Direkt zum Inhalt

Exploring Perspectives on Climate-resource-nexus Policies

journal's cover

© Journal of Sustainable Development of Energy, Water and Environment Systems – JSDEWES

Print

Exploring Perspectives on Climate-resource-nexus Policies

barriers and relevance in different world regions

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Hirschnitz-Garbers, M., Araujo Sosa, A., Hinzmann, M., Exploring perspectives on climate-resource-nexus policies: barriers and relevance in different world regions, J.sustain. dev. energy water environ. syst., 1090408, DOI: https://doi.org/10.13044/j.sdewes.d9.0408

Die Gewinnung und Verarbeitung natürlicher Ressourcen war 2015 für 23 % der weltweiten Treibhausgas-Emissionen verantwortlich. Daher verspricht die Reduzierung des Ressourcenverbrauchs durch Ressourceneffizienz erhebliche Beiträge zum Klimaschutz. Dieser "Klima-Ressourcen-Nexus" wurde bisher meist aus einer wissenschaftlichen, am Globalen Norden orientierten Perspektive erforscht. In diesem Artikel analysieren Forschende des Ecologic Instituts mögliche Wechselwirkungen zwischen Klima- und Ressourcenpolitik durch Literaturrecherche und Interviews mit Expert*innen aus verschiedenen Weltregionen. Im Ergebnis wird deutlich, dass es keine generische Klima-Ressourcen-Nexus-Politik gibt.

Wissenschaftliche Studien befassen sich meist mit den Treibhausgasemissions-Reduktionspotenzialen von Ressourceneffizienzansätzen, z. B. Verlängerung der Lebensdauer, Materialsubstitution und Recycling. Die Interviewergebnisse zeigen, dass klima- und ressourcenpolitische Maßnahmen regional unterschiedlich sein müssen, um relevant und passgenau zu sein. Es wird argumentiert, dass die Schaffung einer übergreifenden Klima-Ressourcen-Nexus-Politik ressortübergreifende Zusammenarbeit stärken und dazu beitragen könnte, Silos zu überwinden. Gleichzeitig sollte diese Politik durch regionale Passung so flexibel gestaltet werden, dass sie an die jeweiligen regionalen und nationalen Gegebenheiten angepasst werden kann.

Perspektiven der Politik im Spannungsfeld von Klima und Ressourcen

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Skip to main content

Exploring Perspectives on Climate-resource-nexus Policies

journal's cover

© Journal of Sustainable Development of Energy, Water and Environment Systems – JSDEWES

Print

Exploring Perspectives on Climate-resource-nexus Policies

barriers and relevance in different world regions

Publication
Citation

Hirschnitz-Garbers, M., Araujo Sosa, A., Hinzmann, M., Exploring perspectives on climate-resource-nexus policies: barriers and relevance in different world regions, J.sustain. dev. energy water environ. syst., 1090408, DOI: https://doi.org/10.13044/j.sdewes.d9.0408

Natural resource extraction and processing accounted for 23 % of global greenhouse gas emissions in 2015. Therefore, reducing resource use through resource efficiency promises significant contributions to climate protection. This "climate-resource-nexus" has mostly been explored from a scientific, Global North-oriented perspective. In this article, researchers from the Ecologic Institute analyze the potential interactions between climate and resource policy in different world regions. They did not find a generic climate-resource-nexus policy. The article is available online.

Scientific studies mostly address greenhouse gas emission reduction potentials of resource efficiency approaches, e.g. lifetime extension, material substitution, and recycling. Interview findings reveal that climate and resource policy measures will have to differ regionally to improve relevance and fit, and that silo culture may prevent an integrated climate-resource-nexus perspective. It is argued that creating an overarching line of policy reasoning through cross-departmental cooperation could help overcoming silos and grant flexibility to national and regional policy-making to adapt policies to their contexts.

Contact

More content from this project