Aktualisierung der Studie, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Einbindung privater Akteure sowie Veränderungen in Regulierung und Gesetzgebung, erforderlich.

Im Herzen des Euromarket Projektes steht die Identifizierung und Evaluierung möglicher Szenarien für den europäischen Wasser- und Abwassermarkt mit unterschiedlichem Grad privater Beteiligung sowie die zugrundeliegenden treibenden Kräfte. Diese Szenarien, einschließlich Delegationsverträge, Outsourcing, regulierte Systeme, öffentliches Management und gemeinschaftliches Management, wurden auf der Basis ihrer sozialen, ökonomischen, institutionellen und Umweltauswirkungen evalutiert. Abschließend wurden Handlungsoptionen für nationale und europäische Entscheidungsträger aufgezeigt, die zur Schaffung einer nachhaltigeren Wasserpolitik erforderlich sind.

Ergebnisse

Die Schlussfolgerungen des Projektes bestanden nicht darin, ein Szenario als zweckmäßiger als ein anderes zu bewerten, sondern vielmehr die möglichen Vorteile und Risiken der Szenarien hervorzuheben. Die Diversität der Managementformen and der in der EU vorhandenen Rahmenbedingungen konnte nicht und sollte nicht durch ein Einheitsmodell ersetzt werden. Das Project zielte vielmehr darauf ab, Informationen für den Entscheidungsfindungsprozess durch die Analyse der Szenarien und deren soziale, ökonomische, institutionelle und Umweltauswirkungen zu liefern.

Am 14. Dezember wurden die Ergebnisse des Projektes auf einer Konferenz in Lausanne vorgestellt. Die Konferenz hatte zum Ziel, ein Forum für die Diskussion von Akteueren der Forschungs- und Politiklandschaft zur Weiterwentwicklung der europäischen Wasser- und Abwasserwirtschaft zu schaffen. Die Präsentationen können auf der Konferenzwebseite heruntergeladen werden.

Downloads

  • Deliverable 1 „Analysis of the European Union’s Explicit and Implicit Policies and Approaches in the Larger Water Sector“ [pdf, 1 MB, Englisch]
  • Deliverable 4 „Analysis of the Legislation and Emerging Regulation at the EU Country Level“ [pdf, 3.5 MB, Englisch]
  • Deliverable 5 „Identification and Description of Plausible Water Liberalisation Scenarios“ [pdf, 2.5 MB, Englisch] mit Annex A „Scenario  Building“ [pdf, 1.5 MB, Englisch] und Annex B „Liberalisation Scenarios“ [pdf, 2.5 MB, Englisch]
  • Deliverable 7 „Analysis of the Environmental Implications of the Scenarios“ [pdf, 1.2 MB, Englisch]

Das EUROMARKET Projekt erhielt finanzielle Förderung durch die Europäische Gemeinschaft im Rahmen des 5. Rahmenprogramms für Forschung, Technische Entwicklung und Demonstrationsaktivitäten für das Spezielle Gezielte Forschungsprojekt EUROMARKET EVK1-CT-2002-00113.

Kontakt

R. Andreas Kraemer
Initiator and Convenor, Arctic Summer College
Founder and Director Emeritus, Ecologic Institute

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Finanzierung
Partner
Team
Nadine Herbke
Britta Ammermüller
Eduard Interwies
Jessica Ward
Dauer
-
Projekt-ID
Schlüsselwörter
Privatisierung, Liberalisierung, Umweltauswirkungen, Wassersektor, Abwassersektor, Wasserwirtschaft, Wasserrahmenrichtlinie, WRRL, Trinkwasser
Europa
Szenarien, Länderübergreifender Vergleich, Fallstudien, 5. Forschungsrahmenprogramm

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Water Liberalisation Scenarios (EUROMARKET)

Project

Water Liberalisation Scenarios (EUROMARKET)

The future of the water sector in Europe has been increasingly at the heart of political debates. Potential evolution of the water supply and sanitation (WSS) sector had not, however, been the subject of in-depth studies. The EUROMARKET project filled this gap by analysing a selection of scenarios for the evolution of the European WSS sector, ranging from delegation contracts to community management, and investigating their social, economic, environmental and institutional implications.

Project Objectives

The project’s focus was laid on the way in which the European water sector may develop in the foreseeable future. In this framework, the project first examined explicit and implicit policies of the EU in the water and sanitation sector. Up to then, the EUROWATER study - Institutional Mechanisms for Water Management in the Context of European Environmental Policy, conducted under the Fourth Framework Programme, provided the most comprehensive in-depth analysis of the European water market. This study needed an update, in particular with regard to private sector participation as well as regulation and legislation.

At the heart of the Euromarket project is the identification and evaluation of possible water scenarios with a varying degree of private involvement and of their driving forces. These scenarios, including delegation contracts, outsourcing, regulated monopoly, direct public management and community management, were assessed on the basis of their social, economic, environmental, legal and institutional implications. Finally, the project outlined the potential choices national and in particular EU policy-makers will have to make in order to establish a more comprehensive and integrated water management policy.

Output

The conclusions of the project did not present one scenario as being more advisable than another but rather highlighted the scenarios’ potential advantages and risks on. Clearly, the diversity of management forms and contexts present in the European Union could not and should not be replaced with a single one. The project rather aimed at informing the decision-making process by analysing the scenarios and their social, economic, environmental and institutional implications.

The results of the Euromarket project were presented at the final conference which was held in Lausanne on 14 December 2005. The conference aimed at creating a forum of discussion among research and policy communities on the evolution of the water sector in Europe. The presentations are available for download.

Downloads

  • Deliverable 1 “Analysis of the European Union’s Explicit and Implicit Policies and Approaches in the Larger Water Sector“ [pdf, 1 MB, English]
  • Deliverable 4 “Analysis of the Legislation and Emerging Regulation at the EU Country Level“ [pdf, 3.5 MB, English]
  • Deliverable 5 “Identification and Description of Plausible Water Liberalisation Scenarios“ [pdf, 2.5 MB, English] with Annex A “Scenario  Building“ [pdf, 1.5 MB, English] and Annex B “Liberalisation Scenarios“ [pdf, 2.5 MB, English]
  • Deliverable 7 “Analysis of the Environmental Implications of the Scenarios“ [pdf, 1.2 MB, English]

The Euromarket project acknowledge financial participation from the European Community under the Fifth Framework Programme for Research, Technological Development and Demonstration Activities for the Specific Targeted Research Project  EUROMARKET EVK1-CT-2002-00113.


Funding
European Commission, Directorate-General Research (DG Research)
Partner
UNESCO, Institute for Water Education (UNESCO-IHE)
Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Chair Management of Network Industries (EPFL-MIR), Switzerland
Delft University of Technology (TU Delft), Netherlands
University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
Duration
January 2003 to December 2005
Project ID
1977
Keywords
Privatisation, liberalisation, environmental implications, water sector, sanitation, waste water, Water Framework Directive, WFD, drinking water, scenario building, cross-country comparison, case studies, Europe