Direkt zum Inhalt

Producing Bio-Ethanol from Residues and Wastes

Recreate Policy Brief Nr. 2
Print PDF

Producing Bio-Ethanol from Residues and Wastes

A technology with enormous potential in need of further research and development

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Hirschnitz-Garbers, M. and J. Gosens (2015). Producing bio-ethanol from residues and wastes - A technology with enormous potential in need of further research and development. RECREATE Project Policy Brief No. 2.

Abfall-basiertes Bio-Ethanol kann dem Klimawandel und Landnutzungskonkurrenz entgegenwirken. Für eine umfassende Nutzung des technologischen Potenzials bedarf es weiterer Forschung und Entwicklung und unterstützender politischer Rahmenbedingungen. In diesem Policy Brief erläutern Dr. Martin Hirschnitz-Garbers vom Ecologic Institut und Jorrit Gosens den weiteren Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbedarf dieser Technologie. Der Policy Brief steht als Download zu Verfügung.

Folgende Thesen stellt der 2. RECREATE-Policy Brief vor:

  • Die Herstellung von Bio-Ethanol aus Abfällen verspricht ökonomisches Potential durch diversifizierte Wertschöpfungsketten und geringe Kosten der Ausgangsbrennstoffe.
  • Teilweise unreife Technologie, logistische Herausforderungen in der Beschaffung der Ausgangsbrennstoffe und zögerliche Investoren erschweren eine umfassende Nutzung des technologischen Potentials.
  • Daher wären zielgerichtete Förderung von Forschung und Entwicklung zu Pilot- und Demonstrationsvorhaben für kosteneffiziente Abfall-basierte Bio-Ethanol-Herstellung sowie ambitionierte Ziele für die Nutzung von Biokraftstoffen im Transportsektor relevante und unterstützende politische Maßnahmen.
Abfall-basiertes Bio-Ethanol kann dem Klimawandel und Landnutzungskonkurrenz entgegenwirken. Für eine umfassende Nutzung des technologischen Potenzials bedarf es weiterer Forschung und Entwicklung und unterstützender politischer Rahmenbedingungen.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Jorrit Gosens (SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden)
Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
12 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Bio-ethanol, Abfall-basiert, Geschäftsmodell

Skip to main content

Producing Bio-Ethanol from Residues and Wastes

Recreate Policy Brief Nr. 2
Print PDF

Producing Bio-Ethanol from Residues and Wastes

A technology with enormous potential in need of further research and development

Publication
Citation

Hirschnitz-Garbers, M. and J. Gosens (2015). Producing bio-ethanol from residues and wastes - A technology with enormous potential in need of further research and development. RECREATE Project Policy Brief No. 2.

Waste-based bio-ethanol has the potential to both fight climate change and reduce land competition. However, in order to unlock its potential, support for research and development, as well as an enabling political framework, are needed. In this policy brief, Ecologic Institute's Dr. Martin Hirschnitz-Garbers and Jorrit Gosens explain the technology's need of further research and development. The policy brief is available for download.

Thesis of the policy brief are:

  • Waste-based bio-ethanol helps mitigating climate change while at the same time reducing land competition between energy and food crops.
  • Waste-based bio-ethanol production offers promising economic potential through diversified value chains and low feedstock costs.
  • Partly immature technologies, challenging logistics for sourcing waste, and hesitating investors pose barriers to using this potential.
  • Targeting research and innovation funding at developing and demonstrating costcompetitive waste-based ethanol production, and setting ambitious targets for the use of biofuels in transport would provide needed policy support.
Waste-based bio-ethanol has the potential to both fight climate change and reduce land competition. However, in order to unlock its potential, support for research and development, as well as an enabling political framework, are needed.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Jorrit Gosens (SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden)
Funding
Year
Dimension
12 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
bio-ethanol, waste-based, business case