Direkt zum Inhalt

Dr. Nico Stelljes

Print

Dr. Nico Stelljes

Doktor der Naturwissenschaften
Diplom-Umweltwissenschaftler

Coordinator Coastal and Marine Studies
Fellow

Team
Themen

Dr. Nico Stelljes arbeitet seit 2011 als Fellow für das Ecologic Institut und koordiniert die Küsten- und Meeresstudien des Instituts. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind regionale Anpassung an den Klimawandel, Integriertes Küstenzonenmanagement (IKZM), Nachhaltigkeit, Transdisziplinarität, Wahrnehmung des Klimawandels bei unterschiedlichen Akteuren und Wissenstransfer. Er arbeitet in englischer und deutscher Sprache.

Dr. Nico Stelljes ist Mitglied des Projektteams "Innovation bei der Bereitstellung von Klimadiensten" (INNOVA). Das Projekt ist im ERA-NET Konsortium "Europäischer Forschungsraum für Klimadienstleistungen" (ERA4CS) angesiedelt und entwickelt Klimadienste für vier Fallstudienregionen in Europa. Die Fallstudie in der Kieler Bucht wird dabei von Dr. Nico Stelljes geleitet.

In der Vergangenheit beschäftigte sich Dr. Nico Stelljes mit dem Projekt "Regionale Anpassungsstrategien für die deutsche Ostseeküste" (RADOST), das vom Ecologic Institut Berlin koordiniert wurde. RADOST war eine von sieben Modellregionen in Deutschland, innerhalb der vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Initiative KLIMZUG (Klimawandel in Regionen zukunftsfähig gestalten). Zudem war er Mitglied im Projektteam "Reduzierung von Nährstoffeinträgen, die durch landwirtschaftlich genutzte Böden über Grundwasser und Fließgewässer in die Ostsee gelangen" (BONUS SOILS2SEA). Innerhalb des Siebten Rahmenprogramms (RP7) der Europäischen Kommission beschäftigte er sich mit Klimaanpassungsstrategien für ein nachhaltiges Europa (BASE) sowie mit der Erarbeitung und Bewertung von resilienzsteigernden Strategien für Küsten im Projekt RISC-KIT.

Der Wissenstransfer und die Zusammenarbeit mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren ist zusätzlich zur wissenschaftlichen Arbeit ein wichtiges Betätigungsfeld für Dr. Nico Stelljes. Neben der Organisation und Moderation von Workshops war er im Programkomitee der zweiten Konferenz zur Klimaanpassung (ECCA2015) und des dritten BONUS Symposiums (2018) tätig. Im Rahmen des Projektes RISC-KIT war er an der Entwicklung einer Website zur Risikokommunikation an europäischen Küsten wesentlich beteiligt. Weitere Informationen zu seinen Projekten und Veröffentlichungen finden sich über researchgate.

Vor seiner Zeit am Ecologic Institut arbeitete er am Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht. Dort war er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Projekt Zukunft Küste – Coastal Futures beteiligt. Innerhalb dieses Projektes begann Nico Stelljes seine Dissertation mit dem Titel Der Einfluss des demografischen Wandels auf Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte in einer Küstenregion [pdf, 4.9 MB, Deutsch]. Diese wurde 2012 am Institut für Geographie der Universität Hamburg abgeschlossen.

Nico Stelljes studierte in Lüneburg Umweltwissenschaften mit den Schwerpunkten Ökologie und Landschaftsplanung. In seiner Diplomarbeit beschäftigte er sich mit Sandvorspülungen als Küstenschutzmaßnahme für Sylt.

Dr. Nico Stelljes per E-Mail kontaktieren

Ihre hier eingegebenen Daten werden nur für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Anfrage verarbeitet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Erklärung zum Datenschutz.

Ausgewählte Projekte von Dr. Nico Stelljes
 
Ostseeküste | © Ecologic Institut
Ziel des Vorhabens ist die fachliche Unterstützung und Begleitung der Aufgaben des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA) zur Umsetzung der EU-Meeresstrategie-Rahmenrichtlinie (MSRL) und der dazu erforderlichen Kooperationen auf regionaler und nationaler Basis sowie auf der EU-Ebene.... Weiterlesen

Umsetzung der EU-Meeresstrategie-Rahmenrichtlinie (MEER-Projekt)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 

© Nico Stelljes

Zum Schutz der biologischen Vielfalt und den immer komplexeren Bedrohungen der Meeresökosysteme zu begegnen, haben die EU-Mitgliedstaaten Meeresschutzgebieten (MPAs) ausgewiesen. Etwa 12% der EU-Meere sind als MPA ausgewiesen, wobei davon fast 75% als Natura-2000... Weiterlesen

Effektives Management von marinen Natura 2000-Gebieten und anderen EU-Meeresschutzgebieten

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 

© UNITED

Das UNITED-Projekt liefert anhand von Pilot-Demonstratoren den Beweis, dass die Entwicklung von Mehrzweckplattformen oder die Konzentration verschiedener Aktivitäten in einem Meeres- und Ozeanraum ein praktikabler Ansatz (wirtschaftlich, sozial und ökologisch) für die... Weiterlesen

Offshore-Mehrzweckplattformen zur Steigerung einer kosteneffektiven und nachhaltigen Produktion in der Meeresumwelt (UNITED)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
Der Ozean ist eine Quelle des Lebens für den Menschen. Er gibt uns Nahrung, Sauerstoff und Energie. Er ist die Heimat vieler Arten und wirkt als Klimaregulator. Zu verstehen, wie wir den Ozean beeinflussen und wie der Ozean uns beeinflusst, ist das Kernstück der... Weiterlesen

Das EU4Ocean Netzwerk für "Ocean Literacy"

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 
| Fotolia © Victoria
Das Forschungsprojekt INNOVA stellt Prototypen und Geschäftsmodelle von erfolgreichen Anpassungsstrategien ehemaliger und gegenwärtiger Europäischer Initiativen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel in Spanien (Valencia),  Deutschland (Kieler Bucht), den Niederlanden ... Weiterlesen
 
| ©tai111|Fotolia.com
Das Ziel der Projektnehmenden ist die wissenschaftliche Unterstützung des Umweltbundesamts (UBA) in der Kommunikation der Ergebnisse der IPCC-Sonderberichte "Klimawandel und Land" (SRCCL) und "Ozeane und die Kyrosphäre in einem sich wandelnden Klima"... Weiterlesen
Ausgewählte Publikationen von Dr. Nico Stelljes
 
Scientific Review Paper
Die Studie "Ocean as a Global Commons: International Governance and the Role of Germany"  erfolgte im Auftrag des Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) als Teil der Wissenschaftsplattform Nachhaltigkeit 2030. Dabei gibt die Studie einen Überblick... Weiterlesen

Abhold, K., Hoffmann, H., McGlade, K., Krüger, I., Stelljes, N. (2019): Oceans as Global Commons. International Governance and the Role of Germany. Report to the Science Platform Sustainability 2030. Berlin: Ecologic Institute.

 
Stelljes, Nico: Using Active Public Participation in the Co-development of Coastal Protection Strategies for a Touristic Beach City. Timmendorfer Strand, Germany. in: Ng, K., Campos, I., Penha-Lopes, G. (Eds.). (2016). BASE adaptation inspiration book: 23 European cases... Weiterlesen

Stelljes, Nico: Using Active Public Participation in the Co-development of Coastal Protection Strategies for a Touristic Beach City. Timmendorfer Strand, Germany. in: Ng, K., Campos, I., & Penha-Lopes, G. (Eds.). (2016). BASE adaptation inspiration book: 23 European cases of climate change adaptation to inspire European decision-makers, practitioners and citizens. Lisbon: Faculty of Sciences, University of Lisbon, 122-125.

 
Stelljes, N., McGlade, K., Martinez, G., BONUS SOILS2SEA Deliverable 6.4. Results from stakeholder workshops on governance concepts. Ecologic Institute, Berlin, December 2017, www.soils2sea.eu ... Weiterlesen

Stelljes, N., McGlade, K., Martinez, G., BONUS SOILS2SEA Deliverable 6.4. Results from stakeholder workshops on governance concepts. Ecologic Institute, Berlin, December 2017, www.soils2sea.eu

 
Was macht Anpassungsmaßnahmen erfolgreich und als gutes Beispiel nutzbar? Dr. Nico Stelljes nutzte zur Beantwortung dieser Frage verschiedene Erfolgskriterien, die sich zur Einteilung von guten Beispielen der Klimaanpassung eignen und präsentiert fünf Beispiele der... Weiterlesen

Stelljes, Nico 2015: "Der Blick über den Tellerrand. Internationale Beispiele der Klimaanpassung.", in: Jörg Knieling und Bernhard Müller (Hg.): Klimaanpassung in der Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung. Ansätze, Instrumente, Maßnahmen und Beispiele. [Klimawandel in Regionen zukunftsfähig gestalten Band 7]. München: oekom verlag, 121-141.

 
Die diffuse Wasserverschmutzung durch die Landwirtschaft (DWPA) und ihre Steuerung hat als politisches Anliegen weltweit an Bedeutung gewonnen. Die Eindämmung der DWPA ist ein komplexes Problem, das eine Mischung aus politischen Instrumenten und einer... Weiterlesen

Morten Graversgaard, Hedelin B., Smith L., Gertz F., Højberg A.L., Langford J., Martinez G., Mostert E., Ptak E., Peterson H., Stelljes N., van den Brink C., and Refsgaard J.C., Opportunities and Barriers for Water Co-Governance—A Critical Analysis of Seven Cases of Diffuse Water Pollution from Agriculture in Europe, Australia and North America. Sustainability 2018.10, 1634.

 
Der Klimawandel wird von den meisten Akteuren in Politik, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft an der Ostseeküste als Problem wahrgenommen. Uneinigkeit besteht jedoch darüber, wie damit umgegangen werden sollte. Nico Stelljes, Doris Knoblauch, Robin Körth und Grit Martinez... Weiterlesen

Stelljes, Nico; Doris Knoblauch; Grit Martinez et al. 2014: "Akteursanalyse und Befragungen in RADOST: Klimaanpassung aus Sicht von Akteuren an der Ostseeküste", in: Karin Beese; Miriam Fekkak; Christine Katz et al. (Hg.): Anpassung an regionale Klimafolgen kommunizieren. Konzepte, Herausforderungen und Perspektiven. [KLIMZUG-Reihe: Klimawandel in Regionen zukunftsfähig gestalten]. München: oekom Verlag, 167-178.

 
Schleswig-Holstein und Mecklenburg-Vorpommern liegen beide an der deutschen Ostseeküste. Dennoch hat jedes Bundesland seine eigene Geschichte, da Schleswig-Holstein Teil der Bundesrepublik war, während Mecklenburg-Vorpommern zur DDR gehörte. Dies hat in den beiden... Weiterlesen

Knoblauch, Doris und Stelljes, Nico (2014): "Regional perspectives concerning climate change and coastal adaptation. A comparison between Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Schleswig-Holstein", in: Grit Martinez; Hans-Joachim Meier und Peter Fröhle (Hrsg.): Social Dimensions of Climate Change Adaptation in Coastal Regions – Findings from Transdisciplinary Research. München: oekom verlag, 45-60.

Skip to main content

Dr. Nico Stelljes

Print

Dr. Nico Stelljes

Doctor of Natural Sciences
Environmental Scientist (Diplom-Umweltwissenschaftler)

Coordinator Coastal and Marine Studies
Fellow

Team
Topics

Dr. Nico Stelljes is a Fellow at Ecologic Institute and coordinates its work in coastal and marine studies. His research interests include regional adaptation to climate change, integrated coastal zone management (ICZM), sustainability, transdisciplinarity, perceptions of climate change, and the dissemination of scientific knowledge. He works in German and in English.

Dr. Nico Stelljes is a member of the project team "Innovation in the provision of climate services" (INNOVA). The project is part of the ERA-NET consortium "European Research Area for Climate Services" (ERA4CS) and develops climate services for four case study regions in Europe. The case study in the Bay of Kiel is led by Dr. Nico Stelljes.

Dr. Nico Stelljes was involved in the Regional Adaptation Strategies for the German Baltic Sea Coast (RADOST) project team, which was coordinated by Ecologic Institute Berlin. RADOST was one of seven model regions in Germany that were supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) through the funding initiative KLIMZUG (Managing Climate Change in the Regions for the Future). Dr. Nico Stelljes was also member of the project "Reducing nutrient loadings from agricultural soils to the Baltic Sea via groundwater and streams" (Soils2Sea). Within the European Commission's Seventh Framework Programme for Research (FP7), he was part of a project on Bottom-Up Climate Adaptation Strategies for a Sustainable Europe (BASE). In the project RISC-KIT, he focused on the development and analysis of resilience-increasing strategies for coasts.

The transfer of knowledge and cooperation with different actors is an important field of activity for Dr. Nico Stelljes. In addition to his scientific work, he is active in organising and moderating workshops. He was part of the Programme Committee of the second Conference on Climate Adaptation (ECCA2015) and the third BONUS Symposium (2018). As part of the RISC-KIT project, he was significantly involved in the development of a website for risk communication on European coasts. Further information on his projects and publications can be found at researchgate.

Before joining Ecologic Institute, Dr. Nico Stelljes worked at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, where he participated in various projects, such as Zukunft Küste – Coastal Futures. Within this project, he began writing his doctoral thesis, entitled "The Impact of Demography Change on Sustainability Aspects in a Coastal Region" [pdf, 4.9 MB, German]. He completed his doctoral degree at the Geographical Institute of the University of Hamburg (Germany) in 2012.

Dr. Nico Stelljes studied environmental science at Leuphana University Lüneburg in Germany with a focus on ecology and landscape planning. His thesis focused on sand replenishment as a coastal protection strategy on the island of Sylt.

Contact Dr. Nico Stelljes by Email

The data sent will only be processed for the purpose of processing your request. You will find further information in our privacy notice.

Selected projects by Dr. Nico Stelljes
 
Ostseeküste | © Ecologic Institut
The aim of the project is to provide technical support and assistance for the tasks of the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) in implementing the EU Marine Strategy Framework Directive (MSFD) and the necessary cooperation on a regional, national and EU level. As a... Read more
 

© Nico Stelljes

To safeguard biodiversity and to address increasingly complex threats to marine ecosystems, EU Member States have designated networks of marine protected areas (MPAs). Whilst the MPAs cover about 12% of EU seas, almost 75% of those are part of the Natura 2000 network,... Read more

Management Effectiveness of Marine Natura 2000 Sites and other EU Marine Protected Areas

Duration
-
Funding
 

© UNITED

The UNITED project provides evidence by means of pilot demonstrators that the development of multi-use platforms or co-location of different activities in a marine and ocean space is a viable approach (economically, socially and environmentally) for European maritime... Read more

Multi-use Offshore Platforms Demonstrators for Boosting Cost-effective and Eco-friendly Production in Sustainable Marine Activities (UNITED)

Duration
-
Funding
 
Why the EU4Ocean Coalition? The ocean is a source of life for human beings. It gives us food, oxygen and energy. It is home to many species and acts as climate regulator. Understanding how we influence the ocean and how the ocean influences us is at the core of ocean... Read more

The EU4Ocean Coalition for Ocean Literacy

Duration
-
Funding
 
| Fotolia © Victoria
The research project INNOVA will consolidate key factors from adaptive management strategies from leading earlier and on-going European initiatives in Spain (Valencia), Germany (Bay of Kiel) and the Netherlands (Nijmegen) and France’ overseas territories in Guadeloupe... Read more
 
| ©tai111|Fotolia.com
The aim of the project participants is to provide the German Federal Environment Agency (UBA) with scientific support in communicating the results of the IPCC Special Reports on "Climate Change and Land" (SRCCL) and "The Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate" ... Read more
Selected publications by Dr. Nico Stelljes
 
Scientific Review Paper
The study "Ocean as a Global Commons: International Governance and the Role of Germany" was developed by Ecologic Institute at the request of the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) as part of the Science Platform Sustainability 2030 ... Read more

Abhold, K., Hoffmann, H., McGlade, K., Krüger, I., Stelljes, N. (2019): Oceans as Global Commons. International Governance and the Role of Germany. Report to the Science Platform Sustainability 2030. Berlin: Ecologic Institute.

 
Stelljes, Nico: Using Active Public Participation in the Co-development of Coastal Protection Strategies for a Touristic Beach City. Timmendorfer Strand, Germany. in: Ng, K., Campos, I., Penha-Lopes, G. (Eds.). (2016). BASE adaptation inspiration book: 23 European cases... Read more

Stelljes, Nico: Using Active Public Participation in the Co-development of Coastal Protection Strategies for a Touristic Beach City. Timmendorfer Strand, Germany. in: Ng, K., Campos, I., & Penha-Lopes, G. (Eds.). (2016). BASE adaptation inspiration book: 23 European cases of climate change adaptation to inspire European decision-makers, practitioners and citizens. Lisbon: Faculty of Sciences, University of Lisbon, 122-125.

 
Stelljes, N., McGlade, K., Martinez, G., BONUS SOILS2SEA Deliverable 6.4. Results from stakeholder workshops on governance concepts. Ecologic Institute, Berlin, December 2017, www.soils2sea.eu ... Read more

Stelljes, N., McGlade, K., Martinez, G., BONUS SOILS2SEA Deliverable 6.4. Results from stakeholder workshops on governance concepts. Ecologic Institute, Berlin, December 2017, www.soils2sea.eu

 
What makes adaptation measures successful, and how can they be used as good examples? In his recent article "The view beyond the horizon – International examples of climate adaptation", Dr. Nico Stelljes aims to answer this question using different success factors for... Read more

Stelljes, Nico 2015: "Der Blick über den Tellerrand. Internationale Beispiele der Klimaanpassung.", in: Jörg Knieling and Bernhard Müller (eds.): Klimaanpassung in der Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung. Ansätze, Instrumente, Maßnahmen und Beispiele. [Klimawandel in Regionen zukunftsfähig gestalten Band 7]. München: oekom verlag, 121-141.

 
Diffuse Water Pollution from Agriculture (DWPA) and its governance has received increased attention as a policy concern across the globe. Mitigation of DWPA is a complex problem that requires a mix of policy instruments and a multi-agency, broad societal response. In... Read more

Morten Graversgaard, Hedelin B., Smith L., Gertz F., Højberg A.L., Langford J., Martinez G., Mostert E., Ptak E., Peterson H., Stelljes N., van den Brink C., and Refsgaard J.C., Opportunities and Barriers for Water Co-Governance—A Critical Analysis of Seven Cases of Diffuse Water Pollution from Agriculture in Europe, Australia and North America. Sustainability 2018.10, 1634.

 
Climate change is perceived as a problem by most stakeholders (policy makers, administrations and civil society) on the Baltic Sea Coast. However, they do not agree on how to deal with it. Nico Stelljes, Doris Knoblauch, Robin Körth and Grit Martinez sum up the findings... Read more

Stelljes, Nico; Doris Knoblauch; Grit Martinez and Robin Körth 2014: "Akteursanalyse und Befragungen in RADOST: Klimaanpassung aus Sicht von Akteuren an der Ostseeküste", in: Karin Beese et al. (eds.): Anpassung an regionale Klimafolgen kommunizieren. Konzepte, Herausforderungen und Perspektiven. [KLIMZUG-Reihe: Klimawandel in Regionen zukunftsfähig gestalten. München: oekom Verlag, 167-178.

 
The German Bundesländer Schleswig-Holstein and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern both lie on the Baltic Sea coast. However, they have a different history, as the former was part of the Federal Republic of Germany, while the latter belonged to the German Democratic Republic. This... Read more

Knoblauch, Doris and Stelljes, Nico 2014: "Regional perspectives concerning climate change and coastal adaptation. A comparison between Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Schleswig-Holstein", in: Grit Martinez; Hans-Joachim Meier and Peter Fröhle (eds.): Social Dimensions of Climate Change Adaptation in Coastal Regions – Findings from Transdisciplinary Research. Munich: oekom verlag, 45-60.