Direkt zum Inhalt

China's and India's Emerging Energy Foreign Policy

Print

China's and India's Emerging Energy Foreign Policy

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Müller-Kraenner, Sascha 2008: China's and India's emerging energy foreign policy. 15/2008. Bonn: Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE).

In einem Diskussionspapier für das Deutsche Institut für Entwicklungspolitik analysiert Sascha Müller-Kraenner die energiebezogenen Außenpolitiken von China und Indien. Beides sind "Ankerländer" mit starkem Wirtschaftswachstum. Deren Bestreben nach Energiesicherheit wie auch die Klimaschutzpolitik wurde zu einem prägenden Element der Außenpolitiken beider Staaten, eine Tatsache, der sich die EU und die USA stellen müssen.

Aufgrund der starken wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung steigt der Energiebedarf beider Staaten schnell an und führte bereits zu tiefgreifenden Veränderungen in ihren Außenpolitiken. Eine neue "Energieaußenpolitik" und eine Verschiebung in den bestehenden geopolitischen Rivalitäten wird erkennbar. Internationale Einrichtungen und Governance-Strukturen müssen sich dem stärkeren Einfluss von China, Indien und anderen Schwellenländern anpassen. Nicht zuletzt wird es notwendig, die Belange von Energiesicherheit und Klimaschutz zu einer umfassenden nachhaltigen Energiepolitik zu verschmelzen.

Dieser Artikel ist Teil des Ecologic Projektes "Architektur der globalen Umweltpolitik und internationale Umweltregime", das vom deutschen Ministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen der sozial-ökologischen Forschung (SÖF) gefördert wird.

Kontakt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Finanzierung
Veröffentlicht in
Discussion Paper / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik , 15/2008
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
29 S.
ISSN
978-3-88985-405-6
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Energiepolitik, Außenpolitik, Energieaußenpolitik, internationale Beziehungen, Anchor-Staaten, Governance, nachhaltige Entwicklung, Klimapolitik
China, Indien

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

China's and India's Emerging Energy Foreign Policy

China's and India's Emerging Energy Foreign Policy

In a Discussion Paper for the German Development Institute (DIE), Sascha Müller-Kraenner analyses the energy-related foreign policies of China and India, both "anchor countries" with fast-growing economies. Their quest for energy security as well as climate policy have become defining elements of both countries' foreign policies, a fact that the EU and the US must respond to.

Due to high economic growth based on rapid industrialisation the energy consumption of both countries is rising fast and has transformed both countries' foreign policies.  A new "energy foreign policy" which transforms the character of existing geopolitical rivalries is emerging. International institutions and governance structures have to adapt to take into account the growing weight of China, India and other emerging economies. Last but not least, energy security and climate change considerations should be merged into an integrated sustainable energy policy.

This article is part of the Ecologic project "Global Environmental Governance and International Environmental Regimes" funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research under the social-ecological research programme (SOEF).


Citation

Müller-Kraenner, Sascha 2008: China's and India's emerging energy foreign policy. 15/2008. Bonn: Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE).

Language
English
Publisher
Year
2008
Published In
Discussion Paper / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik , 15/2008
ISSN
978-3-88985-405-6
Dimension
29 pp.
Project ID
1811-02
Table of Contents
  • Introduction
  • Energy trends for China and India
  • China’s and India’s new energy diplomacy
  • Regional and global challenges
  • Recommendations for the EU’s energy foreign policy towards China and India
  • Bibliography
Keywords
energy policy, foreign affairs, energy foreign policy, international relations, Anchor countries, governance, sustainable development, climate policy, China, India