Direkt zum Inhalt

Greening the Heartlands of Coal in Europe

Print PDF

Greening the Heartlands of Coal in Europe

Insights from a Czech-German-Polish Dialogue on Energy Issues

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Piria, Raffaele; Aleksandra Arcipowska; Camilla Bausch et al. 2014: Greening the Heartlands of Coal in Europe. Insights from a Czech-German-Polish Dialogue on Energy Issues. Heinrich Böll Stiftung.

Die deutsche Energiewende betrifft auch die europäischen Nachbarstaaten – ohne dass dies bisher adäquat diskutiert und berücksichtigt wurde. Diese Studie soll Missverständnisse ausräumen, das Verständnis für die jeweilige Situation stärken und dabei helfen, Brücken zu bauen, statt sie einzureißen. Sie baut auf den Erkenntnissen deutscher, polnischer und tschechischer Experten auf und bietet Informationen und Analysen. Die Autoren, unter ihnen Dr. Camilla Bausch und Sascha Müller-Kraenner vom Ecologic Institut, erklären die länderspezfischen Ansätze und Debatten und geben Empfehlungen, insbesondere um die grenzüberschreitende Kooperation zu verbessern. Die Studie steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Deutschland, Polen und Tschechien haben hohe Anteile von Kohlestrom im Energiemix. Allerdings unterscheiden sich die Staaten wesentlich in ihrer Strategie, wie sie ihren Stromsektor zukünftig entwickeln wollen. Während Deutschland den Anteil erneuerbarer Energien massiv ausgebaut hat und weiter ausbauen will, setzen Polen und Tschechien weiterhin vor allem auf Kohle, aber auch Schiefergas oder Nuklearenergie. Dabei unterscheiden sich auch die energiepolitischen Narrative der drei Länder ganz grundsätzlich.

Die unterschiedlichen Ansätze werden auch in den nationalen Positionen im Rahmen der Verhandlungen zur europäischen Energie- und Klimapolitik deutlich. So erschweren die Unterschiede eine Einigung auf europäischer Ebene. Darüber hinaus belasten grenzüberschreitende Auswirkungen der unterschiedlichen Ansätze auch die bi- und trilateralen Beziehungen. Denn bereits jetzt beeinflusst die Energiewende in Deutschland die Stromsysteme seiner Nachbarn. Die Unterschiede  führen, trotz der Verbundenheit, zu Spannungen und Missverständnissen.

Die Veröffentlichung basiert auf den Treffen einer trilateralen Expertengruppe, die sich im Laufe des Jahres 2013 auf Einladung der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung und des Ecologic Instituts dreimal getroffen hat. Dabei konzentrierte sich die Arbeit der Gruppe auf den Einfluss der deutschen Energiewende auf Polen und Tschechien. Die Experten diskutierten Herausforderungen etwa aufgrund grenzüberschreitender Stromflüsse, unterschiedlicher Wahrnehmungen und die Konsequenzen, die aus unterschiedlichen Fördermechanismen für erneuerbare Energien folgen.

Die energiepolitischen Narrative der drei Länder unterscheiden sich grundsätzlich. Empfehlungen für eine bessere Kooperation.

Kontakt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Raffaele Piria (Hauptautor)
Aleksandra Arcipowska
Paul Hockenos
Jan Ondřich
Verlag
Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, Prague Office (HBS), Tschechische Republik
Jahr
2014
Umfang
59 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Energie, Strom, Strommarkt, Kohle, Nuklear, Atom, Schiefergas, Energieeffizienz, Energiewende, Transitflüsse, Förderregime, Wahrnehmung, Narrativ, Loop-flows
Deutschland, Polen, Tschechien, Europa

Skip to main content

Greening the Heartlands of Coal in Europe

 
Print

Greening the Heartlands of Coal in Europe

Insights from a Czech-German-Polish Dialogue on Energy Issues

Publication
Citation

Piria, Raffaele et al. 2014: Greening the Heartlands of Coal in Europe. Insights from a Czech-German-Polish Dialogue on Energy Issues. Heinrich Böll Stiftung.

The German energy transition impacts neighbouring countries; however this fact has yet to be adequately addressed in Germany. This study aims to shed light on the situation and facilitate bridge building between neighbors. It builds on the insights of German, Polish and Czech experts and offers information and analyses. The authors – among them Dr. Camilla Bausch and Sascha Müller-Kraenner from Ecologic Istitute – offer a range of recommendations, in particular for better cross-border cooperation and intensified dialogue with the goal of facing our energy and climate challenges together. The study is available for download.

According to the publication's authors, the three countries mentioned above have one thing in common: dependence on coal in electricity production. Where these countries differ significantly, however, is the strategy for their respective future energy policy. While Germany decided to massively increase its share of renewable electricity, Poland and the Czech Republic still build their visions mainly on coal, shale gas or nuclear. The narratives around energy policy differ greatly between the countries. These different approaches are also reflected in the respective national positions on European energy and climate policy.

Thus, the different approaches complicate agreement at the European level while simultaneously burdening bi- and trilateral relationships. The renewables expansion in Germany already impacts the electricity systems of its neighbors. The differences lead to tensions and misunderstandings.

This study is the product of a trilateral expert group which met three times during 2013 at the invitation of the Heinrich Böll Foundation and Ecologic Institute to discuss the influence of the German energy transformation on two of Germany's neighbours – Poland and the Czech Republic. The group focused on perceptions of the German energy transformation in the three countries, its impact on cross-border electricity flows and the consequences of various forms of support mechanisms for renewable energy sources.

The narratives around energy policy differ greatly between countries. Recommendations for better cross-border cooperation.

Contact

Language
English
Authorship
Raffaele Piria (lead author)
Aleksandra Arcipowska
Paul Hockenos
Jan Ondřich
Published by
Year
Dimension
59 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
energy, electricity, electricity markets, coal, nuclear, shale gas, energy efficiency, energy transition, Energiewende, loop flows, transit flows, support schemes, perception, narrative
Czech Republic, Poland, Germany, Europe