Direkt zum Inhalt

Biodiversity Management for Rivers of the Swiss Plateau

Print PDF

Biodiversity Management for Rivers of the Swiss Plateau

AQUACROSS Case Study 7 Report

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Kuemmerlen, Mathias et al. 2018: Case Study 7 Report: Biodiversity Management for Rivers of the Swiss Plateau. Eawag, Ecologic Institute, University of Liverpool: Dübendorf, Berlin, Liverpool.

Die Süßwasser-Ökosysteme im Schweizer Mittelland sind von mehreren Stressfaktoren bedroht, die die Wasserqualität und Hydromorphologie verschlechtern. Um diese Ökosysteme wiederherzustellen und den Rückgang der biologischen Vielfalt zu stoppen, werden in den nächsten Jahrzehnten mehrere Managementmaßnahmen umgesetzt. Wir schlagen Methoden für eine räumliche und zeitliche Priorisierung vor, um Maßnahmen aus verschiedenen Sektoren zu koordinieren und ihre Wirksamkeit unter Berücksichtigung anderer gesellschaftlicher Bedürfnisse zu maximieren.

In dieser Fallstudie versuchen wir den aktuellen Wissensstand über die dominierenden Ursache-Wirkungs-Beziehungen bezüglich der Abnahme des ökologischen Zustandes und der Artenvielfalt in Flüssen im Schweizer Mittelland zu quantifizieren. Darüber hinaus nutzen wir dieses Wissen, um Flussmanagementstrategien zu identifizieren, die positive Auswirkungen auf den ökologischen Zustand und die Biodiversität von Flüssen im Schweizer Mittelland haben können, aber auch die Bereitstellung von Ökosystemleistungen erhöhen, ohne andere signifikant zu beeinträchtigen. Diese Ziele werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Stakeholdern, in erster Linie Fachkräften aus dem Bereich des Oberflächenwasserschutzes, erarbeitet, um von deren Wissen und Kreativität zu profitieren und die Entwicklung von Alternativen zu unterstützen, die möglicherweise in Schweizer Flussbewirtschaftungsplänen umgesetzt werden können.

Die Fallstudie [pdf, 1.9 MB, Englisch] als auch die Zusammenfassung [pdf, 376 KB, Englisch], stehen als Download zur Verfügung.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Helene Hoffmann
Mathias Kuemmerlen (Eawag)
Nele Schuwirth (Eawag)
Peter Reichert (Eawag)
Peter Vermeiren (Eawag)
Fiona Culhane (University of Liverpool)
Credits

With contributions from:

Rosi Siber, Ruth Scheidegger, Diana van Dijk (all Eawag), Manuel Lago (Ecologic), Florian Borgwardt, Daniel Trauner (BOKU), Heliana Texeira (University of Aveiro)
 

Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
40 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Süßwasser, Küste, Meer, Ökosysteme, Widerstandsfähigkeit, EU 2020 Biodiversitätsstrategie, Naturschutz, aquatische Biodiversität, ökosystemgestütztes Management, Europa, H2020, Bewertungsrahmen, politische Ziele, Nachhaltigkeit, Fallstudien
Europa, Schweizer Mittelland

Skip to main content

Biodiversity Management for Rivers of the Swiss Plateau

Print

Biodiversity Management for Rivers of the Swiss Plateau

AQUACROSS Case Study 7 Report

Publication
Citation

Kuemmerlen, Mathias et al. 2018: Case Study 7 Report: Biodiversity Management for Rivers of the Swiss Plateau. Eawag, Ecologic Institute, University of Liverpool: Dübendorf, Berlin, Liverpool.

Freshwater ecosystems in the Swiss plateau are threatened by multiple stressors that deteriorate water quality and hydromorphology. To restore these ecosystems and stop the biodiversity decline, multiple management measures will be implemented over the next decades. We propose methods for a spatial and temporal prioritisation to coordinate measures from different sectors and maximise their effectiveness while considering other societal needs.

In this study, we try to quantify the current state of knowledge on the dominant cause-effect relationships regarding the decrease in ecological status and biodiversity in rivers in the Swiss plateau. Furthermore, we use this knowledge to identify river management strategies that can be expected to have positive effects on the ecological state and biodiversity of rivers in the Swiss plateau, while also increasing the provision of some ecosystem services without significantly decreasing others. These objectives are addressed in close collaboration with stakeholders, primarily professionals from governmental agencies in the field of surface water protection, to profit from their knowledge and creativity and to support the design of alternatives that may have the potential of being implemented in Swiss river management plans.

The case study [pdf, 1.9 MB, English], as well as the summary [pdf, 376 KB, English], are available for download.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Helene Hoffmann
Mathias Kuemmerlen (Eawag)
Nele Schuwirth (Eawag)
Peter Reichert (Eawag)
Peter Vermeiren (Eawag)
Fiona Culhane (University of Liverpool)
Credits

With contributions from:

Rosi Siber, Ruth Scheidegger, Diana van Dijk (all Eawag), Manuel Lago (Ecologic), Florian Borgwardt, Daniel Trauner (BOKU), Heliana Texeira (University of Aveiro)
 

Funding
Year
Dimension
40 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
freshwater, coastal, marine, ecosystems, resilience, EU 2020 Biodiversity Strategy, nature conservation aquatic biodiversity, ecosystem-based management, Europe, H2020, assessment framework, policy targets, sustainability, case studies
Europa, Swiss plateau