Direkt zum Inhalt

Addressing Climate Change in Cities – Policy Instruments to Promote Urban Nature-based Solutions

 
Publication's cover

© Ecologic Institute & the Sendzimir Foundation Berlin – Kraków 2020

Print

Addressing Climate Change in Cities – Policy Instruments to Promote Urban Nature-based Solutions

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Naumann, S., Davis, M., Iwaszuk, E., Freundt, M., Mederake, L., 2020: Addressing climate change in cities – Policy instruments to promote urban nature-based solutions. Ecologic Institute, the Sendzimir Foundation: Berlin, Krakow.

Naumann, S., Davis, M., Iwaszuk, E., Freundt, M., Mederake, L., 2020: Błękitno-zielona infrastruktura dla łagodzenia zmian klimatu w miastach. Narzędzia strategiczne. Ecologic Institute, Fundacja Sendzimira: Berlin, Krakow.

Naturbasierte Lösungen (NBS) sind Lösungen, die von der Natur inspiriert und unterstützt werden. Sie können in städtischen Gebieten eingesetzt werden, um "traditionelle" oder "graue" Lösungen für soziale und ökologische Herausforderungen wie Luftverschmutzung, den Hitzeinseleffekt, Wasserknappheit, Überschwemmungen, Naturverlust und mangelnden sozialen Zusammenhalt zu ergänzen oder zu ersetzen.

Obwohl ein erhebliches Potenzial besteht, werden NBS von den Städten zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels nach wie vor nicht ausreichend genutzt. Zu den Hindernissen, die eine breitere Umsetzung im europäischen Kontext verhindert haben, gehören der Mangel an einschlägiger Erfahrung mit und Wissen zur Planung und Umsetzung von NBS. Eine weitere Herausforderung ist der Mangel an lokal angepassten politischen Instrumenten, die eine Integration von NBS in verschiedene Sektoren und Politiken unterstützen.

Der vorliegende Leitfaden geht auf diese Lücken ein und präsentiert eine Reihe von politischen und unterstützenden Instrumenten, die für die Planung, Umsetzung und Pflege von NBS von Bedeutung sein können. Zu den politischen Instrumenten gehören unter anderem Verordnungen, Strategien, Programme, Aktionspläne und finanzielle Anreize. Ziel des Leitfadens ist es, politische Entscheidungsträger*innen, Mitarbeiter*innen der Stadtverwaltung und lokale Initiativen und Bürger*innen bei der Gestaltung und Umsetzung solcher Politikinstrumente zu unterstützen, um die Implementierung von NBS voranzutreiben. Jedes Instrument wird kurz hinsichtlich der Funktionsweise und des Nutzens beschrieben. Praxisbeispiele aus Deutschland und Europa zeigen, wie Städte diese Instrumente zur verstärkten Umsetzung von NBS bereits erfolgreich einsetzen.

Dieser Politikleitfaden wurde im Rahmen des Projekts "Climate NBS Poland" erstellt, das von der Europäischen Klimainitiative (EUKI) des deutschen Umweltministeriums unterstützt wird. Der Leitfaden wird durch die Veröffentlichung Addressing Climate Change in Cities – Catalogue of urban nature-based solutions ergänzt. Ziel des Katalogs ist es, Stadtplaner*innen und Landschaftsarchitekt*innen in urbanen Gebieten in Europa und darüber hinaus zu unterstützen, NBS anstelle von oder ergänzend zu traditionellen, grauen Infrastrukturansätzen anzuwenden.

Sie können ein kostenloses gedrucktes Exemplar dieser Publikation (in Englisch) über dieses Online-Formular bestellen.

Mit Hilfe von Beispielen aus ganz Deutschland und Europa stellt dieser Leitfaden politische Instrumente vor, die Städten bei der Umsetzung naturbasierter Lösungen helfen können.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprachen
Polnisch
Deutsch
Autorenschaft
Credits

Redaktion
Tomasz Jeleński (Technical University Krakow)
Tomasz Bergier (AGH University of Science and Technology)
Ilona Gosk (the Sendzimir Foundation)

Lektorat
John Tarpey (Ecologic Institut)

Finanzierung
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
84 S.
ISBN
ISBN 978-83-62168-13-2 (printed version in Polish) ISBN 978-83-62168-14-9 (online version in Polish) ISBN 978-83-62168-15-6 (online version in English)
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Klimawandel, Klimaschutz, Klimaanpassung, naturbasierte Lösungen, Städte, NBS, städtische NBS, grüne Infrastruktur, Stadtplanung, Bürgerhaushalt, Stadterneuerung, Regenwassermanagement, Stadtentwicklung, Planungsinstrumente, Stadtentwicklungskonzept, städtische Grünplanung, grüne Städte
Polen, Deutschland

Skip to main content

Addressing Climate Change in Cities – Policy Instruments to Promote Urban Nature-based Solutions

Publication's cover

© Ecologic Institute & the Sendzimir Foundation Berlin – Kraków 2020

Print PDF

Addressing Climate Change in Cities – Policy Instruments to Promote Urban Nature-based Solutions

Publication
Citation

Naumann, S., Davis, M., Iwaszuk, E., Freundt, M., Mederake, L., 2020: Addressing climate change in cities – Policy instruments to promote urban nature-based solutions. Ecologic Institute, the Sendzimir Foundation: Berlin, Krakow.

Naumann, S., Davis, M., Iwaszuk, E., Freundt, M., Mederake, L., 2020: Błękitno-zielona infrastruktura dla łagodzenia zmian klimatu w miastach. Narzędzia strategiczne. Ecologic Institute, Fundacja Sendzimira: Berlin, Krakow.

Nature-based solutions (NBS) are solutions that are inspired and supported by nature. They can be used in urban settings to complement or replace "traditional" or "grey" solutions to social and environmental challenges, such as air pollution, the heat island effect, water scarcity, flooding, loss of nature and lack of social cohesion.

Although significant potential exists, NBS remain underutilized by cities as solution to address climate change. Barriers that have prevented wider uptake in the European context include a lack of relevant experience with and knowledge of NBS planning and implementation as well as a shortage of locally adapted policy instruments to support mainstreaming across sectoral policies.

This guidance document responds to these gaps and highlights a range of policy and supporting instruments relevant for NBS design, implementation and maintenance. Policy instruments include regulations, strategies, programmes, action plans and financial incentives. The guidance aims to support policymakers, city officials and local citizens and initiatives in the design and implementation of such policy instruments for increased NBS implementation. Each instrument is briefly described, including how it works and what benefits it can deliver. Case studies from Germany and Europe showcasing how different cities approach NBS and foster their integration into their policy frameworks illustrate each of the instruments.

This policy guidance was produced as part of the project “Climate NBS Poland”, supported by the European Climate Initiative (EUKI) of the German Ministry of Environment. It is complemented by the publication Addressing Climate Change in Cities – Catalogue of urban nature-based solutions which aims to support planners, designers and landscape architects in various sized urban areas in Europe and beyond in applying NBS instead of or alongside traditional grey infrastructure approaches.

You can now order a free hard copy of this publication via this online order form.

Illustrated by case studies from across Germany and Europe, this publication presents policy instruments to support cities implement nature-based solutions to address urban challenges.

Contact

More content from this project

Languages
Polish
German
Authorship
Credits

Editors
Tomasz Jeleński (Technical University Krakow)
Tomasz Bergier (AGH University of Science and Technology)
Ilona Gosk (the Sendzimir Foundation)

Proofreading
John Tarpey (Ecologic Institute)

Funding
Published by
Year
2020
Dimension
84 pp.
ISBN
ISBN 978-83-62168-13-2 (printed version in Polish) ISBN 978-83-62168-14-9 (online version in Polish) ISBN 978-83-62168-15-6 (online version in English)
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
climate change, climate mitigation, climate adaptation, nature-based solutions, cities, NBS, urban NBS, green infrastructure, urban planning, participatory budget, urban regeneration, stormwater management, urban development, planning instruments, policy plan, urban green planning, green cities
Poland, Germany