Direkt zum Inhalt

Raus aus dem Rathaus

Print PDF

Raus aus dem Rathaus

Dialog mit Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Piotrowski, Ralph; Susanne Langsdorf und Ania Rok 2013: Raus aus dem Rathaus - Dialog mit Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen. [Policy Brief]. Berlin: Ecologic Institut.

Ob Initiativen wie "Teilen statt besitzen", Kooperativen für Windenergie oder "Urban Gardening": In ganz Europa entwickeln sich Graswurzelbewegungen, die neue Antworten auf gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen suchen. Dieser Policy Brief untersucht, wie lokale Regierungen mit Graswurzelbewegungen zusammenarbeiten können. Die Kooperation ermöglicht der staatlichen Seite einen Zugang zu den sozialen und ökologischen Wandlungsprozessen, erfordert aber auch neue Methoden der Zusammenarbeit und Partizipation.

Eine Möglichkeit der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Staat und Zivilgesellschaft ist das Governance-Werkzeug der "Community Arena". Die Community Arena wurde im InContext Projekt angewendet und ermöglicht eine Zusammenarbeit auf Augenhöhe, welche sich durch ein hohes Maß an Vertrauen auszeichnet. Die Herausforderungen der lokalen Gemeinde werden in einem offenen Prozess, ohne Zielvorgaben bestimmt. Hierfür ist es wichtig, dass sich die Teilnehmer als Individuen und nicht als Repräsentanten einer Institution begegnen. Die Teilnehmer identifizieren die Probleme, zu denen gearbeitet werden soll und entwerfen eine langfristige Vision für die Gemeinde. Dann erarbeiten die Teilnehmer Wege, die zur Realisierung der Vision führen können. Die Vision führt auch diverse Gruppen zusammen und dient als Kompass für die tägliche Arbeit. Methoden wie die Community Arena können eine Brücke für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Lokalregierung und Bürgern und Initiativen bilden, um neue Wege hin zu nachhaltigeren Gemeinden zu finden.

Die Graswurzel-Initiativen fokussieren oft auf ein bestimmtes Thema. Gleichzeitig sind sie jedoch auch eine Antwort auf große gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen, wie den demografischen Wandel, die Wirtschaftskrise oder Umweltprobleme. Das InContext Projekt untersuchte Rahmenbedingungen, die einen gesellschaftlichen Wandel zu einer ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltigen sowie kulturell vielseitigen Zukunft ermöglichen.

Der Policy Brief "Raus aus dem Rathaus" ist auch auf Englisch, Französisch, Niederländisch und Polnisch erschienen.

Im Rahmen des InContext Projekts sind zwei weitere Policy Briefs, ein Research Brief sowie eine Posterserie erschienen. Die "Key Messages" [pdf, 1.8 MB, Englisch] finden Sie hier.

Gemeinsames Engagement erwächst aus geteilter Verantwortung.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprachen
Englisch
Französisch
Deutsch
Polnisch
Autorenschaft
Dr. Ralph Piotrowski
Ania Rok
Verlag
Jahr
2013
Umfang
8 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
nachhaltige Entwicklung, Transition management, community area, lokale Initiativen, sozialer Wandel, governance, Pilotprojekt, Fallstudie, Verhalten, Umweltpsychologie, Gemeinden, lokal, Kommune, action research
Europa, Belgien, Niederlande, Deutschland, Österreich

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Going Out of the Town Hall

Going Out of the Town Hall

The Benefits and How They Can Be Achieved
Shared engagement comes with shared power.

From urban gardening and networks of sharing to community-owned wind farms: citizens' initiatives emerge all over Europe in a quest to find new answers to today's pressing challenges. This policy brief explores new forms of cooperation between local governments and these bottom-up initiatives. It argues that getting involved with initiatives helps local governments to be an active player in their community's change dynamics. This cooperation furthermore requires new ways of engaging and participating between the groups.

One possible form of engagement between local governments and initiatives, which can be applied to identify and counter the persistent problems in local communities is presented in the brief: the "community arena". This governance tool is characterized by establishing a dialogue on eye level and a trustful relationship. The challenges of a community are identified in an open-ended processes without a pre-set agenda. To allow for an open process the actors should meet as individuals—not as representatives of their institutions. In the process a long-term vision for the community is created. Creating long-term visions can unify even diverse groups, generate new ideas and experiments and serve as a compass for the daily work.
Embracing characteristics of the "community arena" approach can be fruitful for local governments and engaged citizens to jointly develop pathways towards more sustainable communities.

The initiatives' topics are linked to the wider societal challenges of an ageing society in a long-lasting economic downturn, of a global society which puts enormous pressures on the natural environment and still remains deeply unjust. The InContext project has identified framework conditions that enable societal transitions towards an environmentally sound, economically successful, and culturally diverse future.

The policy brief "Going Out of the Town Hall" is additionally published in German, French, Dutch and Polish.

Other publications of the project InContext include two policy briefs, a research brief and a poster series which presents initiatives for a more sustainable lifestyle. The "Key Messages" [pdf, 1.8 MB, English] are available here.


Citation

Piotrowski, Ralph; Susanne Langsdorf and Ania Rok 2013: Going out of the town hall - The benefits and how they can be achieved. [Policy Brief]. Berlin: Ecologic Institute.

Language
English, French, German, Polish
Author(s)
Ania Rok
Publisher
Year
2013
Dimension
8 pp.
Project ID
2706
Table of Contents
  1. The times they are a-changing
  2. The fun and benefits of meeting people
    Why might local governments like to get in touch with the initiatives that develop within their community?
    The local government as bystander
    Local government as co-pilot
  3. Out of the town hall
    Taking a vacation from roles in a protected space
    Aligning expectations
    The guiding power of visions
  4. Challenges and constraints
    Questions of democratic legitimacy
    Accountability for open-ended processes
  5. The power of trustful relationships
Keywords
Transition Management, Sustainable Development, community area, societal transition, Governance, Pilot projects, Case studies, behaviour, environmental psychology, local, community, action research, Europe, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Austria