Direkt zum Inhalt

How Will We Know if Absolute Decoupling Has Been Achieved?

Print

How Will We Know if Absolute Decoupling Has Been Achieved?

Common Approach for DYNAMIX

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Umpfenbach, Katharina 2013: How will we know if absolute decoupling has been achieved? Common Approach for DYNAMIX. Ecologic Institute, Berlin.

Das Ziel des DYNAMIX-Projekts ist es, Politikansätze für die Entkopplung von Ressourcenverbrauch und Wirtschaftswachstum in der Europäischen Union (EU) zu erarbeiten. In diesem Bericht definiert Katharina Umpfenbach vom Ecologic Institut die Schlüsselbegriffe und erläutert die dem Projekt zugrunde liegenden Annahmen. Zudem stellt sie einen Ansatz für die Bewertung möglicher Politikmixe entlang der Kriterien Wirksamkeit, Nachhaltigkeit und Kosteneffizienz vor. Der Bericht basiert auf einer Analyse wissenschaftlicher Literatur und politischer Dokumente sowie Diskussionen innerhalb des Forschungskonsortiums und mit Stakeholdern. Der Bericht steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Um die Vision für eine ressourceneffiziente EU zu konkretisieren, schlägt DYNAMIX fünf pragmatische Ziele für 2050 als Benchmark vor, gegen die die Wirksamkeit politischer Interventionen bemessen werden kann. DYNAMIX trägt damit zur laufenden Debatte auf EU-Ebene über angemessene Ziele, Indikatoren und Ambitionsniveaus bei.

Vorgeschlagene EU-Ressourceneffizienzziele für 2050:

  • Verbrauch von Rohmetallen: -80 % im Vergleich zu 2010 gemessen durch Indikator RMC in der EU. Diese Zielvorgabe deckt die Knappheit von Metallen und die Umweltauswirkungen, die durch Abbau, Verarbeitung und Entsorgung von Metallen verursacht, ab.
  • Treibhausgasemissionen: 2 Tonnen CO2-Äquivalent pro Kopf und Jahr (einschließlich der durch Importe verursachten Emissionen). Diese Zielvorgabe deckt die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels ab, der durch Treibhausgasemissionen im Energie-, Industrie und Landwirtschaftssektor verursacht wird.
  • Verbrauch von Ackerland: Reduzierung der Nettonachfrage nach Ackerfläche außerhalb der EU auf null. Diese Zielvorgabe deckt in grober Näherung die Wirkungen der Biomasseproduktion auf die Boden- und Wasserqualität sowie auf die biologische Vielfalt ab.
  • Nährstoffeintrag: Verringerung der Stickstoff-und Phosphorüberschüsse in der EU auf das Niveau, das durch die beste verfügbare Technik erreichbar ist. Dieses Ziel deckt die Auswirkungen landwirtschaftlicher Produktion auf Meer-und Süßwasserqualität sowie auf die Bodenqualität ab.
  • Wasserverbrauch: Keine Region soll unter Wasserknappheit leiden. Dieses Ziel deckt die Auswirkungen der Ressourcennutzung auf Wasserverfügbarkeit ab.

Ein Entwurf dieses Berichts wurde im März 2013 mit Vertretern aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Industrie und Zivilgesellschaft und dem DYNAMIX Advisory Board diskutiert. Das Dokument wird regelmäßig überarbeitet, um neue Erkenntnisse einzubeziehen.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Jahr
Umfang
43 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Ressourceneffizienz, RP7
Europa

Skip to main content

How Will We Know if Absolute Decoupling Has Been Achieved?

Print

How Will We Know if Absolute Decoupling Has Been Achieved?

Common Approach for DYNAMIX

Publication
Citation

Umpfenbach, Katharina 2013: How will we know if absolute decoupling has been achieved? Common Approach for DYNAMIX. Ecologic Institute, Berlin.

The objective of the DYNAMIX project is to identify policy mixes to absolute decoupling of economic growth from resource use and its associated environmental impacts. This study by Ecologic Institute's Katharina Umpfenbach serves to clarify the shared key assumptions that are used throughout the project and ensure their consistent application. It goes on to present a framework for assessing the effectiveness, sustainability, and cost-effectiveness of EU policy mixes aimed at achieving absolute decoupling. The Common Approach stems from two main roots: an analysis of literature and policy documents, and intense discussion, both within the consortium and with stakeholders. The study is available for download.

Rendering a vision for a resource-efficient EU more concrete, DYNAMIX proposes five pragmatic key targets for 2050 as a benchmark against which to assess the effectiveness of policy interventions. Our aim is to contribute to the ongoing debate at EU level about appropriate targets, indicators and ambition levels.

Proposed resource efficiency policy targets for 2050:

  • consumption of virgin metals: -80 % compared to 2010 measured by RMC in the EU representing scarcity of metals and environmental impacts caused by extraction, refinement, processing and disposal of metals;
  • greenhouse gas emissions; 2 tonnes CO2-equivalent per capita and year (measured as footprint to reflect embedded emissions and as EU-internal emissions) representing climate change impacts of greenhouse gas emissions through energy use as well as agricultural and industrial processes;
  • consumption of arable land: zero net demand of non-EU arable land representing, as a rough approximation, impacts of biomass production on soil quality, water quality and biodiversity;
  • nutrients input: reducing nitrogen and phosphorus surpluses in the EU at the level best available technique can achieve representing impacts of agricultural production on marine and freshwater quality as well as soil quality;
  • freshwater use: no region should experience water scarcity representing impacts of resource use on freshwater availability.

A first version was presented to stakeholders from policy, science, business and civil society and to the project's Advisory Boards at DYNAMIX's first Policy Platform in March 2013. The document will be regularly amended to reflect new insights.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Year
Dimension
43 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
resource efficiency, FP7
Europe