Direkt zum Inhalt

REFRESH External Outreach Report

 
Print PDF

REFRESH External Outreach Report

Dissemination of the Framework for Action (“Blueprint”) and work with Standardisation Bodies

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Bygrave, K., Rogers, D., Wunder, S., Kemper, M., 2019: REFRESH external outreach report. REFRESH Deliverable 7.6

Dieser Bericht analysiert zwei spezifische Aktivitäten innerhalb des REFRESH-Projekts: Erstens die Verbreitung des Aktionsrahmens ("Blueprint"), der nationalen Regierungen hilft, freiwillige Vereinbarungen mit den relevanten Interessenvertretern zur Reduzierung von Lebensmittelverlusten und -abfällen zu treffen, und zweitens die Arbeit mit Standardisierungsgremien, insbesondere mit den von Einzelhändlern verwendeten Strichcode-Standards.

Aktionsrahmen ("Blueprint")

Der Aktionsrahmen-Ansatz, der im Rahmen des REFRESH-Projekts in vier Ländern erprobt wurde, identifizierte fünf Schritte, die für die Einführung und Verwaltung freiwilliger Vereinbarungen entscheidend sind. Der "REFRESH Voluntary Agreement Blueprint" basiert auf diesen fünf Erfolgsfaktoren, die von den vier Pilotländern während des Projekts erprobt und verfolgt wurden. Der Blueprint wurde als interaktives PDF-Dokument konzipiert und steht zum Download zur Verfügung.

Standardisierungsstellen

Die Mitglieder der vier nationalen REFRESH-Pilotarbeitsplattformen (PWP) wurden eingeladen, an innovativen Projekten (so genannten "Piloten") teilzunehmen, um die Ziele ihrer freiwilligen Vereinbarungen zu erreichen. Eine Idee war die Reduzierung von Lebensmittelverlusten und -abfällen im Bereich frischer Lebensmittel durch die Verwendung von GS1-Strichcodes mit Informationen zum Haltbarkeitsdatum, die von Einzelhändlern und Verbrauchern verwendet werden können. Die Verwendung dieser GS1-Barcodes ermöglicht genauere Informationen des Verfallsdatums frischer Lebensmittel, was wiederum eine Optimierung derer Lagerbestände, den Verkauf fast abgelaufener Produkte zu attraktiven Preisnachlässen für die Verbraucher und damit eine erhebliche Reduzierung von Verlusten und Abfällen in den Verkaufsstellen ermöglicht.

Die Hauptevaluierung der Outreachaktivitäten von REFRESH ist in dem 80-seitigen Bericht "Final report on dissemination and exploitation of REFRESH results" zusammengefasst, der die Reichweite und Wirkung aller von REFRESH eingesetzten Kommunikationsmittel (Veranstaltungen, Publikationen, Wettbewerb, Quiz, Webseite, Community of Experts, Newsletter, Aktivitäten auf den sozialen Medien Twitter und Facebook, Videos, Pressemitteilungen usw.) analysiert.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Kate Bygrave (WRAP)
David Rogers (WRAP)
Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
9 S.
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Lebensmittelverschwendung, Abfall, nachhaltige Lebensmittelsysteme, Ernährungssystem, Ernährungspolitik, Ressourceneffizienz, Politikanalyse, Pilotprojekte, Partnerschaften in den öffentlichen und privaten Sektoren, Stakeholderengagement, Wissenstransfer, Nationale Plattformen, freiwillige Vereinbarungen
Europa

Skip to main content

REFRESH External Outreach Report

 
Print PDF

REFRESH External Outreach Report

Dissemination of the Framework for Action (“Blueprint”) and work with Standardisation Bodies

Publication
Citation

Bygrave, K., Rogers, D., Wunder, S., Kemper, M., 2019: REFRESH external outreach report. REFRESH Deliverable 7.6

This report analyses two specific activities within the REFRESH project: First, the dissemination of the Framework for Action ("Blueprint") that helps national governments to build Voluntary Agreements with the relevant stakeholders in the sector to reduce food loss and waste and second, work with Standardisation Bodies, specifically barcode standards used by retailers.

Framework for Action (“Blueprint”)

The Framework for Action approach, piloted in four countries through the REFRESH project identified five steps as being key to include in the establishment and management of Voluntary Agreements. The REFRESH Voluntary Agreement Blueprint is based on these five success factors which have been evidenced and followed throughout the project by the four pilot countries. The Blueprint was designed as an interactive PDF document and is available for download.

Standardisation Bodies

Members of the four REFRESH national Pilot Working Platforms (PWP) were encouraged to participate in innovative projects (so called "pilots") to support the aims of their Voluntary Agreements. One idea pitched was the reduction of food loss and waste in the fresh foods category by using GS1 barcodes containing expiry date information that can be used by retailers and consumers. The use of these GS1 barcodes enables more accurate information on the expiry date profiles of fresh foods, which in turn can provide an optimisation of fresh foods stocks, the ability to block the sale of near-expired product, the ability to sell-out near-expired products at attractive markdowns for consumers and thereby, a significant reductions of in-store loss and waste.

The main evaluation of REFRESH's outreach activities is summarized in the 80 pages report "Final report on dissemination and exploitation of REFRESH results" that analyses the reach and impact of all communication tools used by REFRESH (events, publications, contest, quiz, website, Community of Experts, newsletter, social media activities on Twitter and Facebook, videos, press releases etc).

REFRESH was an EU research project taking action against food waste. 26 partners from 12 European countries and China worked towards the project's goal to contribute towards Sustainable Development Goal 12.3 of halving per capita food waste at the retail and consumer level and reducing food losses along production and supply chains, reducing waste management costs, and maximizing the value from unavoidable food waste and packaging materials. The REFRESH project ended in August 2019.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Kate Bygrave (WRAP)
David Rogers (WRAP)
Funding
Year
Dimension
9 pp.
Project
Project ID
Table of contents
Keywords
food waste, waste management, sustainable food systems, food policy, resource efficiency, policy analysis, pilot projects, public-private partnerships, stakeholder engagement, knowledge transfer, national platforms, Voluntary Agreements
Europe