Direkt zum Inhalt

Towards Sustainable Adaptation Pathways

 
Publication's cover

© Federal Environment Agency (UBA)

Print

Towards Sustainable Adaptation Pathways

A concept for integrative actions to achieve the 2030 Agenda, Paris Agreement and Sendai Framework

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Bueb, Benedict, Tröltzsch, Jenny, Reichwein, David, Oldenburg, Clara, Favero, Fausto (2021): Towards Sustainable Adaptation Pathways. A concept for integrative actions to achieve the 2030 Agenda, Paris Agreement and Sendai Framework. Climate Change | 48/2021. Dessau-Roßlau: Umweltbundesamt

Die verheerenden Sturzfluten und Waldbrände in Europa im Sommer 2021 haben die Notwendigkeit einer stärkeren Verknüpfung von Katastrophenrisikomanagement und Klimaanpassungsbemühungen deutlich gemacht. In diesem Bericht wird das Konzept der nachhaltigen Anpassungspfade vorgestellt, das als Orientierungshilfe für Anpassungsmaßnahmen dienen kann, die im Einklang mit den Bemühungen um Katastrophenrisikominderung und nachhaltige Entwicklung geplant und umgesetzt werden.

2015 war ein entscheidendes Jahr für die Bewältigung globaler Herausforderungen. Unter dem Dach der Vereinten Nationen wurden die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung, das Pariser Klimaabkommen und das Sendai-Rahmenwerk für Katastrophenvorsorge verabschiedet. Sechs Jahre nach ihrer Verabschiedung hinkt die Umsetzung dieser Post-2015-Agenden in vielerlei Hinsicht hinterher, so dass nach Wegen gesucht werden muss, um ihre wirksame Umsetzung zu verbessern. Ein Weg nach vorn besteht darin, Synergien zwischen den Agenden zu ermitteln und zu nutzen.

Die jüngsten Sturzfluten und Waldbrände in Europa machen deutlich, wie wichtig eine stärkere Kohärenz zwischen diesen Prozessen ist. Operative und politische Instrumente stehen zur Verfügung, um Synergien auf der Umsetzungsebene zu realisieren. Dennoch sind mangelnde institutionelle Kapazitäten, fehlende intersektorale Koordination und eine unzureichende Finanzierung nur einige der Hindernisse, die einer kohärenten Politik in der Praxis entgegenstehen.

In diesem Bericht wird das Konzept der nachhaltigen Anpassungspfade (Sustainable Adaptation Pathways, SAPs) vorgestellt, das bei der Planung und Umsetzung integrierter politischer Maßnahmen als Orientierungshilfe dienen kann. SAPs beschreiben ein kohärentes Bündel alternativer Anpassungsstrategien und -prozesse, die aus Maßnahmen und Politiken bestehen, um die Kapazitäten von Bevölkerungen, Institutionen und Ökosystemen zur Anpassung an klimabedingte Risiken im Laufe der Zeit zu stärken. Gleichzeitig verbessern die SAPs die soziale Gerechtigkeit, die ökologische Integrität und die wirtschaftliche Nachhaltigkeit sozio-ökologischer Systeme.

Der Bericht stellt Fallstudien vor, um spezifische Aspekte der Anwendung des Konzepts in der Praxis zu veranschaulichen. Ausführliche Beschreibungen von 20 Fallstudien sind in einer separaten Veröffentlichung zusammengefasst. Darüber hinaus enthält der Bericht praktische Empfehlungen für die Umsetzung von SAPs. Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse, die für die Umsetzung in der Praxis relevant sind, sind in einer Briefing Note zusammengefasst. Expert:innen diskutierten die Ergebnisse des Papiers zudem im Rahmen einer Podiumsdiskussion am Rande des Hochrangigen Politischen Forums für nachhaltige Entwicklung 2021 (HLPF) der Vereinten Nationen.

Kontakt

Benedict Bueb
Coordinator Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
Researcher

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Fausto Favero
Credits

Mit Unterstützung von:
Julia Teebken, Klaus Jacob, Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik, Freie Universität, Berlin
Martin Voß, Katastrophenforschungsstelle Berlin (KFS), Freie Universität, Berlin
Ralph Bodle, Ecologic Institut, Berlin

Finanzierung
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
112 S.
ISSN
1862-4359
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
SDGs, Agenda 2030, Pariser Abkommen, Sendai Framework, Katastrophenvorsorge, Internationale Entwicklung, Anpassung an den Klimawandel, Klima, Nachhaltigkeit, Vereinte Nationen

Skip to main content

Towards Sustainable Adaptation Pathways

 
Publication's cover

© Federal Environment Agency (UBA)

Print

Towards Sustainable Adaptation Pathways

A concept for integrative actions to achieve the 2030 Agenda, Paris Agreement and Sendai Framework

Publication
Citation

Bueb, Benedict, Tröltzsch, Jenny, Reichwein, David, Oldenburg, Clara, Favero, Fausto (2021): Towards Sustainable Adaptation Pathways. A concept for integrative actions to achieve the 2030 Agenda, Paris Agreement and Sendai Framework. Climate Change | 48/2021. Dessau-Roßlau: Umweltbundesamt

The devastating flash floods and forest fires in Europe in summer 2021 have highlighted the need for stronger linking disaster risk management with climate adaptation efforts. This report introduces the concept of Sustainable Adaptation Pathways that can act as guidance when planning and implementing integrated policies to foster adaptation measures in line with disaster risk reduction efforts and sustainable development.

2015 was a watershed year for addressing global challenges. Under the umbrella of the United Nations, the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, the Paris Agreement on Climate Change and the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction were adopted. Six years after their adoption, implementation of these post-2015 agendas lags behind in many aspects, raising the need for exploring pathways that enhance their effective implementation. One way forward is working towards identifying and using synergies between them.

The underlying policy fields of climate change adaptation, disaster risk reduction and sustainable development are linked through a common emphasis on reducing vulnerabilities. The recent flash floods in Europe underscore the importance of enhanced coherence between these processes. Operational and policy instruments are available to realize synergies at the implementation level. Nevertheless, a lack of institutional capacities, policy-making in silos instead of cross-sectoral coordination and insufficient funding are just some of the barriers hindering coherent policies in practice.

This report introduces the concept of Sustainable Adaptation Pathways (SAPs) that can act as guidance when planning and implementing integrated policies that aim to foster sustainable adaptation measures. SAPs describe a coherent set of alternative adaptation strategies and procedures composed of measures and policies to strengthen the capacities of populations, institutions and ecosystems to adapt to climate-related risks over time. At the same time, SAPs enhance the social justice, environmental integrity and economic sustainability of socio-ecological systems.

The report presents case studies to illustrate specific aspects of applying the concept in practice. Detailed description of 20 case studies are collected in a separate publication. In addition, the report provides practical recommendations for implementing SAPs, taking into account both enabling contextual factors and lock-in effects. The main findings relevant to implementation in practice are summarized in a briefing note. Experts discussed the findings of the paper during a panel discussion parallel to the United Nations High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development 2021.

Contact

Benedict Bueb
Coordinator Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
Researcher

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Fausto Favero
Credits

With support from:
Julia Teebken, Klaus Jacob, Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik, Freie Universität, Berlin
Martin Voß, Katastrophenforschungsstelle Berlin (KFS), Freie Universität, Berlin
Ralph Bodle, Ecologic Institut, Berlin

Funding
Published by
Year
Dimension
112 pp.
ISSN
1862-4359
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
SDGs, Agenda 2030, Paris Agreement, Sendai Framework, Disaster Risk Reduction, International Development, Climate Change Adaptation, Climate, Sustainability, United Nations