Direkt zum Inhalt

The Business Benefits of Engaging with the Sustainable Development Goals

Print PDF

The Business Benefits of Engaging with the Sustainable Development Goals

Aquacross Business Brief

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Reilly, Kate, et. al. (2017): The Business Benefits of Engaging with the Sustainable Development Goals. Business Brief No. 1. European Union's Horizon 2020 Framework Programme for Research and Innovation grant agreement No. 642317.

Dieser Business Brief zeigt die Vorteile für die Wirtschaft auf, die sich aus dem Engagement für die UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) ergeben und wie das EU-Horizont-2020-Projekt Wissen, Bewertung und Management von aquatischer Biodiversität und Ökosystemdienstleistungen durch EU-Politiken (AQUACROSS) die auf die Bewirtschaftung aquatischer Ökosysteme ausgerichteten SDGs unterstützen kann.

Die Kernbotschaften des Briefings sind:

  • Die Zusammenarbeit mit den SDGs stellt eine wichtige Chance für neue Märkte, Investitionen und Partnerschaften für Unternehmen dar, die direkt und indirekt mit Meeres- und Süßwasserumgebungen arbeiten.
  • Das Erreichen dieser SDGs wird die Umweltleistung verbessern und die Risiken für die Unternehmen, einschließlich derjenigen, die mit dem Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt verbunden sind, verringern. Unternehmen, die sich mit den SDGs beschäftigen, können von neuen Marktchancen und einer verbesserten Zusammenarbeit mit Kunden und Stakeholdern sowie von einer höheren Wasserproduktivität in allen Lieferketten und Produkten profitieren.
  • Die Forschung trägt zu diesem Prozess bei, indem sie es Unternehmen ermöglicht, auf Daten zuzugreifen und diese für die Überwachung von Risiken zu nutzen, zukünftige Trends zu erkennen und ihre Beiträge zu den SDGs zu melden.
  • AQUACROSS liefert kontinuierlich Wissen, Werkzeuge und Ansätze zur Bewertung von Bedrohungen für aquatische Ökosysteme und Ressourcen, zum Verständnis der politischen Landschaft und zur Entwicklung von Szenarien, die Unternehmen in diesem Prozess unterstützen.

Das Projekt AQUACROSS zielt darauf ab, die Bemühungen der EU zum Schutz der aquatischen Biodiversität zu unterstützen und die Bereitstellung aquatischer Ökosystemdienstleistungen sicherzustellen, indem es die ökosystemgestützte Bewirtschaftung (EBM) aquatischer Ökosysteme fördert. Der Business Brief steht zum Download bereit.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Kate Reilly
Chantal Van Ham
Marc Hall (IUCN)
Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
8 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Süßwasser, Küste, Marine, Ökosysteme, Widerstandsfähigkeit, EU 2020 Biodiversitäts-Strategie, Naturschutz und aquatische Biodiversität, Ökosystem-basiertes Management, Europa, H2020, Beurteilungsraster, politische Ziele, Nachhaltigkeit , Broschüre, Design, Layout, Europa, Bewertung von Ökosystemdienstleistungen, Prognosen, wirtschaftliche Bewertung, partizipatorische Szenarien, Risikobewertung
Europa
business brief

Skip to main content

The Business Benefits of Engaging with the Sustainable Development Goals

Print PDF

The Business Benefits of Engaging with the Sustainable Development Goals

Aquacross Business Brief

Publication
Citation

Reilly, Kate, et. al. (2017): The Business Benefits of Engaging with the Sustainable Development Goals. Business Brief No. 1. European Union's Horizon 2020 Framework Programme for Research and Innovation grant agreement No. 642317.

This brief aims to highlight the benefits to business of engaging with the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and how the EU Horizon 2020 project Knowledge, Assessment, and Management for Aquatic Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services Across EU Policies (AQUACROSS) can assist with the SDGs focused on managing aquatic ecosystems.

The key messages of the brief are:

  • Engaging with the SDGs represents an important opportunity for new markets, investment and partnerships for businesses working directly and indirectly with marine and freshwater environments.
  • Achieving these SDGs will improve environmental performance and reduce risks for business, including those related to biodiversity loss. Businesses that engage with the SDGs can benefit from new market opportunities and improved engagement with customers and stakeholders, as well as from increased water productivity across supply chains and products.
  • Research contributes to this process by enabling businesses to access and use data for monitoring risks, identifying future trends and reporting their contributions to the SDGs.
  • AQUACROSS’s ongoing delivery of knowledge, tools and approaches for assessing threats to aquatic ecosystems and resources, understanding the policy landscape, and developing scenarios support businesses in this process.

The AQUACROSS project aims to support EU efforts to protect aquatic biodiversity and ensure the provision of aquatic ecosystem services, by advancing ecosystem-based management (EBM) of aquatic ecosystems. The business brief is available for download.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Kate Reilly
Chantal Van Ham
Marc Hall (IUCN)
Funding
Year
Dimension
8 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
freshwater, coastal, marine, ecosystems, resilience, EU 2020 Biodiversity Strategy, nature conservation aquatic biodiversity, ecosystem-based management, Europe, H2020, assessment framework, policy targets, sustainability, ecosystem services assessment, forecasting, economic valuation, participatory scenarios, risk assessment
Europe
business brief