Direkt zum Inhalt

Emerging Climate Change Coastal Adaptation Strategies and Case Studies around the World

Print PDF

Emerging Climate Change Coastal Adaptation Strategies and Case Studies around the World

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Martinez, Grit; Daniel Blobel; Livia Bizikova et al. 2011: "Emerging Climate Change Coastal Adaptation Strategies and Case Studies around the World", in: Gerald; Hofstede Schernewski, Jacobus; Neumann, Thomas (Hg.): Global Change and Baltic Coastal Zones Coastal Research Library, Vol. 1 ]. Berlin and Heidelberg: Springer-Verlag GmbH, 249-273.

Klimawandel und fortlaufende Veränderungen in Wirtschaft und Landwirtschaft werden in der Ostseeregion starke und vielfältige Auswirkungen haben. Das Buch "Global Change and Baltic Coastal Zones" bietet umfassende Informationen zu diesen Veränderungen, daraus entstehenden Konsequenzen und Herausforderungen. Grit Martienz und Daniel Blobel vom Ecologic Institut haben dazu gemeinsam mit Livia Bizikova (International Institute for Sustainable Development) und Rob Swart (Alterra Universität Wageningen) eine vergleichende Analyse von Anpassungsprojekten und Strategien in verschiedenen Küstenregionen der Welt beigetragen. Die Publikation wird vom Projekt RADOST, das vom Ecologic Institut koordiniert wird, unterstützt.

Gegenwärtig lebt etwa 40% der Weltbevölkerung in einer Entfernung von weniger als 100km von der Küste. Da Klimawandel und Meeresspiegelanstieg in der Politik vergleichsweise neue Themen sind, sind Erfahrungen zur Wahl und Ausgestaltung angemessener Anpassungsstrategien in Küstenregionen bislang nur vereinzelt vorhanden. Eine verbesserte Verfügbarkeit und der Austausch von einschlägigem Wissen über Landesgrenzen hinweg kann zur Stärkung des Küstenschutzes beitragen.

Schwerpunkt dieses Kapitels ist die Koordination von Anpassungsmaßnahmen, die im Rahmen des Projektes RADOST und in dessen Partnerregionen laufen. Insbesondere werden die Themen Umsetzung von Anpassungsmaßnahmen, Möglichkeiten, die Widerstandsfähigkeit zu erhöhen, regionale Steuerung der Anpassung und Lernprozesse beleuchtet.

Zu den Erfolgsfaktoren in der Stärkung der Widerstandsfähigkeit von Küstenregionen zählt die Zusammenarbeit einer Bandbreite von Einrichtungen, die Beteiligung von Akteuren, eine sorgfältige und langfristige Planung von Maßnahmen und Richtlinien, Ausweisung von Risikogebieten, Überarbeitung von Leitlinien der Ressourcennutzung in Küstengebieten, Sensibilisierung zu Entwicklungsmaßnahmen, sowie die Integration von Klimabelangen in andere soziale, Wirtschafts- und Umweltbereiche. Dies erfordert, bestehende Verbindungen zu politischen Entscheidungsträgern zu pflegen und Partnerschaften zwischen den relevanten Sektoren auf lokaler und regionaler Ebene zu stärken.

Das Buch kann beim Springer Verlag zum Preis von € 106,95 erworben werden.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Daniel Blobel
Livia Bizikova
Rob Swart
Veröffentlicht in
Buch: Global Change and Baltic Coastal Zones
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
26 S.
ISBN
978-94-007-0399-5
ISSN
2211-0577
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Schlüsselwörter
Klimawandel, Anpassung, Küstengebiete, Nachhaltige Entwicklung
Ostsee

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Emerging Climate Change Coastal Adaptation Strategies and Case Studies around the World

Emerging Climate Change Coastal Adaptation Strategies and Case Studies around the World

Climate change and ongoing transformations in the economy and agriculture will have numerous, strong impacts on the Baltic Region. The book "Global Change and Baltic Coastal Zones" provides comprehensive information on these changes, their consequences and the practical challenges they pose. Grit Martinez and Daniel Blobel from Ecologic Institute, along with co-authors Livia Bizikova (International Institute for Sustainable Development) and Rob Swart (Alterra Wageningen University and Research Centre), contributed a comparative analysis of climate change adaptation projects and strategies in different coastal regions of the world. The publication is supported by the RADOST project (Regional Adaptation Strategies for the German Baltic Sea Coast), which Ecologic Institute coordinates.

Presently, about 40% of the world’s population lives within 100 km of a coastline. Since climate change and sea level rise are relatively new policy challenges, experiences with choosing and designing appropriate response measures are scarce and fragmentary in coastal areas. Increasing the availability and transfer of pertinent knowledge across national boundaries can also assist in furthering coastal safety.

This chapter focuses on the management of adaptation activities encompassed by the RADOST project and its international partner regions. Attention is given to the operationalisation of regional adaptation measures, ways to increase resilience, regional adaptive governance and learning processes.

Success factors to increase the resilience of coastal areas include cooperation of a broad range of organisations and the engagement of stakeholders, careful planning of a sequence of policies and measures over time, designating risk areas, revising principles for natural resource management along the coasts, awareness raising about preferred development practices, and integrating climate concerns with other social, economic and environmental objectives. This requires maintaining connections to existing policy and decision-making processes and building or strengthening partnerships among the relevant sectors of the local or regional communities.

The book is available for sale at Springer Publisher at a price of € 106,95.


Citation

Martinez, Grit; Daniel Blobel; Livia Bizikova and Rob Swart 2011: "Emerging Climate Change Coastal Adaptation Strategies and Case Studies around the World", in: Gerald; Hofstede Schernewski, Jacobus; Neumann, Thomas (ed.): Global Change and Baltic Coastal Zones Coastal Research Library, Vol. 1]. Berlin and Heidelberg: Springer-Verlag GmbH, 249-273.

Language
English
Author(s)
Livia Bizikova
Rob Swart
Publisher
Year
2011
ISBN
978-94-007-0399-5
ISSN
2211-0577
Dimension
26 pp.
Project ID
2202
Keywords
climate change, adaptation, coastal zones, sustainable development, Baltic Sea