Direkt zum Inhalt

Rebecca Noebel

Print

Rebecca Noebel

MSc (Geoökologie)

Researcher

Team
Themen

Rebecca Noebel arbeitet als Researcher für das Ecologic Institut. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit liegt insbesondere auf Fragestellungen zu Biodiversitätsverlusten. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dabei der Betrachtung der Verursacher wie Landnutzungs- und Klimawandel sowie der Optionen zur Minderung des Verlustes, beispielsweise durch naturbasierte Lösungen, grüne Infrastruktur oder ökosystembasierte Anpassung. Sie arbeitet auf Deutsch, Englisch und Spanisch.

Für das Ecologic Institut arbeitet Rebecca Noebel hauptsächlich zu europäischen Prozessen im Bereich Biodiversität. Dabei unterstützt sie im Europäischen Themenzentrum für Biologische Vielfalt (ETC-BD) die Umsetzung der EU-Biodiversitätsstrategie für 2030, beispielsweise durch Analysen zum aktuellen Status des transnationalen Schutzgebietsnetzwerks (TEN-N) oder zum Zustand der Natur auf Grundlage der nationalen Berichterstattung zur Umsetzung der europäischen Fauna-Flora-Habitat- und Vogelschutzrichtlinien. Des Weiteren begleitet sie die Neugestaltung des europäischen Informationssystems für Biodiversität (BISE), speziell in Bezug auf den digitalen Protected Area Report for Europe. Für ein Projekt zu den EU-Artenschutzvorschriften untersucht sie zudem deren Umsetzung im Agrar- und Forstsektor auf nationaler Ebene.

 

Vor ihrer Tätigkeit für das Ecologic Institut war Rebecca Noebel als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Umweltwissenschaften und Geographie der Universität Potsdam beschäftigt. Hier forschte sie an quantitativen Beziehungen zwischen Temperatur und urbaner Flächenbedeckung. Im Projekt ECOPOTENTIAL befasste sie sich mit den Auswirkungen des Klimas auf europäische Schutzgebiete, deren Erfassung und ihrem Bezug zu Biodiversitätsmonitoring auf lokaler und europäischer Ebene. Von 2013 bis 2015 war Rebecca Noebel für die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) tätig und unterstützte das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) bei der Umsetzung der Internationalen Klimaschutzinitiative (IKI) im Bereich Biodiversität, Anpassung und REDD+. Für die GIZ war sie bis 2018 als Gutachterin tätig.

Rebecca Noebel studierte im Masterstudium Geoökologie an der Universität Potsdam, das sie mit einer räumlichen Analyse zu FSC-zertifizierter Abholzung im borealen Nadelwald für den World Wildlife Fund (WWF) abschloss. Ihr Bachelorstudium der Umweltwissenschaften absolvierte sie an der Leuphana Universität in Lüneburg, in dessen Verlauf sie mit einem Biodiversitätsstipendium des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) ein Semester in Lima (Peru), verbrachte.

Rebecca Noebel per E-Mail kontaktieren

Ihre hier eingegebenen Daten werden nur für die Bearbeitung Ihrer Anfrage verarbeitet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Erklärung zum Datenschutz.

Ausgewählte Projekte von Rebecca Noebel
 

© Seaq68 | Pixabay.com

Das Ziel des European Topic Centre on Biological Diversity, ETC/BD (übersetzt "Europäisches Themenzentrum für Biologische Vielfalt") der Europäischen Umweltagentur (EUA) ist es, Daten zur Biodiversität und Bedrohungsfaktoren zu sammeln und in einem Monitoring-Prozess zu... Weiterlesen
 

Photo by Ryan Stone on Unsplash

Das EU-finanzierte Projekt "Artenschutzvorschriften der FFH- und Vogelschutzrichtlinien: wie effektiv sind sie in sektorale Politiken integriert" unterstützt die Europäische Kommission und analysiert den Grad der Berücksichtigung bestehender Artenschutzvorschriften, die... Weiterlesen

Artenschutzvorschriften der FFH- und Vogelschutzrichtlinie

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
 

Foto von Lukas von Pexels

Mit der Nationalen Klimaschutzinitiative (NKI) fördert das Bundesumweltministerium seit Juni 2008 Klimaschutzprojekte in ganz Deutschland und trägt damit zur Erreichung der Klimaschutzziele der Bundesregierung bei. In dieser Zeit wurden die Richtlinien und Förderaufrufe... Weiterlesen
 

Foto: Ewa Iwaszuk

Städte und ihre Peripherien sind kontinuierlich mit Herausforderungen wie Zersiedelung, Klimawandel und Umweltverschmutzung konfrontiert. Diese Prozesse können natürliche Lebensräume schädigen und die Bereitstellung von Ökosystemleistungen in urbanen Räumen gefährden.... Weiterlesen

Internationale Zusammenarbeit zur Wiederherstellung und Vernetzung urbaner Räume in Lateinamerika und Europa (INTERLACE)

Dauer
-
Finanzierung
Ausgewählte Publikationen von Rebecca Noebel
 
Cover der Publikation "State of nature in the EU 2020"

© EUA

Am 19. Oktober 2020 veröffentlichte die Europäische Umweltagentur (EUA) ihren umfassenden Bericht zum Stand der Natur in Europa. Der Bericht, der von Ecologic durch das Europäische Themenzentrum für Biologische Vielfalt (ETC-BD) unterstützt wurde, basiert auf den... Weiterlesen

EEA, 2020: State of nature in the EU. Results from reporting under the nature directives 2013–2018, Technical report No 10/2020, European Environment Agency, Copenhagen.

 
Publication's cover

© European Environment Agency (EEA)

Dieser Bericht ergänzt die dritte Ausgabe des Naturzustandsberichts, der den Zustand der Natur in der EU auf der Grundlage von Berichten der Mitgliedstaaten im Rahmen der Vogelschutzrichtlinie (2009/147/EG) und der Habitatrichtlinie (92/43/EWG) für den Zeitraum 2013... Weiterlesen

Röschel, L., Noebel, R., Stein, U., Naumann, S., Romão, C., Tryfon, E., Gaudillat, Z., Roscher, S., Moser, D., Ellmauer, T., Löhnertz, M., Halada, L., Staneva, A. and Rutherford, C., 2020. State of Nature in the EU - Methodological paper. Methodologies under the Nature Directives reporting 2013-2018 and analysis for the State of Nature 2000. ETC/BD report to the EEA.

Skip to main content

Rebecca Noebel

Print

Rebecca Noebel

MSc (Geoecology)
Bsc (Environmental Science)

Researcher

Team
Topics

Rebecca Noebel works as a Researcher at Ecologic Institute Berlin. Her work focuses on the loss of biological diversity and the relevant policy frameworks. She is particularly interested in underlying drivers such as land use and climate change as well as the options to reduce the effects through nature-based solutions, green infrastructure and ecosystem-based adaptation. She works in German, English and Spanish.

Rebecca's work at Ecologic Institute primarily focuses on current European biodiversity processes. Within the framework of the European Topic Centre on Biodiversity (ETC-BD) she supports the targets of the EU Biodiversity Strategy for 2030. In this context, she worked on the assessments under the EU Nature Directives reporting for the "State of Nature in Europe 2020" and the redesign of the Biodiversity Information System for Europe (BISE), e.g. by drafting the digital Protected Area Report for Europe. Currently, she focuses on the ETC-BD's work related to the Trans-European Nature Network as well as to ecosystem restoration activities. Additionally, she analyses the implementation of EU species protection rules in the agricultural and forestry sectors as part of a project for the European Commission (DG Environment).

 

Prior to joining Ecologic Institute, Rebecca Noebel worked as a research scientist at the Institute of Environmental Science and Geography of Potsdam University (Germany). There, she conducted research on quantitative relationships between temperature and urban land cover. For the European ECOPOTENTIAL project she studied the impacts of climate change on European protected areas and ecosystems, as well as their relation to biodiversity monitoring on the local and European levels. From 2013 to 2015, she worked for the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) and supported the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) with the implementation of the International Climate Initiative (IKI) in the area of biodiversity, adaptation and REDD+. She continued working as a consultant the GIZ until 2018.

Rebecca Noebel completed her Master of Science in Geoecology at the University of Potsdam with a spatial analysis on the effectiveness of the FSC certification in the Russian boreal forest for the World Wildlife Fund (WWF). For her Bachelor of Science, she studied Environmental Science at the Leuphana University in Lüneburg (Germany), during which she participated in a DAAD scholarship on biodiversity in Lima (Peru). 

Contact Rebecca Noebel by Email

The data sent will only be processed for the purpose of processing your request. You will find further information in our privacy notice.

Selected projects by Rebecca Noebel
 

Photo by Ryan Stone on Unsplash

The EU-funded project "Species protection rules under the Birds and Habitats Directives: how effectively are they integrated into sectoral policies" supports the European Commission (DG Environment) in identifying existing gaps and uptake of the species protection... Read more

Species Protection Rules under the Birds and Habitats Directives

Duration
-
Funding
 

Photo by Lukas on Pexels

With the National Climate Initiative (NKI), the Federal Environment Ministry has been supporting climate protection projects throughout Germany since June 2008, contributing to the achievement of Germany's climate protection goals. During this time, the NKI's guidelines... Read more
 

Photo: Ewa Iwaszuk

Cities and their peripheries are constantly confronted with challenges such as urban sprawl, climate change and pollution. These processes can exacerbate the degradation of natural ecosystems, and jeopardize ecosystem service provisioning with negative consequences for... Read more

International Cooperation to Restore and Connect Urban Environments in Latin America and Europe (INTERLACE)

Duration
-
Funding
Selected publications by Rebecca Noebel
 
Cover der Publikation "State of nature in the EU 2020"

© EEA

The European Environmental Agency (EEA) published their landmark report on the state of nature in the EU on 19th October 2020, representing the most comprehensive assessment of the status of European nature and biodiversity to date. Supported by Ecologic Institute... Read more

EEA, 2020: State of nature in the EU. Results from reporting under the nature directives 2013–2018, Technical report No 10/2020, European Environment Agency, Copenhagen.

 
Publication's cover

© European Environment Agency (EEA)

This report is complementary to the third edition of the State of Nature report, which describes the state of nature in the EU based on reports from Member States under the Birds (2009/147/EC) and the Habitats (92/43/EEC) Directives for the period 2013-2018. It details... Read more

Röschel, L., Noebel, R., Stein, U., Naumann, S., Romão, C., Tryfon, E., Gaudillat, Z., Roscher, S., Moser, D., Ellmauer, T., Löhnertz, M., Halada, L., Staneva, A. and Rutherford, C., 2020. State of Nature in the EU - Methodological paper. Methodologies under the Nature Directives reporting 2013-2018 and analysis for the State of Nature 2000. ETC/BD report to the EEA.