Direkt zum Inhalt

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa

Print PDF

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa

MSc (Environmental Change & Management)

Senior Fellow

Team
Themen

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa ist seit 2001 für das Ecologic Institut tätig und arbeitet als Senior Fellow im Bereich Wasser und Flussgebietsmanagementpolitik. Schwerpunktmäßig beschäftigt sie sich mit der Umsetzung der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL) der Europäischen Union (EU). Dr. Eleftheria Kampa ist Griechin, arbeitet in Englisch und Deutsch und verfügt über Kenntnisse der spanischen und italienischen Sprache.

In ihrer Arbeit konzentriert sich Eleftheria auf die Unterstützung europäischer und nationaler Institutionen bei der Umsetzung der WRRL, insbesondere bei der Entwicklung von technischen Leitlinien und der Bewertung von Bewirtschaftungsplänen für Flussgebiete. Sie verfügt über umfangreiche Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen in Fragen der hydromorphologischen Gewässerbelastungen und hydromorphologischen Maßnahmen, der Wasserkraft und der WRRL, der Ausweisung erheblich veränderten Wasserkörper und der Bewertung des ökologischen Potenzials.

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa führte seit 2001 zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte, finanziert durch die Rahmenprogramme RP5, RP6, RP7 und Horizont 2020 der Europäischen Kommission, sowie Beratungsaufträge zur Umsetzung der Wasserpolitik für europäische Institutionen und nationale Umweltagenturen durch. Sie koordiniert die wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zur Einbeziehung von Interessengruppen und Entscheidungsunterstützung für das H2020-Projekt zu fischfreundlichen innovativen Wasserkrafttechnologien (FIThydro). Sie ist auch für das Umweltbundesamt (UBA) im Forum Fischschutz und Fischabstieg tätig. Darüber hinaus ist sie als technische Expertin für das Europäische Themenzentrum für Binnen-, Küsten- und Meeresgewässer (European Topic Centre on Inland, Coastal and Marine Waters (ETC-ICM)) tätig und unterstützt die Europäische Umweltagentur (EUA) bei der Erforschung und Bewertung des europäischen Süßwassers.

Zuvor leitete sie die Informationsverbreitung und und Akteursbeteiligung im RP7-Projekt Effektives Management von Einzugsgebieten durch Flussrenaturierung (REFORM). Außerdem forschte sie zu den politikrelevanten Themen Medikamente in der Umwelt (Pharmazeutika in Gewässern (KNAPPE) und Bewertung von Umwelt- und Gesundheitsrisiken durch Medikamente in der Umwelt (PHARMAS)) sowie zu innovativen Verfahren und Praktiken für die Abwasserbehandlung und -wiederverwendung im Mittelmeerraum (INNOVAMED).

Eleftheria steuerte Konzeptbeiträge für die Organisation verschiedener europäischer Veranstaltungen und Stakeholder-Konsultationen zum Thema Wasserressourcenmanagement bei. Im Jahr 2012 unterstützte sie den Konsultationsprozess der Europäischen Kommission zum EU-Konzept für den Schutz der europäischen Gewässer. Zu ihren weiteren Interessen gehören die Erforschung der Zusammenhänge zwischen Wasserpolitik und Biodiversitätsschutz (Biodiversität der Süßwasser-Ökosysteme: Status, Tendenzen, Umwelteinflüsse und Schutzprioritäten (BioFresh)) und die Umsetzung der Wasserpolitik im Mittelmeerraum (Klimawandel, Wasserkonflikte und menschliche Sicherheit  (CLICO)).

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa promovierte 2007 im Bereich Umweltplanung an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Ihre Dissertation behandelte die Frage der Realisierung eines integrierten institutionellen Wasserregimes in Griechenland anhand von Theorien zu Governance, Nutzungsrechten und Interaktionen zwischen Akteuren. Durch ein Stipendium des British Council nahm sie 1999 am interdisziplinären Masterprogramm "Environmental Change and Management" des Environmental Change Institute der University of Oxford (Großbritannien) teil. Davor studierte sie Biologie in Griechenland (Aristoteles Universität von Thessaloniki) und Spanien (Universidad del Pais Vasco) und schloss das Studium 1998 mit dem Ptychion (Bachelor) ab. Während ihres Studiums spezialisierte sie sich auf die ökologische Qualität von Oberflächenfließgewässern und arbeitete ehrenamtlich für die griechische Gesellschaft zum Schutz der Meeresschildkröten.

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa per E-Mail kontaktieren

Ihre hier eingegebenen Daten werden nur für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Anfrage verarbeitet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Erklärung zum Datenschutz.

Ausgewählte Projekte von Dr. Eleftheria Kampa
 
| Fotolia © Oktan4eg
Initiativen wie die Green Growth Platform (GGP) zielen darauf ab, die politökonomische Entscheidungsfindung positiv zu beeinflussen. Sie können eine wichtige Rolle dabei spielen, Ambition und Struktur von Politikinitiativen mitzugestalten. Mangels direkt beobachtbarer... Weiterlesen
 
Quelle: Earth Explorer via Wikimedia
Zur Überprüfung der Erreichung der Anpassungsziele der Schweizer Anpassungsstrategie und zur Gewährleistung einer optimalen Anpassung an die Klimaänderung soll ein System zur Überprüfung des Vollzugs und der Wirkung der Klimaanpassung in der Schweiz erarbeitet werden.... Weiterlesen

Vollzugs- und Wirkungsanalyse der Klimaanpassung

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 

© FIThydro

FIThydro (Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower) ist ein Horizont 2020-Projekt im erneuerbaren Energien Call der EU. Wissenschaftler von 26 Partnerorganisationen sowie ein internationales Expertengremium untersuchen hier die Auswirkungen von Wasserkraft... Weiterlesen

Fischfreundliche innovative Wasserkrafttechnologien (FIThydro)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
| Fotolia©magann
Europäische Themenzentren sind wichtige Instrumente der Europäischen Umweltagentur, wenn es darum geht, die Umwelt und ihre Mitgliedsländer zu beobachten und den gegenwärtigen, sowie zukünftigen Zustand ihrer Umwelt zu analysieren. Das gegenwärtige ETC-ICM nahm 2014... Weiterlesen
 
| Fotolia © SusaZoom
Als Teil eines Konsortiums geführt von WRc bietet das Ecologic Institut der Europäischen Kommission technische Unterstützung zur Auswertung der Pläne der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie und der Hochwasserrichtlinie und deren Umsetzung in den 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten an. Die Arbeit... Weiterlesen
 
| Fotolia © Phillip Minnis
Das Ecologic Institut ist Teil eines Konsortiums, das vom WRc geleitet wird, und die Europäische Kommission bei der Evaluierung, Review und Entwicklung der EU Gewässerpolitik unterstützt. Mit den im Rahmen dieses Rahmenvertrags zu unterstützenden Maßnahmen möchte die... Weiterlesen

Rahmenvertrag zur Evaluierung, Review und Entwicklung der EU Gewässerpolitik

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Fotolia © Andre Illing
Innerhalb des Rahmenvertrags zur Evaluierung, Review und Entwicklung der EU-Gewässerpolitik beauftragte die GD Umwelt der Europäischen Kommission Ecologic Institut und Partner mit der Unterstützung beim Vergleich des guten ökologischen Potenzials (GÖP) erheblich... Weiterlesen

Vergleich des Guten Ökologischen Potenzials und technisches Dokument zu Sedimentmanagement

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
|Fotolia © Andre Illing
Innerhalb des Rahmenvertrags zur Evaluierung, Review und Entwicklung der EU Gewässerpolitik hat die GD Umwelt der Europäischen Kommission Ecologic Institut mit der Unterstützung bei der Ausarbeitung eines EU-Leitfadens zu harmonisierten Umweltanforderungen der WRRL für... Weiterlesen
 
| Fotolia © magann
In dem aktuellen Arbeitsprogramm 2016-2018 der gemeinsamen Umsetzungsstrategie der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL), einigten sich die Wasserdirektoren der europäischen Länder spezifische Ad-hoc Arbeitsgruppen (ATGs) zu folgenden Themen einzurichten: (1) Best Practice und... Weiterlesen

CIS-Leitfaden zu Artikel 4(7), Vergleich des Guten Ökologischen Potenzials und hydromorphologische Bewertungsmethoden

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Europa ist charakterisiert durch sein dichtes Flussnetzwerk, und die damit verbundenen Ökosysemdienstleistungen. Im Laufe der Zeit hat die Nutzung von Flüssen durch den Menschen zu ehrheblichen Verschlechterungen der Wasserqualität und Ökosystemfunktionen geführt.... Weiterlesen

Effektives Management von Einzugsgebieten durch Flussrenaturierung (REFORM)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Süßwasserbiodiversität und die Prozesse, die diese erhalten, sind auf europäischer und der globalen Ebene für die meisten Süßwasserorganismen kaum erforscht. Das FP7-Projekt BioFresh hat eine öffentlich zugängliche Informationsplattform für Biodiversität errichtet, um... Weiterlesen

Biodiversität der Süßwasser-Ökosysteme: Status, Tendenzen, Umwelteinflüsse und Schutzprioritäten (BioFresh)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Ende 2012 wird die Europäische Kommission eine Mitteilung über die EU Wasserstrategie unter dem Namen ‚Blueprint für den Schutz der europäischen Gewässer‘ vorlegen (Blueprint to safeguard Europe’s Waters). Diese Strategie ist die politische Antwort auf die... Weiterlesen

Öffentliches Konsultationsverfahren zum Blueprint für den Schutz der europäischen Gewässer

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
Ausgewählte Publikationen von Dr. Eleftheria Kampa
 
Wasserkraft ist eine wichtige Quelle erneuerbarer und stabiler Energieerzeugung. Die Stromerzeugung aus Wasserkraft wirkt sich jedoch auch auf aquatische Ökosysteme aus, insbesondere auf die Fischfauna und die Hydromorphologie. Daher besteht die Notwendigkeit,... Weiterlesen

Kampa, E., Berg, L. (Hrsg.), 2020: Fish-friendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower. Key outputs from the FIThydro project. Policy Brief.

 
Dieser Bericht wurde als Teil des Arbeitspakets 5 des FIThydro-Projekts zu fischfreundlichen innovativen Technologien für Wasserkraft erstellt. Der Bericht zielt darauf ab, die Umweltpolitiken in Bezug auf Umweltverbesserungen im Zusammenhang mit der Planung und dem... Weiterlesen

Kampa, E. Tarpey, J., Rouillard, J., Bakken, T. H., Stein, U.,  Godinho, F. N., Leitão, A. E., Portela, M. M., Courret, D., Sanz-Ronda, F.J., Boes, R., and A. Odelberg (2017). Technical  Deliverable 5.1. Review of policy requirements and financing instruments. H2020 project FIThydro Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower.

 
Wassersicherheit ist das Herzstück einer gesunden und wohlhabenden Gesellschaft. Der Wohlstand der europäischen Länder hängt von ihrer Fähigkeit ab, die Erfolge, die sie bei der Wassersicherheit erzielt haben, zu erhalten und neue und wachsende Herausforderungen... Weiterlesen

Trémolet S. et al. (2019). Investing in Nature for Europe Water Security. The Nature Conservancy, Ecologic Institute and ICLEI. London, United Kingdom.

 
EEA Report Nr. 7/2018
Im Jahr 2018 wird die Europäische Kommission ihren Bericht über die Bewertung des zweiten Flussgebietsmanagementprogramms (RBMP) veröffentlichen und den Prozess der Bewertung der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL) (EG, 2017a) einleiten. Um diesen Prozess zu begleiten und zu... Weiterlesen

EEA 2018: European Waters Assessment of Status and Pressures. EEA Report Nr. 7/2018. European Environment Agency, Luxembourg.

 
Der vorliegende Bericht befasst sich mit Methoden, die in europäischen Ländern für die hydromorphologische Bewertung und Überwachung verwendet werden. Es wurde im Rahmen des Arbeitsprogramms 2016-2018 der Ad-hoc Task Group für Hydromorphologie der gemeinsamen... Weiterlesen

Kampa, E. & Bussettini, M., 2018. River Hydromorphological Assessment and Monitoring Methodologies: Part 1 – Summary of European country questionnaires.

 
Da sich hydromorphologische Aspekte zwischen der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL) und der Hochwasserrichtlinie auf dieselben Flussprozesse beziehen, wurde die Frage der Hydromorphologie und des Hochwassers im Rahmen des Prozesses der Gemeinsamen Umsetzungsstrategie (CIS)... Weiterlesen

Dworak, Thomas & Kampa, Eleftheria (2019). Workshop on hydro-morphological measures under the Floods and Water Framework Directives “Finding synergies and addressing challenges”. Background paper with conclusions from the workshop 4/5.12.2018 Budapest/Hungary.

 
Dieses Issue Paper enthält die Schlussfolgerungen und Empfehlungen aus dem Workshop "Wasserwirtschaft, Wasserrahmenrichtlinie und Wasserkraft", der im September 2011 stattfand. Außerdem beinhaltet es Hintergrundinformationen sowie eine Zusamenfassung des von 24... Weiterlesen

Kampa, Eleftheria; Johanna von der Weppen and Thomas Dworak 2011: Water Management, Water Framework Directive and Hydropower - Common Implementation Strategy Workshop. Ecologic Institute, Berlin.

 
JRC110957
Eine der Hauptaktivitäten der ECOSTAT-Arbeitsgruppe zur Gemeinsamen Umsetzungsstrategie zwischen 2013 und 2017 war der Versuch, die von verschiedenen Ländern erwartete ökologische Qualität der vom Hochwasserschutz betroffenen Gewässer zu vergleichen. Der Prozess nutzte... Weiterlesen

Bussettini M, Kling J, van de Bund W, Eds: Kampa E & Bussettini M, Working Group ECOSTAT report on common understanding of using mitigation measures for reaching Good Ecological Potential for heavily modified water bodies - Part 2: Impacted by flood protection structures, EUR 29131 EN; Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2018, ISBN 978-92-79-80290-4, doi:10.2760/875939, JRC110957

 
Im Rahmen der gemeinsamen Umsetzungsstrategie der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie, beschlossen die europäischen Wasserdirektoren eine spezifische Arbeitsgruppe zu "Best practice und Anleitung zu Hydromorphologie" einzurichten. Eine der Hauptaktivitäten dieser Arbeitsgruppe... Weiterlesen

Halleraker et al. (authors). Kampa, Eleftheria and Sebastian Döbbelt-Grüne (eds.) 2016: Working Group ECOSTAT Report On Common Understanding Of Using Mitigation Measures For Reaching Good Ecological Potential For Heavily Modified Water Bodies. Luxembourg.

 
Das Ecologic Institut unterstützte die Europäische Kommission und die Ad-hoc-Task Group für Hydromorphologie bei der Organisation eines Workshops zur Gemeinsamen Umsetzungsstrategie (CIS) der Wasserrahmenrichtlinie. Am 23. und 24. April 2018 wurden in Brüssel die... Weiterlesen

Kampa, E., Rouillard, J., van de Bund, W, Brooke, J. 2018. Workshop on Significant adverse effects on use or the wider environment from measures – Summary report, 23-24 April 2018, Brussels.

 
Wie weit sind die EU Mitgliedstaaten mit der Umsetzung der Wasserrahmenlichtlinie (WRRL) seit dem 1. Zyklus der Flusseinzugsgebietsplanung in 2009 vorangekommen? Ein Bericht, mit verfasst von Ecologic Institut, liefert dazu einen ersten Einblick. Dieser basiert auf... Weiterlesen

Fresh Thoughts, Ecologic Institute, WRc 2015: "Screening Assessment of Draft Second Cycle River Basin Management Plans". Consultant report commissioned by DG Environment, European Commission.

 
ETC/ICM Technical Report 2/2015
Dieser Bericht untersucht die Möglichkeiten, die auf europäischer Ebene gesammelten Daten zur Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL) und Fauna-Flora-Habitat-Richtlinie (FFH-Richtlinie) über Gewässertypen, Habitate, Zustand, Belastungen und geplante Maßnahmen sinnvoll zu... Weiterlesen

ETC/ICM, 2015. European Freshwater Ecosystem Assessment: Cross-walk between the Water Framework Directive and Habitats Directive types, status and pressures, ETC/ICM Technical Report 2/2015, Magdeburg: European Topic Centre on inland, coastal and marine waters, 176 pp. plus Annexes.

 
publication's cover

© European Environment Agency (EEA)

Im Rahmen seiner Arbeit innerhalb des ETC-ICM hat das Ecologic Institut als Hauptautor zu einem neuen Bericht der Europäischen Umweltagentur (EUA) beigetragen, der die vielfältigen Belastungen der europäischen Gewässer durch die Landwirtschaft untersucht. Der Bericht... Weiterlesen

EEA 2021: Water and agriculture: towards sustainable solutions. EEA report 17/2020. Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 128pp.

 
EEA Technical report
In den letzten Jahrzehnten und nach einer schrittweisen Verbesserung der Wasserqualität durch Abwasserbehandlung und einen Rückgang der industriellen Aktivitäten haben städtische Flüsse und Seen in der Planung der städtischen Ökologie, grüner Infrastruktur, Grünflächen... Weiterlesen

EEA, 2016: Rivers and Lakes in European Cities. Past and Future Challenges. Technical report No 26/2016, European Environment Agency, Copenhagen.

 
Das Ecologic Institut und die Europäische Umweltagentur (EEA) unterstützten das Europäische Themenzentrum für Binnen-, Küsten- und Meeresgewässer bei der Beurteilung des Beteiligungsverfahrens. Dieser Abschlussbericht enthält neben theoretischen Aspekten acht... Weiterlesen

EEA 2014: Public participation: contributing to better water management. EEA Report, Band 3, 64.

 
Dieses Buch ist das Ergebnis eines europäischen Projektes zu erheblich veränderten Wasserkörpern, durchgeführt im Kontext der Gemeinsamen Umsetzungsstrategie für die Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL). Es präsentiert die Ergebnisse von 34 europäischen Fallstudien zur... Weiterlesen

Kampa, Eleftheria und Wenke Hansen 2004: Heavily Modified Water Bodies. Synthesis of 34 Case Studies in Europe. [International and European Environmental Policy Studies]. Berlin Heidelberg: Springer.

Skip to main content

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa

Print PDF

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa

MSc (Environmental Change & Management)

Senior Fellow

Team
Topics

Dr. Eleftheria Kampa is a Senior Fellow at Ecologic Institute focusing on water and river basin management and policy, with a specific emphasis on the Water Framework Directive (WFD) of the European Union (EU). Eleftheria is a Greek citizen. She works in English, German, and Greek and has knowledge of Spanish and Italian.

Eleftheria's work concentrates on providing support to European and national institutions on the implementation of the WFD, especially with regard to the development of technical guidance and the assessment of river basin management plans. She has extensive knowledge and experience on issues related to hydromorphological pressures and measures, hydropower and the WFD, the designation of heavily modified water bodies and the assessment of ecological potential.

Since joining Ecologic Institute in 2001, Eleftheria has worked on numerous research projects funded under the Framework Programmes (FP5, FP6 and FP7) and H2020 of the European Commission (EC) as well as on projects providing advisory services to EU institutions and national environment agencies on water policy implementation. Eleftheria coordinates the scientific work on stakeholder involvement and decision-support for the H2020 project on fish-friendly innovative technologies for hydropower (FIThydro). She also supports the German Federal Environment Agency (UBA) in the forum on fish protection and downstream fish migration. In addition, she works as technical expert for the European Topic Centre on Inland, Coastal and Marine Waters (ETC-ICM), supporting the European Environmental Agency (EEA) in its research and assessment of European freshwater.

Eleftheria has previously coordinated knowledge dissemination and stakeholder participation for the FP7 project REstoring rivers FOR effective catchment Management (REFORM) on river restoration. In addition, she has carried out policy research on pharmaceuticals in the environment (e.g. Pharmaceutical products in environmental waters (KNAPPE), Ecological and human health risk assessments of anitbiotics and anti-cancer drugs found in the environment (PHARMAS)) as well as wastewater treatment and reuse in the Mediterranean (Innovative processes and practices for wastewater treatment and re-use in the Mediterranean region (INNOVA-MED)).

She has provided conceptual input for the organization of various European events and stakeholder consultations related to water resource management. In 2012, she supported the stakeholder consultation process of the European Commission on the EU Blueprint to safeguard EU’s water. Her further interests include research on the links of water policy to biodiversity protection (see the project Biodiversity of freshwater ecosystems: status, trends, pressures and conservation priorities, BioFresh) and water policy implementation in the Mediterranean region (see the Climate change, hydro-conflicts and human security or CLICO project).

In 2007, Eleftheria was awarded a doctorate in environmental planning by the Technische Universität Berlin (Germany). In her doctoral thesis, she dealt with the implementation of integrated institutional water regimes in Greece using theories of public governance, property rights, and actor interaction. In 1999 she was awarded a British Council scholarship to complete the interdisciplinary MSc program in Environmental Change and Management at the Environmental Change Institute, University of Oxford (United Kingdom). Before that, she studied biology in Greece (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki) and Spain (Universidad del Pais Vasco) earning a "Ptychion" (bachelor's degree) in 1998. During her studies, she specialized in the ecological quality of surface water and also worked as a volunteer for the Greek Sea Turtle Protection Society on sea turtle conservation and sustainable ecotourism in coastal areas.

Contact Dr. Eleftheria Kampa by Email

The data sent will only be processed for the purpose of processing your request. You will find further information in our privacy notice.

Selected projects by Dr. Eleftheria Kampa
 
|©EvgenyKuklev|iStockphoto.com
Ecologic Institute is member of the European Topic Centre on Inland, Coastal and Marine waters (ETC-ICM) which works with the European Environment Agency (EEA) under a Framework Partnership Agreement for the period from 2019 to 2021. The ETC-ICM aims to provide... Read more
 
| Fotolia © SusaZoom
As part of a consortium led by WRc, Ecologic Institute provides technical assistance to the European Commission on the assessment of the Water Framework Directive and Floods Directive’s plans and implementation in the 28 EU Member States. The work includes: ... Read more
 
| Fotolia © Phillip Minnis
Ecologic Institute, as part of a pan-European consortium led by WRc, is supporting the European Commission in a framework contract on the evaluation, review and development of EU water policy. With activities to be supported under this framework contract, the Commission... Read more

Framework Contract on Evaluation, Review and Development of EU Water Policy

Duration
-
Funding
 
Fotolia © Andre Illing
Under its 'Framework contract for Evaluation, review and development of EU Water Policy', the European Commission DG Environment has issued a service request for a Specific Contract to provide "Support for the intercomparison of Good Ecological Potential for Heavily... Read more

Intercomparison of Good Ecological Potential and Technical Document on Sediment Management

Duration
-
Funding
 
|Fotolia © Andre Illing
Under its ‘Framework contract for Evaluation, review and development of EU Water Policy', the European Commission DG Environment has issued a service request for a Specific Contract to provide "Support for the elaboration of guidance on WFD harmonised environmental... Read more

Guidance on WFD Harmonised Environmental Requirements for HMWB and Hydromorphology

Duration
-
Funding
 
| Fotolia © magann
In the latest Work Programme 2016-2018 of the Common Implementation Strategy of the Water Framework Directive (WFD), the Water Directors of European countries agreed specific Ad-hoc Task Groups (ATGs) should be set up on the following topics: (1) Best practice and... Read more
 
Europe is characterized by a dense network of rivers that provide essential ecosystem services. Over time, use of rivers by humans has led to severe degradation of water quality and ecosystem functions. REFORM will improve existing tools and develop new ones to increase... Read more

Restoring River for Effective Catchment Management (REFORM)

Duration
-
Funding
 

Ecologic Institut

During the first period of the Forum Fish Protection and Downstream Fish Migration, more than 200 people from different fields, such as water management and nature conservation by the states and the federal government, the federal waterway administration and transport... Read more
 
Freshwater biodiversity patterns and the processes that maintain them at European and global scale are poorly understood for most freshwater organisms. The BioFresh FP7 project built a public biodiversity information platform to bring together the vast amount of... Read more

Biodiversity of Freshwater Ecosystems: Status, Trends, Pressures, and Conservation Priorities (BioFresh)

Duration
-
Funding
 
By the end of 2012, the European Commission will present a communication called the "Blueprint to Safeguard Europe’s Water", which will be the policy response to challenges in achieving EU water policy goals. The Blueprint will be accompanied by a strong effort of... Read more

Public and Stakeholder Consultation of the Blueprint to safeguard Europe's Water

Duration
-
Funding
Selected publications by Dr. Eleftheria Kampa
 
Hydropower is an important source of renewable and stable energy production. However, hydroelectric power generation also affects aquatic ecosystems, in particular fish fauna and hydro-morphology. There is therefore a need to find alternative methods and tools for... Read more

Kampa, E., Berg, L. (edit.), 2020: Fish-friendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower. Key outputs from the FIThydro project. Policy Brief.

 
This report has been prepared as part of work-package 5 of the FIThydro project on Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower. It aims at investigating the regulatory landscape influencing actions relevant to environmental improvements in the context of... Read more

Kampa, E. Tarpey, J., Rouillard, J., Bakken, T. H., Stein, U.,  Godinho, F. N., Leitão, A. E., Portela, M. M., Courret, D., Sanz-Ronda, F.J., Boes, R., and A. Odelberg (2017). Technical  Deliverable 5.1. Review of policy requirements and financing instruments. H2020 project FIThydro Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower.

 
Water security is at the heart of healthy and prosperous societies. European countries' prosperity depends on their ability to maintain the gains they have achieved in water security and address new and rising challenges. Nature Based Solutions can be deployed to... Read more

Trémolet S. et al. (2019). Investing in Nature for Europe Water Security. The Nature Conservancy, Ecologic Institute and ICLEI. London, United Kingdom.

 
EEA Report Nr. 7/2018
In 2018, the European Commission will publish its report on the assessment of the second River Basin Management Programme (RBMPs) and will start the process of evaluating the Water Framework Directive (WFD) (EC, 2017a). To accompany and inform this process, the European... Read more

EEA 2018: European Waters Assessment of Status and Pressures. EEA Report No 7/2018. European Environment Agency, Luxembourg.

 
The present report is about methodologies used in European countries for river hydromorphological assessment and monitoring across scales. It has been developed as part of the work programme 2016-2018 of the Common Implementation Strategy Ad-hoc Task Group on... Read more

Kampa, E. & Bussettini, M., 2018. River Hydromorphological Assessment and Monitoring Methodologies: Part 1 – Summary of European country questionnaires.

 
As hydromorphological aspects between the Water Framework Directive (WFD) and the Floods Directive refer to the same fluvial processes, the issue of hydromorphology and flooding has been addressed several times within the Common Implementation Strategy (CIS) process. In... Read more

Dworak, Thomas & Kampa, Eleftheria (2019). Workshop on hydro-morphological measures under the Floods and Water Framework Directives “Finding synergies and addressing challenges”. Background paper with conclusions from the workshop 4/5.12.2018 Budapest/Hungary.

 
This Issue Paper contains final conclusions and recommendations from the workshop "Water Management, Water Framework and Hydropower" which took place in September 2011. Additionally, it provides background information as well as the summary of a questionnaire on... Read more

Kampa, Eleftheria; Johanna von der Weppen and Thomas Dworak 2011: Water Management, Water Framework Directive and Hydropower - Common Implementation Strategy Workshop. Ecologic Institute, Berlin.

 
JRC110957
One of the core activities for the Common Implementation Strategy Working Group ECOSTAT between 2013 and 2017 has been to try to compare the ecological quality expected by different countries for water bodies impacted by flood protection. The process involved the use of... Read more

Bussettini M, Kling J, van de Bund W, Eds: Kampa E & Bussettini M, Working Group ECOSTAT report on common understanding of using mitigation measures for reaching Good Ecological Potential for heavily modified water bodies - Part 2: Impacted by flood protection structures, EUR 29131 EN; Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2018, ISBN 978-92-79-80290-4, doi:10.2760/875939, JRC110957

 
In the latest Work Programme 2016-2018 of the Common Implementation Strategy (CIS) of the Water Framework Directive (WFD), the Water Directors of European countries agreed to set up a specific Ad-hoc Task Group (ATG) on best practice and guidance to deal with... Read more

Halleraker et al. (authors). Kampa, Eleftheria and Sebastian Döbbelt-Grüne (eds.) 2016: Working Group ECOSTAT Report On Common Understanding Of Using Mitigation Measures For Reaching Good Ecological Potential For Heavily Modified Water Bodies. Luxembourg.

 
Ecologic Institute supported the European Commission and the Ad-hoc Task Group on Hydromorphology in organising a Common Implementation Strategy (CIS) workshop. This CIS workshop on the subject of significant adverse effects was organized on 23 and 24 April 2018 in... Read more

Kampa, E., Rouillard, J., van de Bund, W, Brooke, J. 2018. Workshop on Significant adverse effects on use or the wider environment from measures – Summary report, 23-24 April 2018, Brussels.

 
What progress have EU Member States made in implementing the Water Framework Directive between the first (2009) to the second cycle (2015) of river basin management planning? A consultant's report co-authored by Ecologic Institute is provides initial insights on the... Read more

Fresh Thoughts, Ecologic Institute, WRc (2015). Screening Assessment of Draft Second Cycle River Basin Management Plans. Consultant report commissioned by DG Environment, European Commission.

 
ETC/ICM Technical Report 2/2015
This report explores the possibility of linking Water Framework Directive (WFD) and Habitats Directive (HD) information by using WISE WFD information on types, ecological status, pressures and measures (EEA, 2012) and HD infor-mation on habitat types, conservation... Read more

ETC/ICM, 2015. European Freshwater Ecosystem Assessment: Cross-walk between the Water Framework Directive and Habitats Directive types, status and pressures, ETC/ICM Technical Report 2/2015, Magdeburg: European Topic Centre on inland, coastal and marine waters, 176 pp. plus Annexes.

 
publication's cover

© European Environment Agency (EEA)

As part of its work within the ETC-ICM, Ecologic Institute has contributed as lead author to a new European Environment Agency (EEA) report examining the multiple pressures that agriculture put on Europe's water. The report shows that that a wider uptake of sustainable... Read more

EEA 2021: Water and agriculture: towards sustainable solutions. EEA report 17/2020. Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 128pp.

 
EEA Technical report
In recent decades, and after a gradual improvement in water quality due to wastewater treatment and reduced industrial activities, urban rivers and lakes have become increasingly important in the planning of urban ecology, green infrastructure, green areas and climate... Read more

EEA, 2016: Rivers and Lakes in European Cities. Past and Future Challenges. Technical report No 26/2016, European Environment Agency, Copenhagen.

 
As part of its work under the European Topic Centre on Inland, Coastal, and Marine waters (ETC/ICM), Ecologic Institute supported the European Environment Agency (EEA) in an assessment of public participation processes in the context of the Water Framework Directive ... Read more
EEA (2014): "Public participation: contributing to better water management". EEA Report, Vol. 3, 64.
 
This book is the result of a European project on heavily modified water bodies, carried out in the context of the Common Implementation Strategy of the EU Water Framework Directive (WFD). It presents and synthesises the results of thirty-four European case studies on... Read more

Kampa, Eleftheria and Wenke Hansen 2004: Heavily Modified Water Bodies. Synthesis of 34 Case Studies in Europe. [International and European Environmental Policy Studies]. Berlin Heidelberg: Springer.