Direkt zum Inhalt

Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit und die Europäische Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (HarmoniCOP)

Print PDF

Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit und die Europäische Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (HarmoniCOP)

Projekt
Forschungsprogramm
Dauer
-

Die Wasserrahmenrichtlinie ordnet die Gesetzgebung zum Schutz der Gewässer Europas neu und etabliert neue Ansätze und Herangehensweisen für ein umfassendes Flussgebietsmanagement. So wird auch eine weitreichende Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit in den verschiedenen Umsetzungsphasen der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie verlangt.

Im Rahmen des europäischen HarmoniCOP Projektes (Harmonizing Collaborative Planning, Laufzeit 2002 – 2005, gefördert im 5. Forschungsrahmenprogramm der EU Kommission) wurden umfassende Grundlagen für die Ausgestaltung der Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit für ein nachhaltiges Flussgebietsmanagement in Europa erarbeitet.

So wurden zunächst bereits bestehende Ansätze und Methoden in neun europäischen Ländern analysiert und auf dieser Grundlage anhand von Fallstudien neue Vorgehensweisen erprobt. Diese Erfahrungen - zusammen mit praktischen Hinweisen für Entscheidungsträger in der Wasserwirtschaft - wurden im HarmoniCOP Handbuch zusammengestellt. Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse und Handlungsempfehlungen des HarmoniCOP Projektes werden zudem in einem Ecologic Brief dargestellt. Das Projekt leistet somit einen praktischen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie indem es das Konzept des sozialen Lernens weiterentwickelt und in einen praxisnahen Kontext stellt. Bereits im Rahmen der Projektdurchführung wurden partizipative Methoden angewendet und Vertreter von Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NROs), lokalen und nationalen Behörden, aus der Wasserindustrie und der Landwirtschaft als externe Berater miteinbezogen.

Ecologic erstellte den Länderbericht für Deutschland, der die bisherigen Erfahrungen bei der Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit in der Wasserwirtschaft mit Schwerpunktsetzung auf das Rhein- und Elbe-Einzugsgebiet beschreibt. Darüber hinaus war Ecologic an der Bearbeitung der Fallstudie für das Elbe-Einzugsgebiet beteiligt, die federführend vom Institut für Umweltsystemforschung der Universität Osnabrück bearbeitet wurde. Wichtige Vorarbeiten für diesen Bericht wurden im Rahmen des Projektes "Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit im Koordinierungsraum Havel (Berlin-Brandenburg)" erarbeitet, das für das KompetenzZentrum Wasser Berlin durchgeführt wurde.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Finanzierung
Partner
Dutch Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, Rijkswaterstaat, Niederlande
Team
Wenke Schönfelder
Dr. Nicole Kranz
Antje Vorwerk
Dauer
-
Projekt-ID
Schlüsselwörter
Umsetzung Wasserrahmenrichtlinie, Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit, Flussgebietsmanagement, Wassermanagement
Europa

Skip to main content

Public Participation and the European Water Framework Directive (HarmoniCOP)

Print PDF

Public Participation and the European Water Framework Directive (HarmoniCOP)

Project
Research Program
Duration
-

The Water Framework Directive restructures the legislative frame for the protection of European water bodies and establishes new approaches to an integrated and comprehensive management of river basins. Part of these novel approaches is the explicit requirement for an involvement of interest groups and the public at large in the different implementation phases of the Directive.

The main objective of the HarmoniCOP (project duration 2002 – 2005) project, which was funded under the 5th European framework for Research, was to increase the understanding of participatory river basin management in Europe. It caters to the paradigm that river basin management can only be effective and sustainable if the actors at each level and in each phase and sector become engaged in a social learning process.

The HarmoniCOP project is based on an analysis of current approaches and methods to participatory river basin management in nine European countries. Ecologic’s role involved analysing German experiences and best practices in this area. Based on this research, case studies were developed in each of the participating countries, with the purpose of serving as best practice examples. The experiences and methodological insights were compiled in the HarmoniCOP handbook which provides practical guidance to decision-makers in water management, thus providing for a hands-on application of the principles of public participation in a river basin context. Additionally, an Ecologic Brief gives an overview of the main results and policy implications of the HarmoniCOP project. The project and the drafting process for the handbook itself was also conducted in a participatory way with representatives from NGOs, local governments, policy makers, water industry and farming participating as external advisers.

Ecologic Institute was responsible for compiling the national study for Germany, which focused on the Rhine and Elbe basins and mainly analysed the origins and past experiences of public participation approaches in water management.

In addition, Ecologic Institute also supported the Institute for Environmental Systems Research at the University of Osnabrück in conducting a real-time case study in the Elbe basin. The main research focus of this study was the interplay of authorities and the various interest groups. Ecologic Institute’s portion of the report focused on the Havel river basin, which was also investigated in the context of a project funded by the Berlin Centre of Competence for Water (KWB) on "Public participation in the Havel coordination area (Berlin-Brandenburg)".

Contact

More content from this project

Funding
Partner
Dutch Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, Rijkswaterstaat (RIZA), Netherlands
Team
Wenke Schönfelder
Dr. Nicole Kranz
Antje Vorwerk
Duration
-
Project ID
Keywords
Implementation, Water Framework Directive, Public Participation, River Basin Management, Water Management
Europe