Direkt zum Inhalt

Benedict Bueb

Print

Benedict Bueb

MA (Internationale Beziehungen)
BA (Politik und Wirtschaft)

Coordinator Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
Researcher

Team
Themen

Benedict Bueb arbeitet als Researcher für das Ecologic Institut. Zudem koordiniert er die Institutsarbeit zu den UN-Nachhaltigkeitszielen (SDGs). Ein Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit liegt auf umweltpolitischen Analysen, mit einem thematischen Fokus auf Wasser, Klimaanpassung und internationaler Zusammenarbeit. Seine weiteren Forschungsinteressen umfassen sozioökonomische Fragen der Klimaanpassung sowie das Potential naturbasierter Lösungen für nachhaltige Entwicklung, Klimaschutz und -anpassung. Benedict Bueb ist deutscher Muttersprachler und arbeitet zudem auf Englisch und Spanisch.

Am Ecologic Institut ist Benedict Bueb der Projektmanager des INTERLACE-Projekts.  Dieses vom Horizont 2020 Programm der Europäischen Kommission finanzierte Projekt fördert die internationale Zusammenarbeit zur Renaturierung urbaner Ökosysteme in Lateinamerika und Europa durch naturbasierte Lösungen (NBS).

In seiner Forschungsarbeit ist er an einem Projekt zur Stärkung der gemeinsamen Umsetzung der Agenda 2030, des Pariser Abkommens und des Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction beteiligt, in dem er ein Konzept für "nachhaltige Anpassungspfade" entwickelt. Zudem analysiert er im Projekt WADKlim das Risiko von wasserbasierten Konflikten infolge von Dürren und Wasserknappheit in Deutschland sowie Maßnahmen zu deren Abschwächung. Darüber hinaus unterstützt er das Projekt Digital Water City, welches das Potenzial von Daten und digitalen Technologien für ein nachhaltiges Wassermanagement in fünf europäischen Großstädten untersucht.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit für das Ecologic Institut arbeitete Benedict Bueb als Praktikant und Consultant für die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) in Eschborn. Zudem absolvierte er Praktika im Landesbüro der KfW-Entwicklungsbank in Yangon (Myanmar), in der Deutschen Botschaft Belgrad sowie im Deutschen Bundestag.

Benedict Bueb absolvierte ein Masterstudium in Internationalen Beziehungen an der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin sowie der Universität Potsdam. In seiner Masterarbeit untersuchte er im Rahmen von Aufenthalten vor Ort die Umsetzung von Wassermanagementreformen im Süden Ecuadors und die Beteiligung internationaler Organisationen an diesem Prozess. Er hat außerdem einen Bachelor-Abschluss in "Politik und Wirtschaft" der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Während seines Studiums verbrachte er Auslandssemester an der Elliott School of International Affairs der George Washington University in Washington, DC (USA) sowie der Universidade de Lisboa (Portugal).

Benedict Bueb per E-Mail kontaktieren

Ihre hier eingegebenen Daten werden nur für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Anfrage verarbeitet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Erklärung zum Datenschutz.

Skip to main content

Benedict Bueb

Print

Benedict Bueb

MA (International Relations)
BA (Politics and Economics)

Coordinator Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
Researcher

Team
Topics

Benedict Bueb is a Researcher at Ecologic Institute. In addition, he coordinates the Institute's work on the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). In his research, he focuses on environmental governance and policy, with an emphasis on climate adaptation, water and international development. Further specific interests include the socioeconomic aspects of environmental policies as well as the potential of nature-based solutions (NBS) for sustainable development, climate adaptation and mitigation. Benedict Bueb is a native German speaker who also works in English and Spanish.

At Ecologic Institute, Benedict Bueb is the project manager of INTERLACE project. The project, funded by the European Commission's Horizon 2020 program, fosters international cooperation to restore urban ecosystems in Latin America and Europe through nature-based solutions (NBS).

In his research work, he analyzes "sustainable adaptation pathways" in a project to strengthen the joint implementation of the 2030 Agenda, the Paris Agreement and the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction. He is further involved in the WADKlim project assessing the risk of water-based conflicts resulting from droughts and water scarcity in Germany as well as potential measures to mitigate them. In addition, he supports the project Digital Water City exploring the potential of data and digital technologies to enhance the sustainability in the water management of five major European cities.

Before joining Ecologic Institute, Benedict Bueb worked at the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) as a consultant and intern. Furthermore, he held internships at the country office of KfW development bank in Yangon (Myanmar), the German Embassy in Belgrade (Serbia) and the German Federal Parliament (Deutscher Bundestag).

Benedict Bueb holds a master's degree in International Relations from Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and Universität Potsdam (Germany). In his master´s thesis, he conducted field research in Ecuador to analyze the implementation of recent water management reforms in the country and the involvement of international organizations in this process. He also holds a bachelor's degree in Politics and Economics from Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (Germany). During his studies, he spent semesters abroad at George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs in Washington, DC (USA) and at the Universidade de Lisboa (Portugal).

Contact Benedict Bueb by Email

The data sent will only be processed for the purpose of processing your request. You will find further information in our privacy notice.