Direkt zum Inhalt

Subsoil Compaction – A threat to sustainable food production and soil ecosystem services

RECARE Policy Brief
Print PDF

Subsoil Compaction – A threat to sustainable food production and soil ecosystem services

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Schjønning, Per et. al. 2018: Subsoil Compaction – A threat to sustainable food production and soil ecosystem services. RECARE Policy Brief. Aarhus University, Ecologic Institut: Aarhus, Berlin.

Die Autoren dieses RECARE Policy Briefs, unter ihnen Ana Frelih-Larsen vom Ecologic Institut zeigen verschiedene kurz- und langfristigen Optionen für eine verbesserte und nachhaltige Bodenbewirtschaftung in Europa auf. Politische Maßnahmen sollten daher die grundlegenden Faktoren für die Entscheidungsfindung der Landwirte in Bezug auf den Feldverkehr durch einen systematischen und koordinierten Ansatz berücksichtigen. Kurzfristig sollten politische Optionen Ausbildungs- und Risikobewertungselemente im Rahmen der Gemeinsamen Agrarpolitik sowie die Unterstützung der Entwicklung von nachhaltigen Technologien umfassen. Der RECARE Policy Brief steht als Download zur Verfügung.

Die Verdichtung des Bodens hat Auswirkungen auf Bodenfunktionen und Bodenökosystemdienstleistungen. Während natürliche Prozesse und Bodenbearbeitung die Verdichtung des Oberbodens verbessern können, ist die Verdichtung des Unterbodens dauerhaft und sollte daher verhindert werden. Aufgrund der zunehmenden Größe und des Gewichts der in der europäischen Landwirtschaft eingesetzten Landmaschinen besteht für die Böden ein wachsendes Risiko einer anhaltenden Schädigung des Untergrundes. Zwischen 1960 und 2010 stiegen die Radlasten von Maschinen um fast 600%. Die Ergebnisse aus dem RECARE-Projekt zeigen, dass bereits etwa 29% der Unterböden in ganz Europa von einer Verdichtung des Unterbodens betroffen sind. Unterbodenverdichtungen führen zu erheblichen und langfristigen Ertragsrückgängen. Der jährliche Verlust des landwirtschaftlichen Ertrags wird auf sechs Prozent oder weit über eine Milliarde Euro pro Jahr in ganz Europa geschätzt.

Die Gefahr der Unterbodenverdichtung ist systemischer Natur. Da die Landwirte bei der Planung ihres Feldverkehrs verschiedene Aspekte wie Rentabilität, Effizienz, Wetter, Arbeit und Erntezeitpunkt berücksichtigen müssen, hat die Vermeidung von Unterbodenverdichtungen oft nur eine untergeordnete Priorität. Die hohen Kosten von Präventionsmaßnahmen werden nicht durch sofortige Vorteile belohnt. Daher kann es für Landwirte rentabler sein, schwere Maschinen einzusetzen und den Unterboden zu verdichten, als vorbeugende Maßnahmen zu ergreifen. Die anhaltenden schädlichen Auswirkungen der Unterbodenverdichtung erfordern politische Maßnahmen, um Erträge zu sichern und sich an den Klimawandel anzupassen, sowie die Ökosystemleistungen des Bodens für zukünftige Generationen zu erhalten.

Unterbodenverdichtung ist eine Bedrohung für die nachhaltige Nahrungsmittelproduktion und Bodenökosystemdienstleistungen

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Per Schjønning (Aarhus University, Dänemark)
Mathieu Lamandé (Aarhus University, Dänemark)
Martin Hvarregaard Thorsøe (Aarhus University, Dänemark)
Credits

Layout: Arif Jensen (Ecologic Institut)

Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
8 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Bodenmanagement, Landwirtschaft, Klimawandel, Ökosystemdienstleistungen, Bodenfunktionen
Europa
Layout, Design

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Subsoil Compaction – A threat to sustainable food production and soil ecosystem services

Subsoil Compaction – A threat to sustainable food production and soil ecosystem services

The persistent damaging impacts of subsoil compaction call for policy intervention in order to secure yields and adapt to climate change, as well as to sustain soil ecosystem services for future generations. The authors of this RECARE Policy Brief, including Ana Frelih-Larsen of Ecologic Institute, demand that policy responses need to address the underlying drivers of farmers' decision-making concerning field traffic through a systematic and coordinated approach for sustainable soil management in Europe. The RECARE policy brief is available for download.

Compaction of soil affects soil functions and soil ecosystem services, including crop yield. While natural processes and tillage can ameliorate topsoil compaction, compaction of the subsoil, i.e. the layers below normal tillage depth, is persistent and should be prevented. Due to increasing size and weight of field machinery applied in European agriculture, soils are at a growing risk of persistent damage to the subsoil. Between 1960 - 2010, wheel loads from machinery increased by almost 600%. RECARE work indicates that approximately 29% of subsoils across all Europe already are affected by subsoil compaction.

Subsoil compaction results in substantial losses of ecosystem services. The long-term annual loss in agricultural yield has been estimated to six percent or well over a billion Euros a year across Europe. The threat of subsoil compaction is systemic in nature. Having to balance different considerations including profitability, efficiency, weather, labour and timing when planning their field traffic, farmers rarely prioritize preventing subsoil compaction. The costs of preventive measures are not rewarded by immediate benefits as such measures are costly. It may still be more profitable for farmers to use heavy machinery and compact the subsoil than to adopt preventive measures.


Citation

Schjønning, Per et. al. 2018: Subsoil Compaction – A threat to sustainable food production and soil ecosystem services. RECARE Policy Brief. Aarhus University, Ecologic Institute: Aarhus, Berlin.

Language
English
Author(s)
Per Schjønning (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Mathieu Lamandé (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Martin Hvarregaard Thorsøe (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Credits

Layout: Arif Jensen (Ecologic Institute)

Funding
Year
2018
Dimension
8 pp.
Project ID
2730
Table of Contents

Summary
Introduction
RECARE Project
Prevention Rather Than Remediation of Subsoil Compaction
The Risk of Subsoil Compaction is Significant under Current Farming in Europe
Drivers of Subsoil Compaction
Policy Response
Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) Post 2020
R&D Support for Technologies for Sustainable Soil Management
References

Keywords
soil management, agriculture, climate change, ecosystem services, soil functions, Europe, layout, design