Direkt zum Inhalt

Trade-Offs in Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management in the North Sea Aimed at Achieving Biodiversity Strategy Targets

Print PDF

Trade-Offs in Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management in the North Sea Aimed at Achieving Biodiversity Strategy Targets

AQUACROSS Case Study 1 Report

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Piet, Gerjan et al. 2018: Case Study 1 Report: Trade-Offs in Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management in the North Sea Aimed at Achieving Biodiversity Strategy Targets. WUR, RBINS, ULIV, Ecologic Institute: Wageningen, Brussels, Liverpool, Berlin.

In den letzten drei Jahren wurde das AQUACROSS Assessment Framework in acht Fallstudien in ganz Europa entwickelt, getestet und angewendet, um lokale Probleme der Biodiversität zu anzugehen. Schließlich wurden die Ergebnisse der einzelnen Fallstudien in einem 30-seitigen Fallstudienbericht und einem 3-seitigen Executive Summary Report veröffentlicht. Sie stehen zum Download bereit.

Die Nordsee ist eines der belebtesten Meere mit vielen (oft wachsenden oder neu entstehenden) Sektoren, die Anspruch auf ein begrenztes Raumangebot haben. Zu den wichtigsten menschlichen Aktivitäten gehören Fischerei, Schifffahrt, Öl- und Gasförderung und neu entstehende Aktivitäten wie der Sektor der erneuerbaren Energien. Diese Kombination aus menschlichen Aktivitäten und der damit verbundenen Umweltbelastung hat die Erreichung der ökologischen Ziele für die Nordsee stark behindert (Knights, 2011; OSPAR, 2010; EEA, 2015). 

Im Sinne der langfristigen europäischen Blue Growth-Strategie zur Unterstützung eines nachhaltigen Wachstums im marinen und maritimen Sektor dürften viele dieser Aktivitäten, wie Offshore-Windparks (OWFs), zunehmen und sich möglicherweise weiter auf die marine Biodiversität und die von ihr gegebenen Ökosystemdienstleistungen auswirken. Das Management von oft mehreren konkurrierenden Interessen ist komplex und erfordert neue, stärker integrierte Ansätze wie Maritime Raumplanung (MSP) oder Ökosystembasiertes Management (EBM), die zusätzliche Anforderungen an die wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisgrundlage stellen.

Diese Studie zielt darauf ab, die Anforderungen der wissenschaftlichen Forschungsgrundlage der Nordsee zu ermitteln, um bessere Leitlinien für solche neuartigen, integrierten und stärker ökosystembasierten Managementansätze zu liefern.

Die Fallstudie [pdf, 1.9 MB, Englisch] als auch die Zusammenfassung [pdf, 568 KB, Englisch], stehen als Download zur Verfügung.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Lina Röschel
Gerjan Piet (WUR)
Marloes Kraan (WUR)
Bob Rumes (Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Science)
Fiona Culhane (University of Liverpool)
Leonie Robinson (University of Liverpool)
Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
39 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Süßwasser, Küste, Meer, Ökosysteme, Widerstandsfähigkeit, EU 2020 Biodiversitätsstrategie, Naturschutz, aquatische Biodiversität, ökosystemgestütztes Management, Europa, H2020, Bewertungsrahmen, politische Ziele, Nachhaltigkeit, Fallstudien
Europa, Nordsee

Skip to main content

Trade-Offs in Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management in the North Sea Aimed at Achieving Biodiversity Strategy Targets

Print PDF

Trade-Offs in Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management in the North Sea Aimed at Achieving Biodiversity Strategy Targets

AQUACROSS Case Study 1 Report

Publication
Citation

Piet, Gerjan et al. 2018: Case Study 1 Report: Trade-Offs in Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management in the North Sea Aimed at Achieving Biodiversity Strategy Targets. WUR: Wageningen.

Over the past three years, the AQUACROSS Assessment Framework was developed, tested, and applied in eight case studies across Europe to solve local biodiversity challenges. Finally, results from each Case Study were published in a 30-page case study report and 3-page executive summary report. The case study is available for download.

The North Sea is one of the busiest seas with many (often growing or newly emerging) sectors laying claim to a limited amount of space. The main human activities include fishing, shipping, oil and gas extraction, and newly emerging activities such as the renewable energy sector. These combined human activities and their associated pressures on the environment have hindered the achievement of the ecological goals for the North Sea (Knights, 2011; OSPAR,  2010; EEA, 2015). 

In line with the European long-term Blue Growth strategy to support sustainable growth in the marine and maritime sectors, many of these activities,  such as offshore wind farms (OWFs), are expected to increase and potentially further impact marine biodiversity and the ecosystem services it provides. Management of often multiple competing interests is complex and requires novel, more integrated approaches such as Maritime Spatial Planning (MSP) or Ecosystem-based Management (EBM), which come with additional requirements to the scientific knowledge base.

This study aims at identifying the requirements of the North Sea scientific knowledge base to provide better guidance for such novel, integrated and more ecosystem-based management approaches.

The case study [pdf, 1.9 MB, English], as well as the summary [pdf, 568 KB, English], are available for download.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Lina Röschel
Gerjan Piet (WUR)
Marloes Kraan (WUR)
Bob Rumes (Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Science)
Fiona Culhane (University of Liverpool)
Leonie Robinson (University of Liverpool)
Funding
Year
Dimension
39 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
freshwater, coastal, marine, ecosystems, resilience, EU 2020 Biodiversity Strategy, nature conservation aquatic biodiversity, ecosystem-based management, Europe, H2020, assessment framework, policy targets, sustainability, case studies
Europe, North Sea