Direkt zum Inhalt

Remediating Historical Soil Contamination

RECARE Policy Brief
Print PDF

Remediating Historical Soil Contamination

Effective Measures and Policy Solutions

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Frelih-Larsen, Ana et. al. 2018: Remediating Historical Soil Contamination: Effective Measures and Policy Solutions. RECARE Policy Brief. Ecologic Institute: Berlin.

Das Problem der Altlasten stellt noch immer eine Lücke in der europäischen Bodenschutzpolitik dar. Es ist politisches Engagement erforderlich, um das Problem der Altlasten systematisch anzugehen. Hierfür ist es notwendig einen gemeinsamen EU-Rahmen zu schaffen, um Aktivitäten auf nationaler Ebene zu leiten und zu erleichtern. Auf nationaler Ebene spielt die Festlegung und Umsetzung einer nationalen Strategie zur Bekämpfung von Bodenkontamination eine besonders wichtige Rolle. Die Autoren dieses RECARE Policy Briefs, darunter Ana Frelih-Larsen und Sophie Ittner vom Ecologic Institut, empfehlen darüber hinaus, den Wissensaustausch, den Zugang zu vorhandenen Daten und die Einbeziehung von Interessengruppen in den Prozess der Bodensanierung stärker zu fördern. Der RECARE-Policy Brief steht zum Download bereit.

Bodenkontamination stellt eine große Gefährdung der Böden in Europa dar, mit einem hohen potenziellen Risiko für die Gesundheit von Mensch und Umwelt. Das RECARE-Projekt testete und bewertete Sanierungsmaßnahmen an zwei durch Industrie- und Bergbauaktivitäten historisch kontaminierten Standorten. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass die Immobilisierung von Schadstoffen in Wurzeln und Boden (Phytostabilisierung) eine wirksame Maßnahme ist, um die Auswirkungen von Kontaminationen in großflächig kontaminierten Bereichen zu reduzieren. Die Phytostabilisierung erfordert jedoch eine sorgfältige und systematische Überwachung. Darüber hinaus gibt es eine Reihe von Hindernissen, welche den Umfang von breiter angelegten Sanierungsmaßnahmen und damit eine schnellen Sanierung der Standorte begrenzen.

Es gibt auf EU- und nationaler Ebene verschiedene Maßnahmen die ergriffen werden können, um das Tempo der Sanierung kontaminierter Standorte zu erhöhen. Die Prävention und Begrenzung von Neukontamination durch verunreinigende Aktivitäten ist bereits durch mehrere europäische Politikinstrumente adressiert, auch wenn es hier Raum für eine bessere Umsetzung und Durchsetzung gibt.

Effektive Maßnahmen und politische Lösungen für die Sanierung historischer Bodenkontamination

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Teodoro Marañón (Spanish National Research Council)
Narcisa Vrinceanu (Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu)
Credits

Layout: Arif Jensen (Ecologic Institut)

Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
8 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Bodenmanagement, Landwirtschaft, Klimawandel, Ökosystemdienstleistungen, Bodenfunktionen
Europa, Copşa Mică, Rumänien, Guadiamar Tal, Spanien
Layout, Design

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Remediating Historical Soil Contamination

Remediating Historical Soil Contamination

Effective Measures and Policy Solutions

The problem of historical contamination remains an important gap in European policymaking on soils. Political commitment is required to address the issue of historical contamination systematically by providing a common EU framework to guide and facilitate activities at the national level, where in turn establishing and implementing national strategies for managing soil contamination is important. Finally, improving knowledge, sharing, and availability of existing information, and engaging stakeholders in the process of remediating soil contamination is recommended by the authors, lead by Ana Frelih-Larsen and Sophie Ittner of Ecologic Institute. The RECARE policy brief is available for download.

Soil contamination is a major soil threat in Europe with a high potential risk for human and environmental health. RECARE project tested and evaluated remediation measures in two historic sites affected by contamination from industrial and mining activities. The findings show that immobilization of contaminants in roots and soil (phytostabilization) is an effective measure to reduce the impact of contamination in large contaminated areas. Phytostabilization, however, requires careful and systematic monitoring. Moreover, a number of barriers limit the extent to which remediation measures can be applied more broadly to remediate sites at a faster pace.

Several steps can be taken at EU and national level to increase the pace of remediating contaminated sites. Prevention and limiting of polluting activities leading to new contamination are addressed in several European policy instruments with room for improving implementation and enforcement.


Citation

Frelih-Larsen, Ana et. al. 2018: Remediating Historical Soil Contamination: Effective Measures and Policy Solutions. RECARE Policy Brief. Ecologic Institute: Berlin.

Language
English
Author(s)
Teodoro Marañón (Spanish National Research Council)
Narcisa Vrinceanu (Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu)
Credits

Layout: Arif Jensen (Ecologic Institute)

Funding
Year
2018
Dimension
8 pp.
Project ID
2730
Table of Contents

Summary
Introduction
RECARE Project
RECARE Messages on Effective Remediation Measures
Barriers to Remediation of Soil Contamination
Recommendations,
References

Keywords
soil management, agriculture, climate change, ecosystem services, soil functions, Europe, Copşa Mică, Romania, Guadiamar valley, Spain, layout, design