Direkt zum Inhalt

Sustainable Development in the European Union – 2018

Print PDF

Sustainable Development in the European Union – 2018

Monitoring report on progress towards the SDGs in an EU context

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Bley, Simon Johannes, et al. (ed.) 2018: Sustainable Development in the European Union. Monitoring Report on Progress Towards the SDGs in an EU Context. [eurostat Statistical books 2018 edition]. Luxembourg: Publications Office of the European Union.

Dieser zweite Monitoring-Bericht von Eurostat schildert die Fortschritte bei der Verwirklichung der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) im EU-Kontext. Die Analyse stützt sich auf den EU SDG-Indikatorensatz, der in Zusammenarbeit mit einer Vielzahl von Interessengruppen entwickelt wurde. Das Indikatorenset umfasst 100 Indikatoren und ist entlang der 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele aufgebaut. Für jedes Ziel konzentriert sie sich auf Aspekte, die aus EU-Sicht relevant sind. Der Monitoring-Bericht enthält eine statistische Darstellung der Entwicklung der SDGs in der EU in den letzten fünf Jahren ("kurzfristig") und, wenn ausreichende Daten verfügbar sind, in den letzten 15 Jahren ("langfristig"). Die Entwicklung der Indikatoren wird auf der Grundlage einer Reihe spezifischer quantitativer Regeln beschrieben. Die AutorInnen des Ecologic Instituts behandelten die Kapitel zu SDG 2 (Kein Hunger), SDG 6 (Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung), SDG 7 (Bezahlbare und saubere Energie), SDG 13 (Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz), SDG 14 (Leben unter Wasser), SDG 15 (Leben an Land) SDG 17 (Partnerschaft für Erreichung der Ziele). Der Monitoring-Bericht steht zum Download bereit.

Die nachhaltige Entwicklung ist in den europäischen Verträgen fest verankert und steht seit langem im Mittelpunkt der europäischen Politik. Die Agenda für nachhaltige Entwicklung von 2030 und ihre 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs), die von der UN-Generalversammlung im September 2015 verabschiedet wurden, haben den globalen Anstrengungen zur Erreichung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung neue Impulse verliehen. Die EU ist fest entschlossen, eine aktive Rolle zu spielen, um die Fortschritte bei der Erreichung der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung zu maximieren.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Credits

Editor-in-chief:
Simon Johannes Bley (Eurostat, Unit E2 — Environmental statistics and accounts; sustainable development)
Editors:
Markus Hametner, Mariia Kostetckaia, Renate Ruech (WU Vienna); Katrina Abhold, Nick Evans, Christiane Gerstetter, Doris Knoblauch, Ina Krüger, Keighley McFarland, Katriona McGlade, Andreas Prahl, Ulf Stein (Ecologic Institut); Ariane De Rocchi, Eva Gschwend, Anik Kohli, Bettina Rüegge, Gina Spescha, Myriam Steinemann, Remo Zandonella (INFRAS)
Co-editors:
Fritz Gebhard, Nicola Massarelli, Christine Mayer, Anna Sabadash, Irina Schön, Anton Steurer, Lisa Waselikowski (Eurostat, Unit E2 — Environmental statistics and accounts; sustainable development), Carolyn Avery, Nicole Schroeder (ENDS, Haymarket Media Group Ltd)

Finanzierung
Europäische Kommission, Eurostat (Eurostat), International
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
354 S.
ISBN
978-92-79-88744-4 (print), 978-92-79-88744-4 (pdf)
DOI
10.2785/221211 (print) 10.2785/401485 (pdf)
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Ziele der nachhaltigen Entwicklung, SDGs, Indikatorensatz, Trends, Agenda 2030
Europa
Monitoring

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Sustainable Development in the European Union – 2018

Publication

Sustainable Development in the European Union – 2018

Monitoring report on progress towards the SDGs in an EU context

This publication is the second of Eurostat’s regular reports monitoring progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in an EU context. The analysis in this publication builds on the EU SDG indicator set, developed in cooperation with a large number of stakeholders. The indicator set comprises 100 indicators and is structured along the 17 SDGs. For each SDG, it focuses on aspects which are relevant from an EU perspective. The monitoring report provides a statistical presentation of trends relating to the SDGs in the EU over the past five years ('short-term') and, when sufficient data is available, over the past 15 years (‘long-term’). The indicator trends are described on the basis of a set of specific quantitative rules. Ecologic Institute's authors covered the chapters on SDG 2 (Zero Hunger), SDG 6 (Clean Water and Sanitation), SDG 7 (Affordable and Clean Energy), SDG 13 (Climate Action), SDG 14 (Life Below Water), SDG 15 (Life on Land) and SDG 17 (Partnerships for the Goals). The publication is available for download.

Sustainable development is firmly anchored in the European Treaties and has been at the heart of European policy for a long time. The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and its 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), adopted by the UN General Assembly in September 2015, have given a new impetus to global efforts for achieving sustainable development. The EU is fully committed to playing an active role to maximise progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals.


Citation

Bley, Simon Johannes, et al. (ed.) 2018: Sustainable Development in the European Union. Monitoring Report on Progress Towards the SDGs in an EU Context. [eurostat Statistical books 2018 edition]. Luxembourg: Publications Office of the European Union.

Language
English
Credits

Editor-in-chief:
Simon Johannes Bley (Eurostat, Unit E2 — Environmental statistics and accounts; sustainable development)
Editors:
Markus Hametner, Mariia Kostetckaia, Renate Ruech (WU Vienna); Katrina Abhold, Nick Evans, Christiane Gerstetter, Doris Knoblauch, Ina Krüger, Keighley McFarland, Katriona McGlade, Andreas Prahl, Ulf Stein (Ecologic Institute); Ariane De Rocchi, Eva Gschwend, Anik Kohli, Bettina Rüegge, Gina Spescha, Myriam Steinemann, Remo Zandonella (INFRAS)
Co-editors:
Fritz Gebhard, Nicola Massarelli, Christine Mayer, Anna Sabadash, Irina Schön, Anton Steurer, Lisa Waselikowski (Eurostat, Unit E2 — Environmental statistics and accounts; sustainable development), Carolyn Avery, Nicole Schroeder (ENDS, Haymarket Media Group Ltd)

Funding
  • European Commission, Eurostat (Eurostat)
Publisher
Year
2018
ISBN
978-92-79-88744-4 (print), 978-92-79-88744-4 (pdf)
DOI
10.2785/221211 (print) 10.2785/401485 (pdf)
Dimension
354 pp.
Project ID
2579
Table of Contents

Foreword
Acknowledgements
Synopsis
Introduction
1. SDG 1: No poverty
2. SDG 2: Zero hunger
3. SDG 3: Good health and well-being
4. SDG 4: Quality education
5. SDG 5: Gender equality
6. SDG 6: Clean water and sanitation
7. SDG 7: Affordable and clean energy
8. SDG 8: Decent work and economic growth
9. SDG 9: Industry, innovation and infrastructure
10. SDG 10: Reduced inequalities
11. SDG 11: Sustainable cities and communities
12. SDG 12: Responsible consumption and production
13. SDG 13: Climate action
14. SDG 14: Life below water
15. SDG 15: Life on land
16. SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions
17. SDG 17: Partnership for the goals
Annexes

Keywords
Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs, indicator set, trends, 2030 Agenda, Europe, monitoring