Direkt zum Inhalt

Review of Policy Requirements and Financing Instruments (for fishfriendly hydropower)

Print

Review of Policy Requirements and Financing Instruments (for fishfriendly hydropower)

Deliverable 5.1 H2020 Research project "Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower (FIThydro)

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Kampa, E. Tarpey, J., Rouillard, J., Bakken, T. H., Stein, U.,  Godinho, F. N., Leitão, A. E., Portela, M. M., Courret, D., Sanz-Ronda, F.J., Boes, R., and A. Odelberg (2017). Technical  Deliverable 5.1. Review of policy requirements and financing instruments. H2020 project FIThydro Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower.

Dieser Bericht wurde als Teil des Arbeitspakets 5 des FIThydro-Projekts zu fischfreundlichen innovativen Technologien für Wasserkraft erstellt. Der Bericht zielt darauf ab, die Umweltpolitiken in Bezug auf Umweltverbesserungen im Zusammenhang mit der Planung und dem Betrieb von Wasserkraftanlagen zu untersuchen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Anforderungen der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie, Naturschutzpolitiken und Politiken zu erneuerbare Energie und Anpassung an den Klimawandel. In diesem Zusammenhang werden Chancen, Hindernissen und Herausforderungen beim Erreichen mehrerer Umweltziele dargestellt. Der Bericht steht zum Download zur Verfügung.

In dem Bericht werden zunächst die wichtigsten einschlägigen Politiken auf europäischer Ebene beschrieben. Anschließend konzentriert sich der Bericht auf die nationale Politiken in acht europäischen Ländern in den vier Regionen (Skandinavien, Alpen, Iberische Halbinsel und Frankreich / Belgien), in denen sich die Test-Standorte von FIThydro befinden. Auf dieser nationalen Ebene werden die wichtigsten rechtlichen Anforderungen für Umweltverbesserungen in Bezug auf bestehende und neue Wasserkraftwerke sowie relevante Aspekte im Genehmigungsprozess dargestellt. Hinzu überprüft der Bericht den Einsatz von Finanzierungsinstrumenten um ökologisch verträgliche Wasserkraftproduktion zu unterstützen und zu erhalten.

Wasserkraft gilt als zuverlässige und kostengünstige erneuerbare Energiequelle. Sie kann im Rahmen der aktuellen Klimaschutz- und erneuerbare Energie-Politik einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen in Europa leisten. Gleichzeitig sind Bau und Betrieb von Wasserkraftanlagen mit Auswirkungen auf die Wasserökosysteme verbunden. Zu den wichtigsten Auswirkungen von Wasserkraftanlagen in Flussgebieten zählen Barrieren für die Fischwanderung, Schäden und Mortalität von Fischarten, veränderte Strömung und Lebensraumbedingungen, Änderungen der Nährstoff- und physikalisch-chemischen Bedingungen sowie veränderte Sedimentverteilung.

Überprüfung der Umweltpolitiken und Finanzierungsinstrumente für fischfreundliche Wasserkraft

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Tor Haakon Bakken (SINTEF)
Francisco Nunes Godinho, António Eira Leitão, Maria Manuela Portela (HIDROERG)
Dominique Courret (The French Agency for Biodiversity)
Francisco Javier Sanz-Ronda (ITAGRA)
Robert Boes (ETH Zürich)
Angela Odelberg (Statkraft)
Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
92 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Wasserkraft, fishfreundlich, Wasserrahmenrichtlinie, erneuerbare Energie, Wasser
Europa

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Review of Policy Requirements and Financing Instruments (for fishfriendly hydropower)

Review of Policy Requirements and Financing Instruments (for fishfriendly hydropower)

Deliverable 5.1 H2020 Research project "Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower (FIThydro)

This report has been prepared as part of work-package 5 of the FIThydro project on Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower. It aims at investigating the regulatory landscape influencing actions relevant to environmental improvements in the context of planning and operating hydropower plants. Emphasis is given to the requirements of the EU Water Framework Directive, nature protection policies and policies on renewable energy and climate change adaptation, thereby outlining opportunities, barriers and challenges in reaching multiple environmental objectives. The report is available for download.

At first, the report outlines key relevant European-level policies. Subsequently, the report focuses on national policies in eight European countries in the four regions (Scandinavia, Alpine, Iberian peninsula and France/Belgium) where FIThydro test sites are located. On this national level of analysis, the key legal requirements for environmental improvements related to existing and new hydropower plants are outlined, as well as relevant aspects in the permitting process. In addition, the report reviews the use of financing instruments to support and sustain ecologically compatible hydropower production.

Hydropower is considered to be a reliable and cost effective renewable energy source. It can make an important contribution to the reduction of CO2 emissions in Europe within current climate protection and renewable energy policy. At the same time, the construction and operation of hydropower plants is generally linked to impacts on water ecosystems. The major impacts of hydropower plants in river basins include barriers to fish migration, damage and mortality of fish species, modified flows and habitat conditions, changes in nutrient and physico-chemical conditions, as well as changed sediment patterns.


Citation

Kampa, E. Tarpey, J., Rouillard, J., Bakken, T. H., Stein, U.,  Godinho, F. N., Leitão, A. E., Portela, M. M., Courret, D., Sanz-Ronda, F.J., Boes, R., and A. Odelberg (2017). Technical  Deliverable 5.1. Review of policy requirements and financing instruments. H2020 project FIThydro Fishfriendly Innovative Technologies for Hydropower.

Language
English
Author(s)
Tor Haakon Bakken (SINTEF)
Francisco Nunes Godinho, António Eira Leitão, Maria Manuela Portela (HIDROERG)
Dominique Courret (The French Agency for Biodiversity)
Francisco Javier Sanz-Ronda (ITAGRA)
Robert Boes (ETH Zürich)
Angela Odelberg (Statkraft)
Funding
Year
2017
Dimension
92 pp.
Project ID
2806
Table of Contents

1. Introduction
1.1 Background and objectives
1.2 Methodology
1.3 Structure of the report
2. European policies
2.1 Climate and energy policy framework
2.2 Water Framework Directive
2.3 Nature and biodiversity protection policy
2.4 Eel Regulation
2.5 Strategic environmental assessment and environmental impact assessment
2.6 Invasive Alien Species regulation
3. National legislation
4. Strategic planning instruments
4.1 Strategic instruments for new hydropower use and development
4.2 Strategic instruments to restore continuity
5. Environmental requirements in the context of authorising hydropower plants
5.1 Duration of permits/concessions
5.2 Revision of permits for existing HPP
5.3 Mitigation measure requirements for HPP
5.4 Monitoring requirements for mitigation measures
6. Regulatory agencies involved in the authorisation of HPP
7. Financing instruments
7.1 EU support instruments
7.2 Financing instruments at country level
7.2.1 Feed-in tariffs
7.2.2 Green power labels
7.2.3 Support schemes for modernization of existing plants
7.2.4 Support schemes for mitigation measures in new plants
8. Challenges and opportunities for hydropower planning and operation
8.1 Related to the legislative framework and authorisation procedures
8.2 Related to financing instruments
9. References

Keywords
hydropower, fishfriendly, Water Framework Directive, WFD, renewable energy, water, Europe