Print

John Tarpey

MSc (Environmental Planning)
BA (Environmental Science, Public Policy)

Researcher

Team
Themen

John Tarpey arbeitet seit 2016 für das Ecologic Institut und beschäftigt sich als Researcher mit den Themenschwerpunkten Wasser, Klimawandel und Wirtschaft sowie Landwirtschaft. Er ist englischer Muttersprachler, spricht fließend Französisch und verfügt über gute Spanischkenntnisse sowie Grundkenntnisse der deutschen Sprache.

Für das Ecologic Institut arbeitet John Tarpey am Projekt "Resilienz in Europa durch die Aktivierung städtischer Zentren mittels Triple-A-Klimaanpassungsinstrumenten" (REACHOUT), welches durch das Horizont-2020-Programm der Europäischen Kommission finanziert wird. REACHOUT zielt darauf ab, nutzerorientierte Klimadienstleistungen in sieben europäischen Städten voranzutreiben, um die Umsetzung des europäischen Green Deals zu unterstützen. Außerdem ist er an dem Projekt "Regionale Bioökonomie-Strategien für eine gestärkte ländliche Entwicklung in der EU" (BE-Rural) beteiligt, das im Rahmen von Horizont 2020 das Entwicklungspotenzial der regionalen und lokalen biobasierten Wirtschaft in fünf Regionen Osteuropas untersucht.

Zuvor arbeitete John an dem Projekt "Co-Design der Bewertung von ökonomischen Kosten des Klimawandels" (COACCH), in dem er die ökonomischen Kosten des Klimawandels und von Klimamaßnahmen untersuchte und eine optimierte Abschätzung der Risiken und Kosten des Klimawandels in Europa unterstützte. Darüber hinaus koordinierte er das Ecologic Team in einem Projekt für die Europäische Umweltagentur, in dem Informationen konsolidiert wurden und ein Bericht über Anpassungskosten und Kosten des Nichthandelns in der EU erstellt wurde. Darüber hinaus wirkte John an anderen europäischen Projekten wie "Fischfreundliche innovative Wasserkrafttechnologien" (FIThydro), "Die Beteiligung der Gesellschaft bei der Anpassung an den globalen Wandel im Wassersektor" (BeWater) und "Ökonomie der Klimaanpassung in Europa" (ECONADAPT) mit.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit für das Ecologic Institut, arbeitete John Tarpey im Projektmanagement für Strata Solar, ein Solarunternehmen in North Carolina (USA). Zusätzlich war er am Kosten- und Performance-Reporting der Datenanalyse beteiligt. Als Rechtsassistent des North Carolina Sierra Clubs untersuchte er er Abrechnungen in Bezug auf Energieeffizienz-Standards und Wasserqualität. Während seines Praktikums beim Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen unterstützte er die Umwelt- und Sicherheitsinitiative.

John Tarpey absolvierte den Masterstudiengang Environmental Planning (Umweltplanung) an der Technischen Universität Berlin. 2014 schloss er an der Duke University in North Carolina (USA) sein Bachelorstudium in Environmental Science und Public Policy Studies mit den Schwerpunkten Umweltpolitik und Energiefragen ab. Während dieser Zeit verbrachte er ein Semester an der University of Cape Town in Südafrika, wo er lokale Stadtentwicklung und Politikwissenschaft studierte.

John Tarpey per E-Mail kontaktieren

Ihre hier eingegebenen Daten werden nur für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Anfrage verarbeitet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Erklärung zum Datenschutz.


Source URL: https://www.ecologic.eu/13255

Print

John Tarpey

MSc (Environmental Planning)
BA (Environmental Science, Public Policy)

Researcher

Team
Topics

John Tarpey began working at Ecologic Institute in 2016 and currently works as a Researcher with interests including water, climate adaptation and economics, and agriculture. He is a native English speaker, is fluent in French and has a good knowledge of Spanish as well as basic German.

At Ecologic Institute, John Tarpey works on Resilience in Europe through Activating City Hubs Reaching out to Users with Triple-A Climate Adaptation Tools (REACHOUT), funded by the European Commission's Horizon 2020 programme. REACHOUT aims to advance user-oriented climate services in seven European City Hubs to support the implementation of the European Green Deal. He is also involved in Bio-based Strategies and Roadmaps for Enhanced Rural and Regional Development in the EU (BE-Rural), a Horizon 2020 project exploring the potential of regional and local bio-based economies in five regions of Eastern Europe.

Previously, John worked on CO-designing the Assessment of Climate Change Costs (COACCH), examining the economic costs of climate change and climate actions, and supporting an improved downscaled assessment of the risks and costs of climate change in Europe. He also coordinated the Ecologic team on a project for the European Environment Agency, consolidating information and preparing a report on adaptation costs and inaction costs in the EU. Additionally, John has worked on other European projects such as Fish Friendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower (FIThydro), Making Society an Active Participant in Water Adaptation to Global Change (BeWater), and Economics of Climate Change Adaptation in Europe (ECONADAPT).

Prior to joining Ecologic Institute, John Tarpey worked in project management for Strata Solar, a utility-scale solar power company in North Carolina. He was involved in cost and performance reporting, in addition to carrying out construction data analysis. He has also worked with the North Carolina Sierra Club as a legislative assistant, where he researched bills relating to energy efficiency standards and water quality. John previously held an internship at the United Nations Environment Programme working on the Environment and Security Initiative.

John Tarpey completed his Master's degree in Environmental Planning at the Technische Universität Berlin (Germany). He received his Bachelor's from Duke University in North Carolina, where he studied environmental science and public policy, with a focus on energy issues and environmental policy. During this time, he spent a semester at the University of Cape Town in South Africa, where he studied local urban development and political science.

Contact John Tarpey by Email

The data sent will only be processed for the purpose of processing your request. You will find further information in our privacy notice.


Source URL: https://www.ecologic.eu/13255