Direkt zum Inhalt

Bonner Konvention: Handbuch und e-community

World Café Workshop
Print PDF

Bonner Konvention: Handbuch und e-community

Projekt
Dauer
-

Das internationale Übereinkommen zur Erhaltung wandernder wild lebender Tierarten (auch bekannt als Bonner Konvention oder CMS - Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals) wurde 1979 unterzeichnet. Es dient der Erhaltung wandernder Tierarten in ihrem gesamten Lebensraum auf dem Land, im Wasser und in der Luft. Die Vertragsstaaten benennen nationale Kontaktstellen (National Focal Point, NFP) als Bindeglied zwischen den relevanten Regierungsstellen und den CMS Sekretariaten. Das Ecologic Institut hat ein Handbuch für die NFPs und ein Konzept für eine NFP e-community Plattform entwickelt.

CMS Handbuch unterstützt nationale Kontaktstellen bei Pflichterfüllung

Ziel des Handbuchs ist es, die Rolle und Verantwortung der NFPs zu erklären. Es bietet Leitlinien wie die NFPs effektiv zur Umsetzung der CMS Instrumente beitragen können und wie der Austausch zwischen den Vertragsstaaten und den CMS Sekretariaten gefördert werden kann. Das Handbuch motiviert die NFPs dazu, als Bindeglied für den Erfahrungsaustausch im internationalen Artenschutz zu fungieren.

NFP e-community fördert Austausch von Wissen und Erfahrungen

Das Ecologic Institut hat ein Konzept für eine NFP e-community Plattform erarbeitet, die den Rahmen für eine virtuelle Community of Practice für die tägliche Arbeit von NFPs bieten soll. Im Konzept werden Informationsarchitektur, Wissensaufbereitung, Funktionalitäten, Nutzerrollen und moderne Online-Tools für Partizipation, Kommunikation und Kollaboration spezifiziert. Zudem wurde ein Prototyp der Plattform erstellt.

Zielgruppen waren an der Entwicklung von Handbuch und e-community Plattform beteiligt

In einem ersten Projektschritt hat Ecologic die Informationsbedürfnisse der NFPs mit Hilfe eines online Fragebogens erhoben. Vertreter der NFPs und der CMS Sekretariate haben Entwurfsversionen des Handbuchs und des e-community Konzeptes in mehreren Feedbackschleifen kommentiert.  Zudem wurde eine 25-köpfige Arbeitsgruppe mit aktiven Experten aus verschiedenen Regionen und mit diversen kulturellen und professionellen Hintergründen gegründet, um die Projektfortschritte zu begutachten.

Am 1. und 2. November 2012 traf sich die Arbeitsgruppe zu einem Workshop in Bonn, um das Handbuch zu diskutieren. Dazu wurde die Partizipationsmethode "Word Café" eingesetzt. Die Arbeitsgruppe hatte auch die Möglichkeit, den Prototyp der e-community Plattform zu testen. Das Feedback zur Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Plattform war positiv. Das Ecologic Institut moderierte den Workshop zusammen mit Vertretern der CMS Information and Capacity Building Unit. Der Workshop wurde zudem vom AEWA (Abkommen zur Erhaltung der afrikanisch-eurasischen wandernden Wasservögel) Sekretariat unterstützt.

Kontakt

Finanzierung
Partner
Team
Susanne Altvater, Ass.iur.
Simone Schiele
Nils Jansen
Stephan Gürtler
Dauer
-
Projekt-ID
Schlüsselwörter
migratory species, wildlife, habitats, protection, range states, agreements, Memoranda of Understanding, CMS, Bonn Convention, CMS Family instruments, Parties, Signatories, intergovernmental treaty, UNEP, bat, cetacean, seal, waterbird, albatross, petrel,
global
gorilla, siberian crane, slender-billed curlew, marine turtle, great bustard, Bukhara deer, aquatic warbler, elephant, Saiga antelope, dugong, manatee, monk seal, ruddy-headed goose, grassland bird, bird of prey, flamingo, shark, Andean huemul, manual, handbook, guidelines, online questionnaire, user requirement assessment, World Café, website prototyping, usability testing, e-learning, blended learning, learning on demand, community-of-practice, knowledge management, information architecture, interface design

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Convention on Migratory Species: Manual and e-community

Convention on Migratory Species: Manual and e-community

The international Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (also known as CMS or Bonn Convention) aims to conserve terrestrial, aquatic, and avian migratory species throughout their migration routes. All contracting Parties designate National Focal Points (NFP) as liaison officers between relevant government offices and the CMS Secretariats. Ecologic Institute has developed a manual for the NFPs as well as a concept for an NFP e-community platform.

CMS manual supports NFPs in fulfilling their duties

The aim of the manual is to clarify the general roles and responsibilities of NFPs. It gives guidance on how to contribute effectively to the implementation of the instruments under the CMS and how to facilitate interactions between the Parties and the CMS Secretariats. The manual encourages the NFPs to act as a facilitator between institutions through the sharing of experiences in species conservation.

NFP e-community facilitates the exchange of knowledge and experiences

Ecologic Institute has developed a concept for an NFP e-community platform which provides a framework for an online community-of-practice designed to facilitate the daily work of NFPs. The concept specifies the platform’s information architecture, knowledge presentation, functionalities, user roles as well as advanced online e-learning tools for participation, communication, and collaboration. A prototype of the e-community platform has been set up during the project duration.

Target groups were involved in the development of the manual and e-community platform

In a first step of the project, Ecologic Institute collected and assessed the information needs of the NFPs via an online questionnaire. Representatives from the NFPs and the CMS Secretariats were asked to comment on draft versions of the manual and e-community concept in several feedback loops. Furthermore, a working group of 25 active experts from different regions, cultural and professional backgrounds had been formed to review the progress made.

On 1-2 November 2012, the working group met in Bonn to discuss the manual using the participatory World Café method. They also had the opportunity to test the prototype of the e-community platform, which led to positive feedback on its usability. Ecologic Institute facilitated the workshop together with the CMS Information and Capacity Building Unit’s Officers, and with support from the AEWA (Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds) Secretariat.


Funding
United United Nations Environment Programme, Secretariat of the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (UNEP / CMS)
Partner
Duration
May 2012 to February 2013
Project ID
2387
Keywords
migratory species, wildlife, habitats, protection, range states, agreements, Memoranda of Understanding, CMS, Bonn Convention, CMS Family instruments, Parties, Signatories, intergovernmental treaty, UNEP, bat, cetacean, seal, waterbird, albatross, petrel,, gorilla, siberian crane, slender-billed curlew, marine turtle, great bustard, Bukhara deer, aquatic warbler, elephant, Saiga antelope, dugong, manatee, monk seal, ruddy-headed goose, grassland bird, bird of prey, flamingo, shark, Andean huemul, manual, handbook, guidelines, online questionnaire, user requirement assessment, World Café, website prototyping, usability testing, e-learning, blended learning, learning on demand, community-of-practice, knowledge management, information architecture, interface design, global