Direkt zum Inhalt

Evaluating 15 Years of Transport and Environmental Policy Integration

EEA Report No 7/2015
Print PDF

Evaluating 15 Years of Transport and Environmental Policy Integration

TERM 2015: Transport indicators tracking progress towards environmental targets in Europe

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

European Environment Agency (2015): Evaluating 15 years of transport and environmental policy integration - TERM 2015: Transport indicators tracking progress towards environmental targets in Europe. EEA Report No 7/2015, European Environment Agency, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Der "Transport and Environment Reporting Mechanism (TERM)" sorgt seit 2000 für das Monitoring der Integration von Umweltzielen in die Verkehrspolitik der EU. Im Bericht "TERM 2015" werden die wichtigsten umweltrelevanten Entwicklungen im Verkehrssektor untersucht und Verbesserungen sowie Hemmnisse für die Umweltverträglichkeit des Sektors identifiziert. Das Ecologic Institut trug mit einem Kapitel über Verkehr und Biodiversität zu dem "TERM 2015"-Bericht bei. Der vollständige Bericht steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Verkehr kann auf unterschiedliche Weise die Biodiversität belasten. Die Gestaltung und die Nutzung der Verkehrsinfrastruktur beeinflusst und verändert die Qualität und die Vernetzung von Habitaten. Die Bewegungsfreiheit von Tieren und Pflanzen zwischen Habitatsgebieten kann verhindert oder eingeschränkt werden. Als Folge der Habitatsfragmentierung sind Tiere verstärkt durch Fahrzeuge gefährdet, werden isoliert oder entwickeln Verhaltensänderungen, die ein Risiko für das Überleben der Art darstellen. Die Entwicklung und die Nutzung der Verkehrsinfrastruktur kann auch die Belastung durch Umweltverschmutzung in Habitatsgebieten erhöhen und als Überträger für invasive fremde Arten dienen. Dieses Kapitel erläutert politische Maßnahmen, wie die Einführung von Verfahren und Verpflichtungen, um die genannten Konsequenzen zu minimieren. Allerdings ist die Implementierung der Maßnahmen in der Praxis noch mangelhaft.

Der Bericht zieht die Schlussfolgerung, dass anspruchsvollere Maßnahmen und Verbesserungen in der Implementierung im Verkehrssektor notwendig sind, um die politischen Zielen in Europa zu erreichen.

Der "TERM 2015" Bericht analysiert die Entwicklung des Verkehrsektors und seiner Auswirkung auf die Umwelt seit 2000 in der EU. Das Ecologic Institut hat mit einem Kapitel über Verkehr und Biodiversität zu dem "TERM 2015" Bericht beigetragen.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Keighley McFarland
Finanzierung
Veröffentlicht in
EEA Report, No 7/2015
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
79 S.
ISBN
978-92-9213-714-4 713-7
ISSN
1977-8449
DOI
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Biodiversität, Verkehr, Europäische Union, TEN-T, Naturschutzrichtlinien, Natura 2000, Wasserrahmenrichtlinie, Habitatfragmentierung, Naturschutz, Artenschutz
Europa

Skip to main content

Evaluating 15 Years of Transport and Environmental Policy Integration

EEA Report No 7/2015
Print PDF

Evaluating 15 Years of Transport and Environmental Policy Integration

TERM 2015: Transport indicators tracking progress towards environmental targets in Europe

Publication
Citation

European Environment Agency (2015): Evaluating 15 years of transport and environmental policy integration - TERM 2015: Transport indicators tracking progress towards environmental targets in Europe. EEA Report No 7/2015, European Environment Agency, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Since 2000 the Transport and Environment Reporting Mechanism (TERM) has monitored the progress of the integration of environmental objectives into transport policy in the EU. The TERM 2015 report investigates key developments in the transport sector with regards to environment, identifying what has improved and what has been a barrier to the sector's environmental performance. Ecologic Institute contributed to the TERM 2015 report with a chapter on transport and biodiversity. The full report is available for download.

Transport can negatively affect biodiversity in a variety of ways. The design and use of road, rail and waterborne transport infrastructure alters the quality and connectivity of habitats and can create physical barriers to the movement of plants and animals between habitat areas. Species can be injured or killed by vehicles, become isolated by habitat fragmentation, or exhibit behavioural changes that put their survival at risk, such as feeding on or near roads or changes in migratory behaviour. The development and use of transport infrastructure can also increase pollution levels in surrounding habitats and serve as a vector for the spread of non-native and invasive species. The chapter highlights a number of policies that have been introduced establishing procedures and obligations to minimise such consequences. However, gaps remain concerning their implementation in practical terms.

The report concludes that more ambitious measures and improved implementation are necessary in the transport sector to meet existing policy goals.

The TERM 2015 report analyses how the transport sector and its effect on the environment have evolved in Europe since 2000, with a contribution on transport and biodiversity by Ecologic Institute.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Keighley McFarland
Funding
Published in
EEA Report, No 7/2015
Published by
Year
Dimension
79 pp.
ISBN
978-92-9213-714-4 713-7
ISSN
1977-8449
DOI
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
biodiversity, transport, European Union, TEN-T, Nature Directives, Natura 2000, Water Framework Directive, habitat fragementation, conservation
Europe