Direkt zum Inhalt

Environmental Crime in Armenia: A Case Study on Mining

Print PDF

Environmental Crime in Armenia: A Case Study on Mining

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Stefes, Christoph H. und Katherine Weingartner 2015: Environmental Crime in Armenia. A Case Study on Mining. Ecologic Institute, Berlin., available at www.efface.eu

Trotz der Bemühungen der EU, die gute Regierungsführung in Armenien zu fördern, sind wirtschaftliche Ressourcen und politische Macht dort oft miteinander verflochten. Korruption ist weit verbreitet. Illegale Machenschaften fördern die Umweltkriminalität im  armenischen Bergbausektor. In dieser Fallstudie beschreiben Christoph Stefes und Katherine Weingartner vom Ecologic Institut die Ursachen der Umweltkriminalität. Die Autoren schlagen Maßnahmen vor, die die Europäische Union ergreifen kann, um Umweltkriminalität in Armenien zu reduzieren. Die Fallstudie steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Obwohl Armenien Unterzeichner mehrerer internationaler Umweltabkommen und Konventionen ist, zeigt diese Fallstudie, dass Umweltgesetze schwach, widersprüchlich und nur selten durchgesetzt sind. Eine doppelte Lücke im armenischen Bergbausektor fördert die Umweltkriminalität. Es gibt eine Lücke zwischen innerstaatlischem Recht und internationalen Verpflichtungen und zwischen innerstaatlichem Recht und seiner Durchsetzung. Als Ursache identifiziert diese Fallstudie die oft illegalen Verflechtungen zwischen politischer Macht und wirtschaftlichen Interessen, die verhindern, dass strengere Umweltvorschriften verabschiedet n und ausreichende administrative Ressourcen zur Bekämpfung der Umweltkriminalität bereitgestellt werden. Die Autoren der Fallstudie argumentieren, dass die oft illegalen Aktivitäten, die zu unzureichenden Umweltvorschriften führen, bereits als Umweltkriminalität betrachtet werden sollten. Um Umweltkriminalität in Armenien zu  bekämpfen, muss die EU auch Maßnahmen gegen diese illegalen Aktivitäten ergreifen.

Diese Fallstudie schlägt Massnahmen vor, mit denen die EU zur Verhinderung von Umweltkriminalität in Armenien beitragen kann. Die EU kann ihre zivile und normative Kraft einsetzen, um die armenische Regierung davon zu überzeugen, nationales und internationales Recht durchzusetzen. Die EU sollte ebenfalls lokale Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen unterstützen, die die wichtigsten Umweltakteure sind. Ferner sollte die EU auf die armenische Umweltgesetzgebung mit dem Ziel Einfluss nehmen, dass internationale  Abkommen beachtet werden. Anhaltende technische und finanzielle Unterstützung könnte zudem dazu beitragen, die Umweltkriminalität in Armenien zu reduzieren. Die EU solle ferner Anreize für europäische Firmen bieten, im armenischen Bergbausektor unter Einhaltung von Umweltstandards und transparent arbeiten.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Katherine Weingartner
Finanzierung
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
39 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Umweltkriminalität, Kriminologie, Armenien, EU, organisiertes Verbrachen, Strafrecht, Umweltverschmutzung, Korruption, Abfall, global, Bergbau
Armenien, EU, Europa, global

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Environmental Crime in Armenia: A Case Study on Mining

Environmental Crime in Armenia: A Case Study on Mining

Despite the European Union's efforts to promote good governance in Armenia, economic resources and political power have become interwoven in often illicit ways. Corruption is widespread at all levels of the state apparatus. Against this background, this case study, co-authored by Christoph Stefes and Katherine Weingartner of Ecologic Institute, looks at the causes of environmental crime in Armenia-taking the mining sector as an example-and describes measures that the European Union could take to contribute to preventing future environmental crime in the country. The case study is available for download.

Although the Republic of Armenia (RA) is signatory to several international environmental treaties and conventions, this study finds that environmental laws are weak, contradictory, and rarely enforced. There exists a double gap in the RA mining sector which fuels environmental crime in this area. There is a gap between national law and international commitments and a gap between national law and its enforcement and adjudication. The cause identified in the case study is an often illicit collusion of political power and economic interests that prevents the passing of more stringent environmental regulations and the allocation of sufficient administrative resources to those government agencies which are formally tasked with the protection of the environment. The authors of the case study argue that the often illegal activities that prevent the passing of stringent environmental legislation should already be considered environmental crime. In order to mitigate environmental crime in RA, the EU needs to address these dimensions.

This case study proposes several ways in which the EU can help deter environmental crime in RA. The EU can use its civilian and normative power to convince the RA to enforce national and international law as a term of doing business, simultaneously empowering local movements and NGOs, the most important environmental actors in the country. Support in the development of legislation that is compliant with international agreements as well as continued technical and financial support can also contribute to mitigating environmental crime in RA. Other suggestions include having the EU provide incentives to EU owned companies working in RA’s mining sector to operate in environmentally responsible and transparent ways.


Citation

Stefes, Christoph H. and Katherine Weingartner 2015: Environmental Crime in Armenia. A Case Study on Mining. Ecologic Institute, Berlin, available at www.efface.eu.

Language
English
Funding
Publisher
Year
2015
Dimension
39 pp.
Project ID
2720
Table of Contents

1 Introduction
2 Literature Review
3 Methodology
4 Case Presentation
4.1 Introduction
4.2 Government Institutions
4.3 Private Actors
4.4 Foreign and International Actors
4.5 Cost - Benefit Analysis of Mining in RA
4.6 Domestic and International Legislation
4.7 Law Enforcement and Adjudication
4.8 The EU’s Role in Combating Environmental Crime
5 Conclusions and Policy Implications
6 Interview and Reference Lists
6.1 Interview List
6.2 Reference List

 

Keywords
environmental crime, criminology, mining, organised crime, criminal law, pollution, waste, corruption, Europe, global, Armenia, EU, Europe