Direkt zum Inhalt

Measuring Progress towards Climate Neutrality

 

©Konzept: Ecologic Institute, Design: Noble Studio

Print

Measuring Progress towards Climate Neutrality

How net zero indicators can improve planning and reporting in EU climate policy

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Duwe, Matthias; Eike Karola Velten, Isabel Haase, Nicolas Berghmans, Nick Evans and Deyana Spasova (2021): Measuring progress towards climate neutrality. Ecologic Institute, Berlin / IDDRI, Paris

Das Erreichen der Klimaneutralität erfordert tiefgreifende Veränderungen in unserem Wirtschaftssystem, die durch sektorübergreifende Maßnahmen angestoßen werden müssen. Dementsprechend braucht die Messung des Fortschritts bei der Erreichung des "Netto Null"- Ziels der EU ein Berichtssystem, welches der Komplexität der Transformation gerecht wird und Daten in einer angemessenen Tiefe bereitstellt. Dieser Bericht trägt zur bestehenden Diskussion über die Messung von Klimazielen bei, indem er eine Bewertungsmatrix erarbeitet, welche die für die Klimaneutralität notwendigen strukturellen Veränderungen misst, und Möglichkeiten aufzeigt, dieses Framework in bestehende politische Prozesse zu integrieren.

Die Analyse ist in drei Teile gegliedert:

  • Die Zusammenfassung gibt einen Überblick über die zugrundeliegenden Konzepte sowie zentrale Schlussfolgerungen
  • Teil I enthält einen Vorschlag für die Ausgestaltung der Netto Null Indikatoren
  • Teil II analysiert die politische Einbettung in EU Prozess

Die einzelnen Teile des Berichtes finden sich unter "Anhänge" am Ende der Seite oder durch Klicken der obigen Links.

Die zentrale politische Empfehlung lautet wie folgt:

Die Europäische Kommission sollte federführend die Entwicklung einer Methodik zur Messung des Fortschritts zur Klimaneutralität leiten, welche ein spezielles Monitoring des Strukturwandels durch geeignete Indikatoren beinhaltet. Diese könnte dann in allen relevanten Prozessen angewendet werden - von denen es derzeit mehrere parallel gibt: das EU-Klimagesetz, die Regulierung der Energieunion, das 8. Umweltaktionsprogramm, das Europäische Semester und den Wiederaufbaupprozess. Dieser Prozess sollte im Jahr 2021 beginnen und bis Mitte 2022 abgeschlossen sein.

Der vollständige Einsatz von Netto Null Indikatoren würde zusätzliche Maßnahmen erfordern:

  • Eine Aktualisierung der EU-Langzeitstrategie, um die Zielwerte der Indikatoren festzulegen
  • Eine Überarbeitung der Governance-Verordnung als Teil des Gesamtpakets für 2030

Online-Präsentation: Die zentralen Erkenntnisse dieser Arbeit werden am 24. Juni 2021 mit Experten der Europäischen Kommission, des Europäischen Parlaments und der rotierenden EU-Ratspräsidentschaft diskutiert. Für weitere Informationen klicken Sie bitte hier.

Fortschritt in Richtung Klimaneutralität messbar machen – Wie Net-Zero-Indikatoren die Planung und Berichterstattung in der EU-Klimapolitik verbessern können

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Skip to main content

Measuring Progress towards Climate Neutrality

 

© Concept by Ecologic Institute, visuals by Noble Studio

Print

Measuring Progress towards Climate Neutrality

How net zero indicators can improve planning and reporting in EU climate policy

Publication
Citation

Duwe, Matthias; Eike Karola Velten, Isabel Haase, Nicolas Berghmans, Nick Evans and Deyana Spasova (2021): Measuring progress towards climate neutrality. Ecologic Institute, Berlin / IDDRI, Paris

Achieving climate neutrality requires structural changes to our economic system, with solutions that work across sectors. Correspondingly, measuring progress and designing policy towards the EU's net zero ambition requires a framework that captures the complexity of the transition and reveals sufficient in-depth information. This report contributes to this discussion by presenting an assessment matrix based on net zero indicators that can measure climate neutrality, and proposes ways to integrate this framework into existing policy processes.

This analysis comes in three parts:

  • The summary document gives an overview of the basic concepts as well as central conclusions.
  • Part I contains the technical proposal for net zero indicators
  • Part II analyses the political integration into EU processes

To download the individual parts, please see 'attachments' at the bottom of the page or click the link above.

The main policy recommendation is this:

The European Commission should lead the development of a methodology to measure progress towards climate neutrality with a dedicated monitoring of structural change indicators. This could then be applied in all relevant processes – of which there are several operating in parallel at present: the EU Climate Law,  Energy Union governance, the 8th Environment Action Programme, European Semester/Recovery process. This exercise should start in 2021 and conclude by mid-2022.

Full use of net zero indicators would require additional actions:

  • An update to the EU Long-Term Strategy as input to setting target values for indicators
  • A revision of the Governance Regulation as part of the overall package for 2030

Presentation online: the insights from this analysis are being discussed with experts from the European Commission, the European Parliament and the EU rotating Presidency on 24 June 2021. For more information, click here.

The EU needs to develop a coherent and integrated set of net zero indicators as an assessment framework for climate neutrality.

Contact

More content from this project

Language
English
Authorship
Funding
Published by
Year
Project
Project ID
Keywords
indicator, net zero, governance, EU LTS, EU Climate Law, Governance Regulation, climate governance, monitoring, NECPs, LTS, 8EAP, 8thEAP, green recovery, European Semester, RFF, scoreboard, progress tracker, European Green Deal
indicator development